We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lounge review”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #32 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lounge review”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I did not stay here and the review is on the bar in the lobby area only
Classy and upscale lounge ..... The bartenders brew some good cocktails. I found them helpful too...Not many beers on the menu though. The DJ spins real nice lounge music and the acoustics of the place, despite high ceiling, is not bad

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi,

Thanks for reviewing our bar. They deserve an equal amount of praise too!

I hope that you'll be back soon and that you try the hotel.

Have a great day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    589
    190
    77
    24
See reviews for
156
527
90
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Location is great. Get off the Arlanda express (or walk toward Arlanda Express if you arrive at Central Station) head to the taxis and the hotel is 1 block away in the direction that the taxis would drive, just don't walk into the Nordic Ice Hotel which is across the street. Shopping district is 5 minutes away, Old Town is 10 minutes away. Wifi is fast enough and free, breakfast is ok as is the restaurant for dinner. I didn't understand why I had 2 tiny blankets instead of one, no iron in the room and no safe in the room otherwise I would have given it 4 stars. That said, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Jack!

Thanks for writing such a nice review.

We do have safety boxes in all the rooms, so it's strange that you did not find it. It might have been on maintenance during your stay though.

I'm glad that you would stay here again, you are welcome whenever you want.

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Surprisingly good nights sleep for such a central hotel. Great design and attention to detail. I am a big fan of this hotel. Rooms are not huge but this is the Nordic way! Super bar and restaurant/breakfast room. This is so convenient for the express train to and from the airport and very close to the main shopping streets and commercial area of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Ian,

Many thanks for writing in this forum!

You are always welcome back to us, so we hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The perfection began when I stepped off the train from the airport to see that the hotel was across the street. Easy. The way everyone likes it. Next I learned that the Ice Bar, a place I wanted to visit while in Stockholm, was actually in the lobby. The staff was as helpful as can be. Our room was very nice, and spacious to boot. Appreciated the wrap around black-out curtains very much.The bathroom was very nice too. I liked the woodsy scent of the toiletries and my Wife loved the heated towel rack. I also kinda' dug the shoe shine machine in the hall. Breakfast each morning was sumptuous and tasty. Everything was a short walk away, and we didn't spend on a cab even once. We got massages at the sister hotel across the street....reasonably priced and lengthy 9 and I met Nick Lachey there! And each night we had a vodka night cap in the lobby amidst a lively scene

Room Tip: ask for a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Leonardo at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Leonardo,

Your review made my day!

The way you describe your visit is just as colorful as we ourselves try to portrait our beloved hotel to our future (and present) guests.

So many thanks for the review and we hope to see you soon again.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was staying in Stockholm over new year. the location of this hotel is excellent... right in the city centre, and really close to the central bus and train station. Location wise absolutely perfect! hotel staff, and cleaning was also spot on, and breakfast was really nice with a self service waffle maker which was absolutely delicious.

the only issues i had was with the really narrow twin beds in the room that i wasn't used to, i almost fell off the bed twice. Another minor annoyance was with the clogged bathroom sink that was disposing of water very slowly and was not fixed when reported. The room lighting photos were just a gimmicky feature and sot expect anything remotely exciting.

Overall it was a good stay, i woudnt mind staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I was actually expecting a much better hotel from their very cool website, photos etc. but was a bit dissapointed. We stayed in a twin double room for 2 nights and if you're gonna stay in a same type room, I'd suggest you to be prepared to sleep on a very narrow bed. I don't remember how many times I felt like I was gonna fall down while I was sleeping!

Other than that the breakfast was really good and the room was quite clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zkgllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent 4 nights here and v much enjoyed our stay. We were v pleasantly surprised to find out that the hotel is right next to the Arlanda Express, so its only a minute walk from the station. The reception staff were all really friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, quiet, a good size and had all the amenities you'd expect. The only downside was that the rooms and corridors seemed a bit tired. The bar and restaurant are v modern and in great condition.
Breakfast was very good - good selection of hot and fantastic selection of cold stuff - there is even a waffle machine.
We also ate in the restaurant for their New Years Eve dinner which was really nice. All the food was v good quality and tasty and accompanied by good wines. The only negative about the dinner was that the service went downhill as the meal progressed - v good at start and non-existent at the end, which was strange as it was quieter later on....
The bar was a v nice place to chill out and reasonably priced for Stockholm (and the v kind bar man even helped us find a great restaurant for dinner).
The location of the hotel is great for getting around Stockholm. Most of the main areas are walkable from the hotel as it's very central, but the central tube station is 2 mins away, so v easy to get further afield too.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, but I hope the rooms get an overhaul in the near future so the hotel can reach its potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2016
Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Property: Nordic Light Hotel
Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing