We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #28 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed at Nordic Light on multiple occasions over the past year and a half. I have been impressed consistently with the level of customer service provided, and my stay a few days ago was no exception. Jesper at the front desk was extremely friendly and super accommodating, going above and beyond to make me feel comfortable after a long night of travel. The location is amazing for convenience to the Arlanda Express, it cannot get any easier to travel to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njbenevento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear NJ,

Thank you so much for writing your review. It was pure joy reading it.

I will make sure that Jesper will get this message. It will be my pleasure to give it to him.

We all at Nordic Hotels hope to see you soon again, and again, and again... And once again, thank you so much for writing about us.

Warmest regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    565
    181
    73
    23
See reviews for
149
517
85
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip because it was close to the Arlanda Express. The helpfulness of the staff did not make up for the disappointing quality of the room, so different from the stylish design promised by the web page. Dull, dated box like rooms that felt like a 1970's conversion of an office block. The bed mattress was so thin and worn that a sound night's sleep was out of the question. The staff were accommodating and "did the best they could" by offering me an extra top mattress. No water in the room, certainly no tea or coffee making facilities. No body lotion, cotton wool or other useful toiletries, just the very basic stuff. The concept of "Nordic light" was rather lost on me - a hollow gimic consisting of a pink coloured light aimed on the wall.

Breakfast is a notch above the sleeping arrangements. Attractive restaurant with a vast array of healthy (and less healthy) offerings.

Dinner - expensive and quality erratic. I only at there once, on. Tuesday night, restaurant was pretty empty, so I was hoping for good performance from the kitchen - they weren't exactly rushed off their feet. I ordered the entrecôte, which came with roast potatoes and a tomato salad. The steak, whilst tasty, was luke warm, whilst the potatoes scorching. The tomato salad, which had an interesting orange and parsley dressing, was very tired, and tasted like it was yesterday's.

Good bar, nice vibe, simultaneously cosy and hip.

Universally friendly and service-minded staff - over the 3 days, everyone was proactively helpful.

I shan't be going back. If I have to stay in that area if town again, I shall look for a better bed!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank VagabondGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi,

First of all, thank you for writing your review. We need all the input we can get, positive or negative.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that we did not reach up to your expectations and our real capabilities. I can only apologize and hope that you will give us one more shot - so that we can make up for your last stay.

Again, thank you for writing and I and the rest of the staff of Nordic Light Hotel hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Situated very close to the central rail station and a very short walk to the metro/underground, this hotel looked very stylish from the reception with the friendly staff and a busy and welcoming looking bar area. The rooms are compact and a little world weary but warm and clean. There was a funky red spotlight shining on the bed, not sure what that signified. From the point of view of being a city centre hotel it could have been better sound insulated but exhaustion guaranteed a good night sleep anyway. What was a nice touch was the light/alarm clock that wakes you up by gradually raining the light level but also playing gentle sounds such as birdsong in a forest. However although it did wake me up I did find myself actually feeling so relaxed it actually caused me to drop back to sleep. Gotta get me one of those clocks though. Breakfast was served continental buffet style but was well presented, fresh and good choice available. There was a small, well equipped gym which was very accessible. Overall the staff were friendly or quietly efficient, not the cheapest place to stay in Stockholm but I think it offered good value for money and I will stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veteran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you writing your review about Nordic Light Hotel.

We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like "at home". One of example of this is the wake-up lamp that many find, like you did, comforting and a bit funny. The brand is Philips if you wish to acquire one for your self.

I'd like to thank you for pointing out the things you enjoyed and I really hope that you will return to us soon.

If you need anything in particular for your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

We all wish you a pleasant day.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The reception staff was helpful and service minded. The room was, even with an upgrade, over all just ok and average. It was clean and it probably was contemporary furnished a few years back, but now it looked quite worn down. The sink in the bathroom had cracks in it and the shower drain was clogged. They should really do something about the rooms before rumour spreads and it gets way too outdated and even unpleasant.

I do visit the bar once in a while for an after work since I find it rather nice, and their brunch is really in my taste. However since this review only portrays my experience of the hotel stay part, the grade is based purely on that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello!

Thanks for writing your review. It means the world to us, and it does of course not have to be positive if that is the way that you feel. Honesty is always appreciated.

I am sorry to read that you found the hotel a bit worn down. We will of course take action in this matter.

I am however very glad to read that you liked the brunch. I also hope that you will return to us so that we can prove that we can do better in the hotel...

Take care and have a great day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I did not stay here and the review is on the bar in the lobby area only
Classy and upscale lounge ..... The bartenders brew some good cocktails. I found them helpful too...Not many beers on the menu though. The DJ spins real nice lounge music and the acoustics of the place, despite high ceiling, is not bad

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi,

Thanks for reviewing our bar. They deserve an equal amount of praise too!

I hope that you'll be back soon and that you try the hotel.

Have a great day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Location is great. Get off the Arlanda express (or walk toward Arlanda Express if you arrive at Central Station) head to the taxis and the hotel is 1 block away in the direction that the taxis would drive, just don't walk into the Nordic Ice Hotel which is across the street. Shopping district is 5 minutes away, Old Town is 10 minutes away. Wifi is fast enough and free, breakfast is ok as is the restaurant for dinner. I didn't understand why I had 2 tiny blankets instead of one, no iron in the room and no safe in the room otherwise I would have given it 4 stars. That said, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Jack!

Thanks for writing such a nice review.

We do have safety boxes in all the rooms, so it's strange that you did not find it. It might have been on maintenance during your stay though.

I'm glad that you would stay here again, you are welcome whenever you want.

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Surprisingly good nights sleep for such a central hotel. Great design and attention to detail. I am a big fan of this hotel. Rooms are not huge but this is the Nordic way! Super bar and restaurant/breakfast room. This is so convenient for the express train to and from the airport and very close to the main shopping streets and commercial area of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Ian,

Many thanks for writing in this forum!

You are always welcome back to us, so we hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#16 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Property: Nordic Light Hotel
Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing