We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for visiting Stockholm”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for visiting Stockholm”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel about two weeks ago and I can't describe how perfect its location is.
First it is literally in front of the Arlanda Express station, which means no taxy needed. Then, as it is in the center of the City, I was able to walk anywhere from here. The Hop-On Hop-Off stop is just a block away, and Gamla Stan is a 15min walk. I felt that the central location made it perfect in avoiding having to use public transportation or taxis, as they can be pretty expensive.
They have free wifi, the most wonderful breakfast and the personal at the front desk are eager to help with anything you might need. And its worth mentioning that the rooms are pretty big too, something strange for a european hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello!

Thank you for writing! It was pure joy reading it.

I am happy that you enjoyed our service and facilities, and that you realized that Stockholm is a perfect town to stroll around in. During the summer months, public transportation or taxi are not really needed (unless its raining...).

I am also very happy to see that you liked the service provided by the reception. I will let them know this immediately.

We all hope that you will return to us soon. So take great care!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    621
    199
    82
    25
See reviews for
179
553
92
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is ideal when getting off the Arlanda Express and your loaded down with luggage!

In the room we had the decor was quite plain, but it was nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. Downstairs the bar area is quite cool and the breakfast was really nice.

When we arrived the funky red light in our room didn't work, however reception soon fixed it.
And talking of reception, we asked the guy at reception (potentially Jesper?) for a recommendation for dinner and he suggested Niklas. It was a brilliant recommendation really nice food and we were the only tourists in sight!
Thank you for a good couple of nights in Stockholm

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi!!

Thank you for writing your kind review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your visit. We always try to give our guests the best service there is. One part of this is that we try to point out the places that are not known to everybody in Stockholm (although Niklas is a quite well-known establishment), so that you as a guest will have a private and personal experience.

I'll let Jesper know that he did good. With pleasure!

We all hope that you will return to us soon and thank you again for writing.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Directly across from the main train station in Stockholm (direct links to Arlanda). I booked a single room (very cosy, double bed etc) which was absolutely oozing with character! Apparently each room is decorated with a different style or theme, and my room was an italian street - stunning. Key cards for each room. A small breakfast buffet was opened at 6am (I think) and then a much larger one at 7am. Many choices and all included with the room price. I overslept one morning and the kitchen staff prepared something especially for me as breakfast was officially over. Extremely helpful and friendly staff with great english language skills. Great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Single rooms are small, but perfect for a short stay. Very comfortable double bed. This room was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Jess,

I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Nordic Light Hotel.

It was also a delight to see that our service matched your expectations, and also in many different departments (restaurant, front desk etc.).

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us and we all hope to see you here soon again.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Convenient location in the city centre next to bus and rail services.
Despite the fact that the hotel building seems a little disappointing in the beginning (just a modern concrete block with colourful windows), this impression changes right after you enter the lobby which is seasonally changed, hosting various artists' works and decorations. The reception staff is very helpful and polite and assured us there was no problem with check out in the early morning hours (5AM).
They provided us with a magnetic card to be used in the elevator which was assuring that the hotel took customer security very seriously.
The room was very comfortable, with fancy rotating lighting (ours was hot pink!) which was a very clever and innovative decoration idea! We have to admit that we had one of the best night's sleep as the matress along with the pillows and the duvet were pieces of heaven.

Totally recommended and will definitely go back when we visit again Stockholm!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Constantin,

Thank you for writing such a positive review. It was very nice to read it.

We do take security very seriously, since we want you to feel "like home" when you stay with us. Our beds are from Hästens, which is a swedish bed company, and I am very delighted that you enjoyed the beds quality.

All of us at Nordic Light Hotel are hoping to see you here again and we wish you a pleasant day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nordic light is hotel is very near to central rail station. From airport, I have taken Arlanda express and this hotel is at walkable distance from rail station. It is located in center of Stockholm city. Room is very good. Lighting effects in the lobby are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravindra_babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Ravindra,

Thank you for making a review about our dear hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that we'll see you back here soon.

If you return, please contact us before arrival if you wish anything in particular.

Have a great day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Best location, near central station and 100m from Arlanda Express (To/from airport). Small rooms, you have to live in your suitcase because there is no space. If you want to use the safe, you'll need to crawl on the floor ! If you want to open the window, ask for the key on the reception desk. Bathroom is relatively big with a big, well working shower. Beds are small but extraordinary comfortable....I asked and was told they were specially made for the hotel by Aestens (most expensive beds in the world) ! Breakfast is good and rich, if you want a real expresso or cappuccino you'll have to pay for it. The bar in the lobby is a very nice and lively place to stay. Overall, a good hotel according to scandinavian standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinaf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Carina,

We are most thankful for your kind review. It means more than you might believe.

Our beds are from Hästens, which is a swedish bed company, and the beds are, like you your self described them, very comfortable for most guests.

We hope that you will return to us soon. Take great care until next time!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Nordic Light Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got there and the room I chose was so small my wife and I wouldn't have survived the four days. We upgraded to a suite, of course paying for it, and it made a much better experience. Still some strange yelling from down in the street below at various hours of the night. Otherwise all was fine.
Breakfast was reasonable but nothing out of the ordinary. Everything in the city is 10-15 minutes by foot, Gamla Stan, piers, various neighborhoods. We shopped at the coop in the train station for drinks but still everything is super-expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Guest Experience Ambassador at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your review.
I´m glad you enjoyed the suite you upgraded to and that you had a nice stay with us.

Welome back to us and Stockholm

Best Regards Cecilia Ericson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,255 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
2,532 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
770 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,815 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Property: Nordic Light Hotel
Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing