We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
320
112
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
112
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen roompancake machinegamla stanindoor courtyardold townperfect locationcrystal chandeliernk department storelovely hotelbeautiful designrooms are lovelybed was very comfortablea stones throwgreat boutiquerooms are smallthoroughly enjoyed our stayhot and cold dishes
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

OK, so I have to agree with many reviewers regarding the size of the rooms...... they are small. But they are also beautiful, very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Everything that you could possibly need is there (including your personal chandelier!). So small yes but still lovely.
The bathroom is very nice. Also very clean with a fantastic shower and nice fluffy robe.
The very best thing about this hotel though is the location. It was so close to everything that we wanted to see.
I would definitely book again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKungstradgarden, Chef Concierge at The King's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Lizzy B,

What an amazing review! Thank you!
There is an expression in German, “Klein aber fein”, which translates to “small but nice”. I am therefore delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I do agree with you that our rooms are on the smaller side of the size spectrum, but as you so perfectly mentioned, they are beautiful , clean, comfortable and everything you need is meticulously placed, giving you a sense of comfy, yet classy, feel.
Our excellent central location is the “cherry on top” of what our guests can expect from a perfect Stockholm getaway.

Hoping for many returns,

Adam von Mentzer
Chef Concierge
Hotel Kungsträdgården

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The photo showing a bedroom is VERY misleading - the rooms are generally very small, though well appointed. Bathrobes are provided, the water is always hot, and the wifi in the rooms is fast. Breakfast is excellent. Nearly all the staff are brilliant. And there is a sauna apparently. Very central location (within 15 minutes walk of all tourist destinations, and near many buses, trams and metro stops, and rail terminal is fairly near too.

However hardly anyone dines here which is indicative - the large dining room is always nearly empty. The food is presented nicely, but is nearly cold and often undercooked, and importantly the chef seems to have no concept of nutrition. He has also been extremely rude to people who have sent some of their dinner back to be fully cooked - and the dishes were not replaced or recooked. Extraordinary! - never known anything like it.

Internal rooms can be noisy when breakfast is being set up, and late at night when there are people drinking and chatting at the bar.
The external rooms are generally quieter unless there is a festival in the gardens one block away, because the road carries little traffic

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank ChrisManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKungstradgarden, Chef Concierge at The King's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear ChrisManx,
Though your review is obviously not the kind of review we strive for, I still thank you for your time you have spent in reviewing our hotel.

I am happy to learn that you have generally enjoyed your stay. As with other hotels around the world, we offer different room categories, which in turn have different sizes. Since all our rooms have a different layout from each other, the pictures do indeed correspond to the categories described. Our website also clearly states the sizes of each category. We are aware that some of the categories are on the smaller size but we also try out utmost to find different rooms to guests, should they not feel comfortable in their assigned rooms.
We have already made contact with the agency with which you have booked your tour with. The group which you were part of, was the last of 3 other groups staying at the hotel throughout the month and the menu which were served to your group throughout the week, was exactly the same menu served to the other groups. These had been pre ordered and approved by the tour company and our executive chef. It is very unfortunate that this happened and we have of course, reviewed our preparations and services procedures.
The restaurant does indeed look somewhat empty during the summer months but surely not due to our menu. Tourists would rather spend the warm days sitting outside while enjoying their meals. Our terrace area offers a limited amount of tables, which were constantly occupied by customers.
Despite the rather bad meal experience, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Adam von Mentzer
Chef Concierge
Hotel Kungsträdgården

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Have stayed at the hotel a couple of times in connection with business trips. Reception staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast offer a good selection. Would have liked a comfy chair in my room, had to sit in bed or at desk. Woke up early morning to a strong smell of food in my room, must have been very early breakfast preparation. Suspect room was above the kitchen? Will try to request different room for future visits.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Holiday_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKungstradgarden, Chef Concierge at The King's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Holiday_HM,

Thank you for your time reviewing The King’s Garden Hotel. Our location, close to many businesses in central Stockholm, allows guests like yourself to come back on numerous occasions.
As you know, some of our rooms are rather on the small size but we also have much larger rooms, with sofas available. Please let us know your preferred room type and location on your next visit and we will gladly offer you a room accordingly to your preference.

With best regards and to a prompt return,

Adam von Mentzer
Chef Concierge
Hotel Kungsträdgården

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Wonderful hotel, can't beat the location, within walking distance of old town and near the city center. Rooms are a very small but very very charming just like everything else in the hotel. breakfast was emmaculate. Can't beat this hotel. Probably best hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 888Steven888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKungstradgarden, Chef Concierge at The King's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear 888Steven888,

It is always great to read such wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. As you mentioned, our location is difficult to beat in Stockholm. Though our rooms are indeed somewhat on the smaller size, our designers have made sure to give them that special “home” feel. Our kitchen and restaurant teams are very happy that you liked our breakfast. We tend to use locally sourced products, giving our food choices a special taste.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The King’s Garden Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Adam von Mentzer
Chef Concierge
Hotel Kungsträdgården

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The best feature is the hotels location, within walking distance of Gamla Stan (The Historic Heart) and downtown shopping. You would think being located in the centre of everything, it would be noisy but luckily its not - the entrance is on a quiet alley. Service is good and discreet and the rooms are stylish and comfortable (and quiet)! Breakfasts are also great, served just off the lobby. My only small complaint was the smell of sewers by the main entrance. They have a few outdoor seating by the entrance but with the smell; a little uninviting.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveljeffOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelKungstradgarden, Chef Concierge at The King's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear traveljeffOslo,

Thank you for taking time in writing such a great review about our hotel. As you said, our location is indeed second to none, making it a perfect getaway for both, tourists and business travelers. We took much care in designing our rooms and training our staff, which can both be seen while staying with us.

Regarding the unfortunate smell in our outside area, the issue has been looked into and has since been resolved. I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you but I welcome you back in the future to experience a great meal outdoors.

Kind regards,

Adam von Mentzer
Chef Concierge
Hotel Kungsträdgården

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews