We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, tasteful and conveniently located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hellsten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hellsten
Ranked #36 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, tasteful and conveniently located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Rooms were large, furnished with tasteful antiques and spacious. Bathroom well equipped.

Public lounge area and bar also very nice. Free internet and tea/coffee. Really helpful reception staff.

Location is excellent, just 2 mins walk from the metro (2 stops from the historic centre, takes about 5-10 mins)

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel, amazing value for money especially in a city that is supposed to be so expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Hemmingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    417
    132
    40
    11
See reviews for
93
429
102
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great location near Central Station. Loved the breakfast and funky decor. Rooms are small, but the common areas are lovely. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aPghGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed for three nights booked for conference and not by me. We paid one night £136 equivalent. Would not be my first choice. Location was within walk of city centre. Think we were lucky with Room 2506 that was top floor with balcony and chairs. A small but serviceable twin bedroom. Hot building in summer. A little too hot but lucky with balcony door. Needs checking because they seem to have rooms with no window. It was laid out 'African style'. Breakfast room with joined tables so you get to chat to strangers. I did not like the lack of privacy for other people. You look into rooms if heavy curtains not pulled. Our curtains did not meet and at 11pm its still light then again at 2am. Breakfast very good selection and nice staff.

Room Tip: Top floor more open with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Alan E,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, by doing so you are helping us to provide you and other guests with wonderful stays in the future.

It seems to me that you were not happy because you could not yourself choose your hotel while at a conference in Stockholm. Your conference organizers gave you Hotel Hellsten for accommodation instead of something you would have expected, perhaps a five star hotel. I am sorry for that. We are not a five star hotel, nor a chain hotel. Instead we strive towards giving a four star family hotel feeling. I think you appreciated that and I am glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast selection as well as our wonderful staff.
We strive for our guests to feel at home, because that is what I myself want when finding a hotel while travelling.

I am concerned regarding the lack of privacy you felt while staying with us. Many of our guests choose staying here just because they get the privacy and family feeling which they lack in the larger chain hotels.

We are a design hotel and all our rooms are different in shape, size and colour. You got a room on the top with a balcony and with a view over the Stockholm roof tops. I am glad you liked that.

Daylight in Sweden is a wonderful phenomenon during the summer when there is daylight 24 hours. This makes it difficult for some people to sleep and we counter this by having heavy curtains to close out the light. I have tested the curtains in your room and found they were not meeting. I am sorry for that mistake and can inform you that we have added one more curtain to handle this mistake.

You state that we have rooms without windows. That is not correct - in Hotel Hellsten there are windows in all rooms. In our two star daughter hotel across the street there are rooms without windows but then the price is also much lower.

African Style, I think I need to clarify that. That counts for our Bar, where my years as an anthropologist in an African village have been reflected in the design of the bar. We call it Hellsten Earth Bar, where you besides an exciting range of drinks can eat from our wildlife menu; Reindeer meat or Moose burger.

We love our guests. That is why we work here, and we want to give our guests a positive experience while they stay in Stockholm. So we do hope to see you back with us if you come to Stockholm again!

Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

interesting decor and entrance, young staff gives you a punk feel, rooms small but efficient, breakfast typical euro, but good for the price you pay in stockholm, bathrooms too small , the beds just enough, its like a college dorm room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkingtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Thinkingtip,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a comment about your stay! Feedback from our guests are very important for us to improve our services.

I am happy to hear that you liked our decor, staff and beds. Also happy to hear that you feel we have utilized the space in a satisfactory way. However I’m sorry to hear that the size of the bathroom was not to your satisfaction. This was necessary when building the hotel from an older building with already set features. As we are a boutique hotel all of our rooms are unique with its own style, color, size and interior. Some rooms are bigger and some are smaller.

We do hope to see you back at Hotel Hellsten in the future for another chance to give you our best service!

Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I have been staying at the Hellsten for the previous 4 years as a result of my employer's relationship with them. Would I stay there if I had a say? Probably not but then again Stockholm is an expensive city for lodging and you don't get much value. At the Hellsten, the rooms are small, bathrooms even smaller. The beds are barely comfortable. The floors are wooden though which is a plus. The bathrooms have a shower with floor drain that leaks all the way to the door which is disgusting (the floor wasn't properly pitched when installed so you have to wade in the water. The breakfast is standard Euro continental with hot oatmeal, waffle maker (it was broken this week though), fresh breads, luncheon meats, cold cereals, juices and teas/coffees. It is self serve. A nice treat is Calle who is the bartender and resident chef who is a fun and nice guy to hang out with. They also play great jazz music later in the week in the bar. And finally, the front desk staff are more than eager to always help.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Nothing inside this hotel felt like four stars. The entrance was somewhat promising, but that was it. For the price we paid we expected much more. The elevator was ok, but the corridorrs narrow and winding. Clearly not built as a hotel originally. Some highlights in the room, such as a nice bathroom with very good looking black stone slabs/tiles. Seems to be a signature feature for this hotel chain. Flat screen TV ok, but the canopy frame was in the way for seeing the screen comfortably from the bed. Another nice feature was the room balcony with two chairs and a small table, even if we could not use it comfortably, as others were using theirs less than a meter away. But still, a sample view of Stockholm roof tops and a nice place to enjoy the evening breeze was available in our room. Bed spacy and comfortable, but not stable. Breakfast minimalistic, poor standard. One could not tell the hard and soft boil egg apart. No extra goodies, plain brewed coffee, no menu orders available. A very nice feature was the inner court yard in which one could enjoy the breakfast. At this time of year, this was the best part of the experience of this hotel. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get to see the room you pick before you decide which room. We got to see a glance of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getitright19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matilda j, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Getitright19,

Hotel Hellsten is a four star hotel, so classified by the Swedish Hotel Association according to the Hotel Stars Union to which most EU countries have adhered to (Except the UK). We have earned our stars by hard work.

The Hotel was built eight year ago in an old residential house from 1897. This meant in fact that we had to follow the original winding corridors. This is one of the great charms of the hotel and I have made all to conserve the original features. The intention was that the hotel should look as if it is a hundred years old, but with all modern comfort. I dare say that most our guests find the hotel exiting. There is always something to see.
We are a different hotel and our rooms are differing in individual colours, shape and design and furniture, in fact they are reflecting my life journey as an anthropologist, journalist, photographer and a PR and shipping man. Someone has called it a lifestyle hotel, others call it a boutique hotel. I would recommend you to visit the bar which is very special, with features from my years in Africa.

You felt that our breakfast was poor. I am sorry for that. We cater a good healthy Scandinavian breakfast buffet. This follows the standards of most Swedish four star hotels. Indeed we have gotten much praise for our breakfast from other guests. Plain brewed coffee, yes, but you could have gotten your cappuccino or café latte as well, if you would requested. Indeed such coffees and teas are available for free at all times in the hotel.

I am confused that you downgrade the hotel, while at the same time you praise the entrance, the bathrooms and their decoration, the balcony in your room and its view, the inner court, etc. I have constantly received appreciation from frequent travelers and travelling businessmen of our hotel and what we stand for. Perhaps next time when you visit Stockholm, I would like to invite you to stay in our charming hotel, Hotel Hellstens Malmgård, from 1770 in a fantastic rebuilt mansion, but with straight corridors.


Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Location - Spot-on if you don't mind a 5/10 minute walk. You could use the Metro.
Value - Up there with the best in the area.
Staff - Very friendly, willing to please.
Service - Cant fault it.
Rooms - Nice, clean, modern. A little small, but fine for a couple.
Amenities - Couldn't ask for more.
Atmosphere - Non-pretentious, cool, arty, classy.

All in all, I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: request the JUNIOR SUITE best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAi979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#17 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#60 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#24 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#49 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#52 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellsten

Property: Hotel Hellsten
Address: 68 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hellsten 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in the centre of Stockholm. Close to everything with quiet and intriguing rooms. Hotel Hellsten attracts exciting guests from all parts of the world. We who work here want to ensure that your stay in Stockholm is both successful and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hellsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing