We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room”
Review of Hotel Hellsten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hellsten
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I decided to try some smaller and atmospheric hotel instead of the big business hotels on my endless trips to Stockholm. I pretty much got what I asked for. The room was really nice with old wooded floors and nice furniture. Bathroom was modern, good and clean. Breakfast was standard buffet stuff. I had very poor wifi reception in room, maybe it was because of the location of the room. No minibar or fridge in the room (and no bottle opener!).

Location, while not really in the middle of the action, is pretty good on a quiet street and one block away from the underground. Also, a big grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hippo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking time and write about your stay with us.

Its very nice to hear that you liked our rooms and design. Im sorry to hear that you had poor wifi connection. If there are any temporary problems with the wifi we have internet cables in the front desk that you can borrow, we also have 2 guest computers in our lobby for your service.

We don’t have any minibar, however we offer 24hour room service if you want something to eat or drink. And we also have a fridge in the reception if you want us to store something for you.

So next time please inform the front desk if you have any problems during your stay and we will do our best to help you.


Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Attending the Salesforce Customer Company Tour 2013 event i Stockholm I stayed for two nights at Hellsten Hotel in the center of Stockholm. A 15 min. walk from the Arlanda Express and only 5 min. away from Drottningsgatan if you are a into shopping. It is a small but very nice hotel with nice service. Nice room with good beds. For breakfast you can make your own waffels. In fact an overall nice experience. Next time I will bring my wife so that she can do some decent shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AASerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words,

Im happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay together with us and that you liked our location & service, it’s very warming to hear. We look forward for your next stay with us and we will do our outmost to make your stay as good as possible.


Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our superior room was fabulous. The doors and corridors however looked a bit shabby and did not fit with the rest of the hotels style. The reception service is average, nothing more. The bar is nice and different with excellent service but a bit noisy if you want to eat or just relax. Older people would not feel so much at home I guess. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I didn't stay in the hotel, but I met friends here for dinner. If you're into modern sort of explorative jazz, they have great shows in the bar. We opted to eat in the dining room because we wanted to chat. You can actually still hear the music pretty well from there. The meals were delicious! My friends ordered the reindeer stew (recommended) and I got the elk dish (not quite as tasty). Wine was very reasonable priced and the service was quirky and excellent--a nice departure from the touristy spots to a place that appeals to locals and savvy visitors alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking time and write about visit here at Hotel Hellsten.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food that we serve in our bar. It’s also nice to hear that you liked our jazz evenings, we have live music with different bands every Thursday. And we have also started with African jazz every second Saturday that could be a recommendation for you next time.

Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stockholm is a very beautiful city drenched in old, gothic themes. We went for the Ireland game in a very cold March but it was a great weekend. We stayed in a very Beautiful hotel in hotel Hellsten. Very modern and elegant with very friendly staff. The receptionist who looked after us was an absolutely stunning woman...which pretty much sums up all Swedish women lol. Very friendly people who greatly enjoyed having the rowdy, fun Irish invade their city for a weekend and good friends were made. Fair play to all the Swedes who came into all the Irish bars to enjoy our company and sing songs, was the funniest and drunkest weekend of my life. Back to the hotel... it is small, very well decorated and has a great atmosphere about it. The owner seems to take pride in it and rightly so. His/her work has paid off greatly. Location is excellent with bars and restaurants close by and the main subway around the corner. A 15 minute walk from the old town Galma stan passing through the city's shops is very pleasant even in -17 degress conditions. The river front is very nice and although Stockholm is a very expensive city it is also one of my favourite.

Room Tip: They are all different but equally beautiful and the under floor heating is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Stockholm and your stay with us.

It seems like you had a great stay and we more than happy to hear that. You are very welcome back and we look forward to have you back as a guest on your next trip to Stockholm.

Best regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice and individual rooms and a modern bathroom, which was, unfortunately, extremely small. Very clean - exellend roommaids.
Rooms to the street are very noisy.
The breakfast room is very small and the alternative to have breakfast in the bar is not really attractive. Breakfast service is very efficient.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Very good located with a direct connection into the city center, aroumd the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your reflections of your stay with us.

I’m Happy to hear that you liked our rooms and the design in our bathrooms. All of our bathrooms are decorated in cipher-stone specially shipped from an island in Greece called Evia. When it comes to the size, Hotel Hellsten is located in a rebuilt old family house which was formerly private flats, that is why all of our rooms vary a lot in size. Some of the bathrooms are smaller while others are bigger.



We hope that you will return and stay with us if you plan to visit Stockholm again.


Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked into the Hellsten Hotel for our last night of a trip to Stockholm. Its in a very central location with lots of restaurants/pubs nearby.

We had booked a junior suite - it wasn't quite what we expected. Yes it was a nice room with a 4 poster bed, but normally when we book a suite we expect a separate seating area - still it was good value - just not what i was expecting.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, recommending eating places etc.

Breakfast in the morning was very good - no hot option other than porridge and make-your-own waffles - but then so few hotels do a good hot breakfast option. The selection of cold meats and breads, cheeses etc were excellent, so we enjoyed it.

Overall, yes i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We are sorry if the room you got did not fulfill your expectations. Our rooms are all unique and vary in size as well as in furniture and design. We have Junior Suites with a separate seating area so next time if you´re not satisfied with the room, please contact the reception and they will do their best to find another room for you.

I’m glad to hear that you were happy with our staff and service, that’s very nice to hear.

When it comes to the breakfast, we are happy to inform that we expanded our range and are now also serving both scrambled eggs and bacon.



You are more than welcome back to us and we looking forward for your stay on your next trip to Stockholm.


Kind Regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
644 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
738 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
634 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,579 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellsten

Address: 68 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £83 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hellsten 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in the centre of Stockholm. Close to everything with quiet and intriguing rooms. Hotel Hellsten attracts exciting guests from all parts of the world. We who work here want to ensure that your stay in Stockholm is both successful and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hellsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing