We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some good points, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Ranked #107 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“some good points, some bad”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I read the reviews before I left, and they were accurate - the staff is very friendly, the location was a good base for exploring the city. The free breakfast and evening food worked very nicely for us, as it provided a nice/low-key alternative to eating at restaurants every meal. Our rooms were nice, but they were on the lower floor, and it felt like the basement. The room window was high on the wall and did not open. Our beds were comfortable with well placed large flat screen tv's, 12 channels, 4-5 english. A couple of times at night it sounded like people were running around above (noisy). The price for our rooms I understand was quite favorable relative to similar hotels. Overall I would recomend this place, while noting it is not going to be a perfect 10 hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna J, Kundansvarig at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Google Translation
Hej Adam

Tack för det fina omdömet.
Vi ser fram emot att ni bokar en ny vistelse hos oss, då vi gjort en renovering av hotellet.

Välkomna
Med vänliga hälsningar
Maria/Receptionen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    126
    132
    59
    26
See reviews for
47
106
47
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was disappointed with my recent stay at the Karlaplan, although hotels in Stockholm are not cheap, and I guess you definately only get what you pay for. My room was tiny, the room itself being just a little larger than the ensuite. In fact the en-suite was quite plush in contrast to the room itself.

Quite a reasonable breakfast, and they put on a free dinner buffet every evening from 7 till 9.

Room Tip: Recommendation - get down at 7.00pm, if you want the free buffet in the evening, as the food is gone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steerpikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel is in a very nice residential part of town. Rooms are a bit small, but comfortable. The hotel does not have AC in the rooms, but windows open and it wasn't too warm when I stayed there in August 2012. Breakfast is excellent, staff friendly, and service is ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel is located in a fantasic area. Walking distance to Vasamuseet, Skansen, Gröna Lund, and many other museums. No restaurant onsite but plenty of options a few minutes away. Our room was basic but in good condition. Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is planning to do sightseeing around Djurgården and is looking for a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helsinki123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

During the week when I needed to be in Stockholm, there were three major hi-tech conferences, and the whole city was booked up, so I considered myself lucky to find a room here. Needless to say, all hotel room prices were inflated. I had some reservations about the location of this hotel, but then, before I had seen it, my Swedish colleagues told me that Karlaplan is actually an upscale residential area.

It was a pretty and rather quiet neighborhood, and more central than I had expected. It is within 5 minutes waling distance of a metro stop. One can also walk from here to Djurgården, the island where the Vasa Museum, Nordic Museum, and Skansen are located.

The hotel had a very varied breakfast offering, it was lovely, though the room where it was served would get too busy at times. The rooms were actually large, but somewhat plain. It was a very clean establishment. Front desk staff were very helpful, and readily arranged for the right taxi to come, as in Stockholm there are a few varieties of taxis, and some charge much higher rates than others. In the end, I was very pleased with this hotel selection.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed at the Karlaplan Best Western on Business for 4 nights (Mon-Thurs).
Positives were: Friendly knowledgeable staff and good location .
Negatives were: No aircon and the breakfast was not very good. (Aircon was required on one night as it was very warm with the windows closed. Unfortunately, opening the windows did not help as it was very noisy between 11pm and 1am on my first night). Other evenings were ok with no noise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derricksasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My stay in this hotel was fine, staff was very kind and always up for any help, single room was quite good, however bed was small but very confortable, pillows were amaizing, I enjoy the stay here. Breakfast was 4/5 not the GRAND BUFFET but enough things to have a great breakfast, fruit, eggs, juice, milk, coffee, charcuterie, cheeses, cereals, etc, good assortment. the location is 2 stations from Central station so quite handy considering that Stockholm is a expensive city hotel prize was quite good for night, I would recommend to stay here and obviously get the Stockholm tourist card beause is a great option to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alseanvittor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#91 of 154 in Stockholm
512 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
145 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Kom Hotel Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Karlaplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Property: Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Address: 82 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing