We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights. It was chosen for me cause work is really close by. It was an okay hotel. I liked that the bathroom has floor heating which is quite unique for a 3 star hotel. The staff were also very nice and cheerful.

I think breakfast could be improved. They serve the same warm food every day so I had no choice since Im not used to eating cold food. It was not too bad however I could hear the guests staying above my room flush the toilet for example.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arimar_0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna J, Kundansvarig at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014
Google Translation

Hej

Tack för ditt svar, vi uppskattar dina synpunkter och åsikter.

Med Vänliga hälsningar
Maria/Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had a pleasant time for my 5 day stay at this hotel. The room was small by U.S. standards, but everything is well placed and the bed was very comfortable. They provided a full breakfast buffet, and to my surprise, they also served a light dinner buffet from 7 to 9 on the nights I was there. It is located in an up-scale residential area of Stockholm, and only two blocks from the subway station. Twice I arrived at the hotel past 1 a.m. and the neighborhood felt very safe. The staff was curious and friendly. The WiFi worked well. Don't have a single complaint considering the price I paid. I looked around for other hotels, but this one had the best value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EZFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna J, Kundansvarig at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014
Google Translation

God morgon

Tack så mycket för ditt omdöme.

Välkommen att boka en ny vistelse hos oss.

Vänligen
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I read the reviews before I left, and they were accurate - the staff is very friendly, the location was a good base for exploring the city. The free breakfast and evening food worked very nicely for us, as it provided a nice/low-key alternative to eating at restaurants every meal. Our rooms were nice, but they were on the lower floor, and it felt like the basement. The room window was high on the wall and did not open. Our beds were comfortable with well placed large flat screen tv's, 12 channels, 4-5 english. A couple of times at night it sounded like people were running around above (noisy). The price for our rooms I understand was quite favorable relative to similar hotels. Overall I would recomend this place, while noting it is not going to be a perfect 10 hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna J, Kundansvarig at Best Western Hotel Karlaplan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014
Google Translation

Hej Adam

Tack för det fina omdömet.
Vi ser fram emot att ni bokar en ny vistelse hos oss, då vi gjort en renovering av hotellet.

Välkomna
Med vänliga hälsningar
Maria/Receptionen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I was disappointed with my recent stay at the Karlaplan, although hotels in Stockholm are not cheap, and I guess you definately only get what you pay for. My room was tiny, the room itself being just a little larger than the ensuite. In fact the en-suite was quite plush in contrast to the room itself.

Quite a reasonable breakfast, and they put on a free dinner buffet every evening from 7 till 9.

Room Tip: Recommendation - get down at 7.00pm, if you want the free buffet in the evening, as the food is gone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steerpikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel is in a very nice residential part of town. Rooms are a bit small, but comfortable. The hotel does not have AC in the rooms, but windows open and it wasn't too warm when I stayed there in August 2012. Breakfast is excellent, staff friendly, and service is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel is located in a fantasic area. Walking distance to Vasamuseet, Skansen, Gröna Lund, and many other museums. No restaurant onsite but plenty of options a few minutes away. Our room was basic but in good condition. Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is planning to do sightseeing around Djurgården and is looking for a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helsinki123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

During the week when I needed to be in Stockholm, there were three major hi-tech conferences, and the whole city was booked up, so I considered myself lucky to find a room here. Needless to say, all hotel room prices were inflated. I had some reservations about the location of this hotel, but then, before I had seen it, my Swedish colleagues told me that Karlaplan is actually an upscale residential area.

It was a pretty and rather quiet neighborhood, and more central than I had expected. It is within 5 minutes waling distance of a metro stop. One can also walk from here to Djurgården, the island where the Vasa Museum, Nordic Museum, and Skansen are located.

The hotel had a very varied breakfast offering, it was lovely, though the room where it was served would get too busy at times. The rooms were actually large, but somewhat plain. It was a very clean establishment. Front desk staff were very helpful, and readily arranged for the right taxi to come, as in Stockholm there are a few varieties of taxis, and some charge much higher rates than others. In the end, I was very pleased with this hotel selection.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#91 of 154 in Stockholm
552 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
418 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#104 of 154 in Stockholm
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#66 of 154 in Stockholm
663 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Tapto
Clarion Collection Tapto
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,121 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Karlaplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Address: Skeppargatan 82, Stockholm S-114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £79 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing