We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More or less ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“More or less ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel Karlaplan is only a short walking distance away from Central Stockholm. Check-in was quick and professional.
The single rooms are unusually small, really small, even for a city hotel, I don`t know about the double rooms. Internet is for free, but doesn`t work reliable at all. That`s the negatives.

Positive: very good breakfast, plus an evening "light" meal, which is rather big and very tasty.
So it`s an ok hotel if you plan to explore the city.

P.S: Parking: enough space on the street, max per day (from 9 - 17 HRS: 120 SKR).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hj014-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    124
    125
    57
    24
See reviews for
46
101
45
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel..Dinner is weak..There is only one main course (soup is also included to the main course :)

Rooms were clean...Reception staff was helpful..
Hotel is close to Karlaplan tunnelbana station...And Karlaplan is quiet , clean and safety neighborhood...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izmir35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is located in a nice area slightly outside the most city center with a 10-15 minutes walk to Djurgården and the royal castle. The hotel is ok but the rooms are small, not greatly planned and only contain the necessary (bed, tv, wardrobe, desk). The breakfast is ok but would benefit from better coffee and more space since it was crowded at times. If the hotel was a three star hotel I would have been satisfied with the quality but it is not four star quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stubbekøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel was a disappointment!
The room was plain an ordinary like any other average hotel.
The evening buffet was poor. It was light buffet included in the price, but we gad to line up in a queue to get it. Imagine 20 people standing there just to get some food!
The same in the morning. Again a queue with 20-25 people to get breakfast. If you forgot somethging or wanted more, you gave up - too difficult.
We felt like being at a hostel - but an expensive one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boch_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Travelled here for a holiday for 4 nights. Very good location- in a cul-de-sac in a quiet area which does make a difference and is easy enough to find. Its about a 10/15 min walk straight out and down from the hotel entrance to the heart of Stockholm. There is an underground connection less than 5 mins away which is also really great and v convenient.

The room (single room)- I went down to the 2nd floor- quiet floor, I wasn't disturbed by noise or people. Good size- not cabin-like feeling at all- desk, pen, television, decent enough bed. The bathroom was also a good size- everything felt in good proportion not too squashed at all. Soap provided (if you don't want to bring your own), towels also provided, hairdryer, so all in all quite impressed. Both room and bathroom felt clean, good décor- what I would expect. I only small gripe- and it's probably because im from the UK- there was no kettle in the bedroom- I like a cup of coffee or tea first thing in the morning and I missed this.

Breakfast and dinner were included in the price I paid- both have hot and cold selection- nothing out of the ordinary- quite tasty actually and certainly filled me up after walking around Stockholm throught the day. I found the dinner option handy (as Stockholm can be abit pricy) so that was welcome.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel- friendly people, great location, good room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cianbh1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Our 2 day plan was to visit Gröna Lund (Djurgården) and to do shopping. The hotel was located in a very good spot for this. We had 20 min nice walk to Gröna Lund and the same to get to shopping area. Parking was easy to find close to the hotel and price cheaper than in many other areas. We upgraded our room and it was ok. Beds were nice but the room was a bit warm and could have had "thicker walls". Breakfast was good but we missed some white bread for our daughter. Dust bin was and where you place the used trays was placed next to the food (!?!). Personel was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ull-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have stayed in around 20 hotels in Stockholm of similar type over the years and this one ranks with the top 5 I have used. Its quiet, staff are friendly and helpful and its clean. Breakfast is fairly typical fare and you need to be early to get full choice. Close to Karlaplan Tunnelbannan station and there is great little shopping Mall on block down on Valhallavagen which has 2 supermarkets and even a McDonalds.
It was warm at end of June and humid so room got very warm at night and as room doors open outwards you could not leave open to create a trough draught but they provided me with fan which at least helped. As with nearly all budget style hotels curtains are thin so if you are light sleeper like me you need to take eye mask as by 3.30 it was very light in room.

I understand that there are some rooms which do not have a window so was slightly cautious when booking and asked for a room with window.

There was a bus strike on so most buses were not running but number 42 was so this enabled me to get to most places I needed and the Subway system works well and is clean and safe. Also its only about 20 mins walk down Skeppergattan to Strandvagen and onto Skansen/Djurgarden if you are planning to visit the Museums etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on Skeppargatan are quieter as its no through road, but they do get sun in June so by end day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
#91 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Capital Hotel
#105 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
BEST WESTERN Royal Star
#93 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Karlaplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Property: Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Address: 82 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing