We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel isn't in the city of Stockhol , is in a neiborhood at sixty kilometers of downtown and far from the metro, at an industrial area.The only good thing is the breakfast: smoller rooms without closet nor night table lamps, no computer for customer, no services as wake up, international phone, desk attendance, except one lady called Ida.
Hope to come back to this lovely city but NO to this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    18
    11
    27
See reviews for
13
16
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed at Hotel Västberga for four days.
The room is minimal but enough good even if not super-clean. The bathroom was little but functional with hair dryer but no shower cap.
Breakfast was definitely great!
A lot of good different things for a great breakfast, suitable for city-browsers like us.
The hotel is about five minute walking from the Midsommarkransen tube station, so it's not central but well connected. A bad thing is that you have to go by feet under two tunnels and it may be frightening especially in the evening or in the night; maybe I'll not suggest it for an alone female traveller.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alebflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Good choice and location for weekend trip 5-10 min from subway. Quite, clean hotel, though rooms are small, WC small as well. Good selection of food on breakfast. Industrial surrounding outside not friendly, but quiet at night (and dau- primarily contains offices and warehouse) WiFi was free, but very slow. No sauna and gym working at the moment, which was dissapointing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stockholm is a pricey city, especially for a family of four. We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and "old world elegant". It was close enough to the metro and grocery stores. Our breakfast was nothing memorable but fine as well. If you get the room off a online travel site you can get quite a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

If you pretend a fancy hotel paying a almost ridicolous price this is not you. The room was dirty indeed, the floor has saw the vacuum cleaner many years ago probably never!, and I was surpised, because they changed my towels every day. Anyway I recomend it just simply because it's cheap practical, next to metro ( 10 minutes' walk you pass throught two tunnenls not so dangerous), with a good and over- the-average breakfast. I spent four days and I survived.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca_Bongio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

First room: 3 beds, bathroom able to qualify as that. Dust, footprints on the shower. Don't go to 3rd floor.
Second room: better. we took it to avoid a worse solution. Lots of details we had to look away...
Breakfast quite decent.
During the stay: cleaning could be better. confusing check out: Rates were way up but the receptionist trusted us and corrected to the fixed rate. He was a bit lost but ended up being a good element. You can reach the city. Transports are good but the location is not so good and informations at the hotel were few and confusing
If you have nowere else to go or the options are tooooo expensive, because Stokholm is overbooked, sure, you get to have fun in the beautiful city. Otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBacelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Although I went to Stockholm as a doctor for a cardiology congress my expectations are not very high and I'm used to stay in hostels and things alike. The price and the location attracted me in this hotel at first.

As for the location, it seems close to both the Stockholmsmässen (congress site) and the city center, but in practice it takes you about 45 minutes to get to the congress site because you have to change trains twice. Also, you have to cross an urban highway and you can only do that through two tunnels which are very desolate at night and give a most unpleasant feeling to walk through. It's not far from the subway (5-10 minutes), but the hotel itself is located in an industrial area at the other side of the urban highway. I didn't really care about this since I only needed a place to sleep and my room didn't have a window either.

This brings me to the room itself. It's probably my bad that I didn't know what 'cabin room' means, but now I know that this means you have no private bathroom. On the other hand, this wasn't mentioned on the website either (something like 'shared bathroom' or anything wasn't on, so I naively thought there would be a bathroom). The shared bathroom is ok, although like the hotel in general everything looks old and worn and you shouldn't mind any dust, because there is plenty of it everywhere.

The room lacking a window the ventilation was below any standard and the room therefore smelled and can't be any good for your health. The beds were ok, sheets were never changed though while I was staying for 5 nights. They only brought new towels every day and surprisingly this can be as late as 5 pm. Also, apparently they don't keep a list of the rooms that are checking out, because I was woken up by the maids on my checkout day at 9.30 am. They didn't even need to be there, so that was pretty disturbing.

I only read the reviews more closely when I'd already booked and I was a little bit troubled by what others had written on the staff (like credit card abuse and being most unfriendly and threatening). Fortunately, I had paid in advance and I didn't meet with any problems in this regard, but the guy in front of me met with incredible rudeness which I witnessed. He came to check in for a reserved room and the staff told him that the person staying in that room was allowed by them to stay in there for a couple of hours longer (while that room had been reserved for someone else!). He just told him to come back at 7 pm! Understably, the guy protested and then he met with growing rudeness with the staff member suggesting that the client was giving him problems and that it was his fault that he was forced to create new problems and also that he was going to pay for any problems that he was 'causing' by giving him a temporary other room. Come on, doesn't this staff understand that they created problems themselves that are not acceptable and that they should figure it out. Instead of apologising to the client they gave him a very bad time. Although I didn't experience problems myself, this was definitely what the other reviews were about and this kind of unacceptable behavior is much worse than not-so-clean rooms without proper ventilation and definitely a reason to consider not booking at this hotel under any circumstance. You don't know what kind of trouble the staff will cause you..

All in all, this "hotel" which was more like a glorified hostel, does the job when it comes to sleeping and providing a functioning toilet/shower and breakfast, but if you have other options, I would most certainly discourage from booking here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
4.3 mi away
Hotell Dialog
Hotell Dialog
#116 of 154 in Stockholm
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
2Home Stockholm South
2Home Stockholm South
#136 of 154 in Stockholm
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brunnby Hotel
Brunnby Hotel
#131 of 154 in Stockholm
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Capital Hotel
Best Western Capital Hotel
#104 of 154 in Stockholm
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Connect Hotel Stockholm
4.2 mi away
Scandic Prince Philip
Scandic Prince Philip
#1 of 1 in Skarholmen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: 14 Vretensborgsvaegen | Hagersten, Stockholm 126 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vastberga Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing