We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional Swedish accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Ranked #81 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This bed and breakfast is really lovely for a great Swedish experience. In the heart of Gamla Stan, the old city. We had the suite at the top of the house which is a great room and also a second room which was small but still very comfortable and authentic. The ladies that run the hotel were very nice and very helpful. The breakfast provided is relaxed and very tasty, again simple traditional Swedish breakfast with a great selections of meats/cheeses, breads, juices, fruits, cereals, cakes etc. There are a lot of stairs in the hotel, steep and narrow, but this just adds to the charm of the place, so long as you are able to get up them. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcdeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Sven Vintappare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed two nights in August. This is a charming hotel on a quiet passageway in Gamla Stan. We liked the hotel, but it might not be for everyone. The 7 rooms are accessible via a circular staircase in a building that dates from the beginning of the 17th century. The large rooms, renovated within the last 10 years, are comfortable and functional but not quite elegant. Their charm derives from sloping wood floors, high beamed ceilings, and subtle lighting that gives a feel for what it might have been like to live there in the 17th century - but with electricity and 21st century bathroom facilities. Breakfasts were very good, and hotel staff members were accommodating and helpful. Be aware that the hotel functions a bit like a B&B. We were on the ferry from Turku to Stockholm, expected arrival 6:15 pm, when we noticed in our confirmation that check-in is available until 6:00 pm, which is when the last staff member goes home. I called the hotel, and was given the security code for the main door. The hotel has wifi, but it was difficult to connect and stay connected. The signal was strongest in the stairwell on the first floor and, in our second floor room, in the bathroom. All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent two nights at Sven Vintappare and found the location to be very convenient. We were able to walk with our luggage from the train station on arrival. We were sailing out on a Baltic cruise and again were able to walk with luggage to the cruise ship. The over 400 year old, small hotel is quaint. The stairs, while charming, could be a problem because they are narrow and winding. We managed just fine, however, getting our luggage to our 2nd floor room which opened to a little square below. The room was large and comfortable and the shower bathroom, while small, was nicely done. Breakfast downstairs each morning was very good and the staff was very helpful...texting us to help us locate the hotel from the train station, keeping our luggage for us after check out so we could walk about town some more before boarding our ship. We took the hop on hop off boat tour which departed close to the hotel to visit other areas of the city. Even though we were down a narrow alley, off a busy tourist area, our room, room 2, was quiet at night.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request a room on a lower floor. Room 2 , second floor, was large a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a very nice little, and very old, hotel right in the middle of the old town of Stockholm. We were welcomed by a smiling, very sweet Swede in a National costume (we arrived on their National Day) and the service from then on was always met with a big smile. It`s a very old building, crooked and quaint with a very steep staircase and double rustic doors. The rooms are bright, quite large and with great comfy beds. We stayed for work, which I won`t recommend if you have to work a lot and be online the whole time. Due to very thick walls Internet-connecntion is unreliable (at least it was for me). But all in all a very pleasant stay with a wonderful breakfast served in a little café. Would go back with my husband in a heartbeat! Note: sleep quality can be so-so, I slept like a baby on the top floor, but my colleague on the second floor had trouble because of noise from the streets at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed four nights. Small hotel, six rooms but are very large.Hotel is over 400 years old and has centuries of charm even to the slanted floor from settling over hundreds of years. The smallness of the hotel helps with the mingling of the staff and guest, almost like staying with family. Very, very pleasant. Only draw back could be stairs which could be a burden for anyone physically challenged. Other than that would stay again because of the great location in Gamla Stan.

Room Tip: WiFi is limited
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Excellent location in Gamla Stan section---the old town. 1600's hotel, very quaint, many old features retained. Close walking distance to everything. Amanda and Lisa were excellent hosts and breakfast was served in a cafe setting much like it was in the 16-1700's. close to the palace, Nobel Museum and more. Our stay was very good---but: there is no elevator which ordinarily would not be a problem. Access to the rooms was via a very narrow and very dangerous curved stairs---especially when trying to handle bags. Our room was #7 on the 4th floor---a very nice room but the stairs are the only exit in the event of fire---oh,you could jump 35 feet to the cobblestones below and take your chances--not a good thought. After my wife had two sleepless nights thinking of fire options we moved to the 2nd floor---only an 8 foot jump. It is a bit concerning even though there appears to be sprinklers on some of the floors and extinguishers on some but our opinion is that one is at risk.. Also, the hotel is not staffed after 6pm. There is no number to call if there is a problem in the hotel and there are no phones in the rooms. The advertised wi-fi is underpowered and connecting in our case was only fleeting and only if we stood in one corner of the bathroom. "Can you hear me now." So, if you are not skittish about safety, and are looking for a well located, quaint, clean and friendly small hotel---this be it. We enjoyed it, but would not go back until something is done about the fire safety issues.

Room Tip: Second floor superior---would keep to lower floors because of lack of 2nd exit in case of fire.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in July. 2012. The only reason that could drive someone to hit on this Hotel is LOCATION
No reception , no elevator , no amenities within the Hotel , and bad wifi . The hotel is run by a couple of young ladies , cute ,smiling , but totally unhelpful and sometimes unpolite . I won't never get back in there .
Not Recommended .

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diegoatzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#29 of 154 in Stockholm
475 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
607 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,330 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#8 of 67 in Stockholm
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sven Vintappare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sven Vintappare Hotel

Address: 3 Sven Vintappares Graend | Old Town, Stockholm 111 27, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £164 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sven Vintappare Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Sven Vintappare. We are a smaller hotel with seven rooms located in the very heart of Old Town Stockholm. The house was originally built in 1607 and opened for their first hotel guests in 2002. With its unique charm, Sven Vintappare has been awarded one of the most charming smaller hotels in skandinavia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sven Vintappare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sven Vintappare
Sven Vintappare Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing