We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you're with a group and searching a low price”
Review of Renstierna Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renstierna Hotel
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed at the Renstierna Hotel with our friends. We were 6 in total and booked a room for 6. The room was OK. Enough space and the beds were good. Only a very, very small bathroom (more like a shower in a closet). But, there was another shower and toilet opposite of our room, so we could use that one as well. The toilet in the room was seperate from the "closet-shower", which is comfortable if your with 6.
The organic breakfast was perfect. Enough to chose from. OK, it was not a smörgasbröd breakfastbuffet, but what could you expect for this price ? If you want more
luxury and a big buffet, you do not book a hostel.
The staff is very nice and helpful. So if you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Stockholm, we would advise this hostel.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Irene012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2008

We spent two nights in Stockholm this month, one night in a hostel in the old town and one night in this hotel. It was quite a long walk from the Old Town so probably not the best location for the train/bus station or for exploring the Royal Palace etc. It is in Sodermalm which is quite a trendy area of Stockholm with some cool shops and bars, but it is quite far from the main thoroughfare.

Plus points - the room decor was cool (giraffe print bedspread, shelves of interesting African-themed knick knacks), the bed was comfy, the room was clean and had an en-suite bathroom and satellite tv channels. The staff we met were all very friendly, and the all you could eat organic breakfast buffet of cereals, breads, juices, tea and coffee was very nice.

Negatives - Hotel is fairly noisy, there were a fairly large group staying when we were there who sat and drank beers in the breakfast room and played music until midnight, then went out to a club and came back and made a lot of noise at around 4am. Not the hotel's fault but no one made any effort to tell them to keep the noise down. Slightly out of the way location is a bit of a drawback. Major negative was the wiring in the bathroom - the e-suite is absolutely tiny and rather than actually have a shower with doors and a shower tray or even a shower over a bath there is just a shower with a thin curtain right beside the sink. When anyone uses the shower, the whole bathroom gets absolutely soaked which is a bit annoying, but beside the sink (literally about a foot/30cm away from shower) there were all sorts of wires just hanging out of the wall which seemed to be a nasty accident just waiting to happen. This was the only real drawback for me but it was a potentially pretty serious one...

Has the feel of a quirky, quite upmarket hostel but definitely (as with a lot of things in Stockholm) the price tag of a hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maevedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We left this placed with mixed feelings. We mostly booked here due to the positive reviews on this website, but it didn't quite live up to them. Maybe because we booked a double, private room rather than a hostel dorm room.

Our room was quite small, and there were skylights rather than windows. The bathroom was tiny (shower and toilet in one). The one very odd thing was that when one of the neighbouring rooms used their bathroom, a water pump in the wall would kick into action, and the gushing water made it sound like you were underwater or in a submarine. The was also a lot of noise through the door as people moved around.

There was no breakfast prepared on our first morning, and other patrons had left a note on the office door expressing their unhappiness. We left too early the next morning to see if there was some that morning.

Regardless of these things, the hotel was located in an excellent location. The staff were also friendly, and were particularly helpful in allowing us to have a shower before our room had been cleaned after we arrived later than expected.

So a weird experience - not a hotel I would rave about, but also not a hotel where I found any things that were particularly bad/unpleasant. It's just cheap and basic, which is always needed in a place as expensive as Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

We stayed in a double room ensuite. The room and bathroom were small but looked freshly painted and were spotlessly clean. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast buffet was much better than we expected. It was easy to find from the subway-the hotel had sent good directions. The beds were very comfortable. This was one of our best experiences staying in a hostel and we were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pian0_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

I stayed in the Renstierna for a couple of nights in May 2007. I found them when everything was booked in Stockholm. I booked through their website, where you have to give a deposit (around 12 dol in my case), and when I arrived I payed the rest.
I was little afraid because the hostel is quite apart of "everything", but it wasn't a problem at all. Just in the door you can catch several lines of buses wich take you everywhere (if you buy the 72 hours pass you can go everywhere!).

The place is clean and nice. I stayed in a coed 6 beds room, with bathroom inside and tv. The bed was very confortable, and they look very clean. Maybe the only issue was that the upper bed was quite high and the climbing could be challenging.

The rooms have lockers, but you have to take your own lock.

The (included) breakfast was great, and a very good plus in an expensive city as Stockholm. They have a computer with Internet for the guests, sometimes you have to wait, but nothing serious.

I would come back to this place again, is not expensive (a miracle in Scandinavia), clean, with good transportation, good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank daruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

This hostel is excellent, and should be booked early as its highly in-demand. The location is great, in a hip area of Stockholm within walking distance of most sites of interest. The facilities were very clean, the staff were super-nice, and the breakfast was great. For the price, you can't beat this place!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank journeygirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

i went to stockholm with two friends and we booked hotel renstierna over the homepage. when we arrived the nice young guy at the reception showed us the room we booked (a very nice and modern room but no window with shared bathroom) and asked us if we would like to have a bigger room with private bathroom on the first floor for 100 kr more per night. we agreed and got a quite big room, very bright with seperated toilet and shower.

the only bad thing was that we couldn´t open the windows and it was very hot at this time of the year (35 degrees!). but the staff was very nice and tried to help us with everything. we got a portable air condition and it helped us a lot. i think it´s better to take a room facing the backyard because you can open the windows there.

the breakfast is marvellous! although it is served in a tiny cellar room which reminded me of a submarine, its a very cosy place.
i think its a very cheap hotel for stockholm but its worth much more. and its situated in the heart of södermalm, a very trendy district. so go there and have the time of your life!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank corrinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Ersta Konferens & Hotell
Ersta Konferens & Hotell
#122 of 154 in Stockholm
30 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 154 in Stockholm
275 reviews
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renstierna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renstierna Hotel

Address: 15 Renstiernas Gata, Stockholm 116 28, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Hotel Class:3 star — Renstierna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Renstierna Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing