We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It is in 100% great place. You can find anyplace near from this hostel. A good place to sleep for good price. My staying was perfect. The hostel administration is super friendly and has great sense of humor. They can make fun easily. This place has a kitchen so that you can make your food, so budget friendly. Beds are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 3 is with the road which is much better but a bit noisy. I would suggest to take room 10 or 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaxyRichardGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hostel could easily be reviewed from excellent to poor depending on what you are looking for.

The 'Excellent' is the location right in the middle of the old town Gamla Stan. The old town is stunning; everywhere you look ought to be a photo, I spent a while just sitting on the windowsill of my room staring at the street life. The hostel itself is in a beautiful building, the soft stone staircase worn from the hundreds of years of walking feet. And it is a perfect spot for an independent, pre-booked traveller. The staff were also all you could ask and the wifi had pretty good coverage.

The 'Average' is that the rooms are small and rather cramped, the kitchen, which was modern Ikea (of course) and well equipped was on another floor through two code locked doors. There was no common room as such and only three tables in the kitchen for meals.

The 'poor' was that if you had not pre-booked there was no way of getting in or inquiring about rooms and If you got there late I can imagine it being truly impossible to claim your room. This is probably not the ideal place for someone travelling without a personal phone or internet (yes, some of us still do that). There is no laundry facility onsite or anywhere within walking distance.

One thing that made my stay less than good was the showers. I could go on for hours about how bad the showers were on my floor.
-There was nowhere in the stall to keep anything dry.
-The water flooded out of the stall, so you could not keep things dry putting them just outside it.
-The showers were unisex so you could not really leave your clothes and towel outside.
-The mobile hooks that you could use to hang things on the door were too high for me 155cm to reach.
-The shower head was not hight adjustable; it was almost a meter above me.
-The temperature was erratic, hot or cold, reluctant to be ambient.

And worst, beyond belief worst; the shower would only stay on while you had your hand on the button! So I could not wash my hair which requires two hands, while I was there. Luckily I am flexible enough to wash my feel with one hand while firmly pressing a button at shoulder hight.
I heard so many people going into the showers happy from a good days sightseeing and coming out grumpy and frustrated.

I am Australian, we know all about draught and water conservation, but this was ridiculous.

I enjoyed my stay there overall, I would not recommend it for along stay, because of the lack of proper showers and laundry facilities but I would recomend it to anyone for two or three days. Lovely building, lovely area!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank haplocenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you're into the medieval atmosphere of the old town of Stockholm, this is the perfect place to the price. As a new timer in Stockholm this just seems to be in the centre of all the great attractions. Close to the royal palace, the city hall and some of the best cosy cafes.
The hostel is clean and quiet (at least in our separate room). We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed to be quite ok. The only downer was the lack of option for breakfast which could have been a great addition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WonAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I booked myself during the eleventh hour before my trip, and this place was a very nice place to stay, if you want to stay closer to most of the attractions.

The price was very reasonable, the room was comfortable enough for a single traveler like me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fendiosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights having traveled over for a football game. The location in the old town of Gamla Stan is excellent. Arrived at night and had the code for front door and door to apartments on first floor: On entry there was an envelope with the key to our room awaiting as promised: Room is basic with 2 beds which were comfortable: You can rent sheets and towel if required: Showers and toilets were communal which was not a problem. Staff were excellent and very helpful: Noise at night was not too bad: you are opposite a bar but I dident find this disturbing. Overall a relatively cheap and central hostal in Stockholm. I dident experience any "bites" as outlined by previous posters (they would have died from alcohol poisoning anyway) Overall a good experience in this Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank geogheganamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Nicely-priced hostel, absolutely great location. A bit hard to spot, but two metal stores in immediate proximity (Sound Pollution being one of them), nice quiet rooms, clean. No disturbance by party folk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeganMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed in a single private room which was comfortable with every facility that you might need. The staff were very helpful, although not having a 24 hour reception was a bit of a problem. Bathrooms have obviously been recently renovated and found them average for a hostel. Amazing location and lots of things to see and do in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybird121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#12 of 68 in Stockholm
236 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Old Town Lodge
Old Town Lodge
#15 of 68 in Stockholm
225 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#7 of 68 in Stockholm
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 68 in Stockholm
1,147 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#11 of 68 in Stockholm
614 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 68 in Stockholm
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archipelago Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Hostel Old Town

Address: 38 Stora Nygatan, Stockholm 111 27, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £23 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Archipelago Hostel Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archipelago Hostel Old Town Stockholm is the ultimate place to stay during your visit in Stockholm. Most of the historical sites and attraction are within walking distance like Royal Palace, the Nobel Museum, the City Hall and the ferry to Djurgården/Skansen. Free Internet. Free wireless in all rooms. Free Stockholm MapGuest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Archipelago Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archipelago Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing