We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understaffed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Understaffed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Considering that this is a very expensive hotel, it was severely understaffed. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no one near the door to help us with our luggage. During our stay, there seemed to be one bellman, and he hustled, but he couldn't do it all. We had club floor privileges, and the desk there was usually not staffed, even during the official staffing hours. When it was staffed, the lady there gave off a very noticeable (by my wife and I) "don't bother me, I'm not here to be helpful" look. The first day, we waited by the concierge desk for ten minutes before realizing that no concierge was going to show up.

On the plus side, the location is great (though with kids we would stay closer to Djurgarden if we had to do it again), the rooms are large (though the river view rooms give you some street noise), and the club breakfast was very good (though the club is too small to accommodate the number of guests who use it). Overall, it was okay, but not what you expect from a hotel that was going for $600 a night. (Oh, and by the way, the hotel staff will tell you it has a "special deal" with a particular taxi company to get you to the airport--520 crowns. This isn't an awful rate, but it's not a special deal, we were able to get both to and from the airport for 390 each way).

Tip: If you have kids, or just want a cheap quick breakfast (hotel breakfast is $40) there is a McDonald's two blocks down.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    1,320
    376
    106
    52
See reviews for
597
1,183
190
801
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived in the late morning in Stockholm and let’s just say the Sheraton is not hard to find. Its location is excellent. And you will find this out when you park your car in the Sheraton garage. It is ridiculous that a parking place costs 375 crowns(41 euro) per night. And we stayed for two nights, so I felt robbed. But a good hotel could make me forget that. But that is not what I got. I already don’t like the split isles between normal guests and elite guests, but there was no hospitable reception, it was all so very, very pragmatic. With our keycard we entered the most depressing long hallways to arrive at our classic (meaning, classic back of the hotel view) double room which not gave us a great feeling also. This hotel can ask top prices, but I don’t think you can leave this hotel with these rooms and think it was very well worth it. It got worse when we asked for a baby-bed for our son and something was brought into our room that looked like a little bed from a mental asylum or prison. After one night here we both wished that we would have not reserved a second night, but we just walked in Stockholm a lot and tried to stay away from the hotel. So when in Stockholm, don’t come by car, and if you are looking for a hotel that is worth your money, the Sheraton is definitally not your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for a week-end, wanted to see the city,we lived on 7th floor which turned out to be a closed ViP floor with business lounge where they served complimentary breakfast and cocktails with snacks from 5 to 7pm. The style is modern and simple but very high quality and condition. Cool ice bar downstairs is not dull till late, and location is very close to all the sights, and we enjoyed every minute of it!!

Room Tip: Get room at 7th floor for access to lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIPEPINEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here two nights, hotel was ok, room was average, hotel was in a good location. However the value was not there. No free wifi in room (only 30 min/day), hallway was dingy, no breakfast. I think there are better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolen905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my fiance as we were in Stockholm for a family wedding. We decided to treat ourselves and stay in the Sheraton. We arrived quite late so check in was quick and hassle free, we had been upgraded to a Club Level room and the room itself was lovely and included plenty of tea, coffee & complimentary water. However, there was an absolutely horrendous smell coming from the bathroom drain (the shower I think), it reeked of sewage which was was unpleasant considering it is a 5 star hotel. The smell would go if the shower was run for a few seconds but would keep coming back. Also the shower head was faulty and soaked the bathroom on our first morning but my fiance repaired it and all was fine. Also on our last morning there was some problem with the water from our bathroom sink (we had none!) but we had no time to complain or invesitgate.
Breakfast was not included in our rate (1495SEK or approx €150) per night and the one morning we had breakfast, it was delicious but cost approx €26 per person.
Computers were free to use in the lobby so that was handy.
Rooms were spotless and well maintained and very comfortable. Often a long wait for elevators even though there were 5 of them! We had minimal dealings with the staff but the staff we did speak to were friendly and courteous.

Overall, I mixed feelings about the whole experience but it is disappointing to give a 5 star hotel an average review. I doubt I would go back to be honest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. We appreciate all kinds of feedback from our valuable guests and I can assure you that we take all comments seriously.

I am glad to read that you were able to feel comfortable in your room, but I am very sorry for the inconveniences caused with regards to your bathroom. I cannot apologise enough for the fact that you had to repair the shower head yourself! Of course, as you mention, you should expect all rooms in our hotel to be in a top condition. However, there is an explanation to the lack of water on your last morning - the building suffered from a severe water leak and we had to turn off the water for a short time. I am sorry that you were not informed about this.

The summer is a very busy period, and we are glad that so many Stockholm visitors choose to stay with us. When the pressure is high, it is true that our lifts are not able to work as fast as we would like them to, so therefore we are in the process of replacing them.

I understand that it must have been very disappointing that we were not able to meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further feedback for us, or if you are considering coming back. And should you decide to return, please let us know in advance and I will make sure you have a memorable stay - including breakfast!

Once again, my sincere apologies, and thank you for sharing your comments.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

A Very good business especially since recent renovation. Breakfast is great, good rooms and depending on your corporate deal possibly at ok price and value for money. Checkin more than once problematic though with long waiting time....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK-Reiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. It makes me happy to read that you enjoy our rooms and breakfast.

During the summer, we have a lot of large groups arriving/leaving at the same time (for example from the many cruise ships stopping in Stockholm). We strive to manage these groups as quickly as possible, but at times some queuing can occur, which we are of course very sorry for.

We do hope to see you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you have any further feedback or requests for your next stay. And, once again, thank you for your comments.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Perfect location in the center of Stockholm. Fantastic hotel with very cool lobby and great check-in. Free internet station in the lobby also. We were upgraded from a double to a suite with a great view of the water! The rooms and bed were wonderful. Lots of space and nice decorated in modern style. Great bathroom with tremendous space. Did not partake in the breakfast, a little costly, although a discounted rate was offered at check-in.
The only negative was that the Air conditioning was not completely effective. Our first night was not very noticeable since it was a cooler day. The second night however, we were provided a fan that worked well. The management said that the hotel was full and that there was strong demand on the AC. Other than that....everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Facing south and east has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoBe_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel - it is much appreciated by my whole team! I am glad to hear that you felt comfortable in your room and were able to enjoy the wonderful view of Stockholm. However, I am sorry for the inconveniences caused by insufficient air conditioning - our engineering department is working on it to make sure we are better prepared for next summer.

Welcome back and, once again, thank you for your feedback!

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing