We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second class citizen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My wife and i stayed on the Club Floor of the Sheraton in Stockholm last month for 3 days. Although we try to say on club floors when we travel, we have not stayed at a Sheraton Hotel before. It must be said that if this is indicative of Sheraton Club floors, it is inferior to the Ritz Carlton and Shangri-La club floors where we usually stay. The club floor lounge was very small and the food and wine servings were vastly inferior to other club floors both in terms of choice of food /wine and the hours when it was available.

However, what was of most interest to us was the fact that as a result of booking our stay through Expedia, we were consigned to a view of the inner courtyard rather than a view of the city. When we said we'd like a room with a view of the city we were told this would cost extra (none of which was relayed to us by Expedia when we booked our holiday several weeks before).

Obviously people who book through Expedia are second class citizens. Does Expedia know this is happening? if it does not, it needs to sort out the position with the hotel and if it does know it needs to tell its clients that they will receive an inferior room when they book through Expedia. Many guests may then prefer to deal directly with the hotel in order to get a better room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily017Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear “lily017Perth”,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. I am sorry to hear that our club floor did not meet your expectations, and I can assure you that we will investigate what we can do to improve.

I would like to point out that ALL our guests are equally valuable, no matter how the reservation was made. It is certainly not our intention to make any guest feel inferior to others. However, the number of room types specified on Expedia is limited and therefore it offers club rooms with courtyard view only. We have contacted Expedia to see if there if it is possible to make a change.

I am sorry for your disappointment regarding the view. Should you consider returning, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure you get a free upgrade.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 3,654 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is a short walk with suitcases from the Central Train station. Just down the street. The staff at the hotel were all very nice. The hotel rooms are a comfrotable size. For a 5 star hotel, they really need to do some refurbishing especially the hallway carpets...really dirty and stained. Our room was nice, bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was not included with our room and the first morning we tired the $40.00/person buffet breakfast. The food options were nice but the scrambled eggs were ice cold.
The hotel is close to many attractions such as the Royal Palace. Be prepared...Stockholm is very expensive.
The hotel internet in your room will cost you $15.00 for 24hours.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear Dwyrwas ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at our hotel! It makes me glad to read that you were happy with the service and the quality of the room.

We are aware of the state of the carpets, and new ones have been ordered. We are also in the process of painting the rooms, updating our air-conditioning system and replacing the lifts.

Internet access (wifi) is free in the lobby and bar area as well as in our Sheraton Link. It is also free for 30 minutes in the rooms - but after that we charge 100 sek/day because of the high quality with regards to speed, reliability and support 24h/day.

We hope to see you back in Stockholm in the future!

Warm regards,

Paul Peters, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent a night here before embarking on our Baltic Cruise. Our hotel room was very comfortable in a utilitarian and simple fashion. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small but offered everything that one needs. Breakfast which was buffet style was more than adequate and offered much variety. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful and offered great suggestions re activities and restaurants. The hotel was located in the old town and was within walking distance to most sights and attractions. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear skychaserCalgary,

Thank you for posting such nice feedback about our hotel! It makes me glad to know that you had a very comfortable stay, enjoyed our breakfast and were happy with our service.

If you are in Stockholm for a short visit, the location is very important in order to make the most out of your stay. I do hope to see you here again, and maybe you will then have some more time to discover our beautiful city!

Warm regards,

Paul Peters, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

quality hotel, excellent stay for business travellers

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We had a great stay at the Sheraton Stockholm in early August. Loved the wood floors and IKEA feel of the rooms. The rooms were a good size, big enough for our family of 4. Beds were comfortable. The free WIFI in the lobby was great, also had WIFI comp'd to us in the rooms and it was fast and reliable.

The Sheraton's location within the city centre is perfect. It is very close to Gamla Stan, and within walking distance of numerous restaurants, shopping districts, attractions, and metro transportation. The main train terminal is less than 2 blocks from the Sheraton thus if there are only a couple in your party, the airport train would be a great option. Since we were traveling with our teenagers, we opted to use SuperShuttle Stockholm, and had a very good experience with them at a phenomenal price (they were running a buy 1 get 3 free special)!

We loved the city of Stockholm itself, beautiful city. The Sheraton was the perfect home base. We'd definitely stay there again next time we visit Stockholm!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Preds1,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It makes me happy to read that you and your family had an enjoyable expereince and were able to feel at home in our hotel.

Stockholm is indeed a beautiful city - I hope you will get the chance to return!

Warm regards,

Paul Peters, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The location of this hotel simply can't be beat - a short walk from the central train station, a few minutes from Stadshuset, across a bridge from Gamla Stan - the best tourist elements of Stockholm are within easy walking distance. Our rooms were generously sized, with large, clean bathrooms and we found the front-desk staff to be simply top-notch. I would definitely stay here again when back in Stockholm and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bttravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear "bttravellerToronto",

Thank you for your feedback, confirming that we have one of the best hotel teams in the Stockholm!

Welcome back and warm regards,

Paul Peters,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had booked the Sheraton as we were 3 colleagues going to Stockholm and would like to share one room. The Sheraton offered a room big enough så that was good.

Check-in went well, and we got a room with twin beds + one extra bed which was a good solution. The guy at the front desk was very nice and offered us a small discount on the (very expensive!) breakfast if we chose it for the entire stay. He convinced us that the breakfast was well worth it (even though we are a bit unhappy that with such a high room cost, it should be included).

The room was a good size so that was fine, but bathroom a bit outdated, with very little counter space, and a bad drain in the shower. We were also placed facing a busy street, so you wouldn't want the windows open. Beds and bedding good - the mattress a bit soft to my liking.
We were looking for the hair dryer and found it attached in a drawer underneath the TV, which was a bit strange and not very obvious to find! Plus it is one of the old fashioned hotel types, that really doesn't work well...

It is unfortunate that an expensive hotel that has many business visitors doesn't have free internet! This is about 15$ (100 SEK) per night! Not satisfactory at all.

Also, the breakfast buffet isn't better than what you would normally expect at hotels where this isn't included. Very standard and the service wasn't very attentive either (waited quite a while to get more juice or water and ended up filling my glass myself from one of the waitors' "stations".

So all in all it deducts that for that high price per night, breakfast and internet isn't included, and that the facilities in the room aren't really up to standard. And with that cost for breakfast (259 SEK) it should really be a bit out of the ordinary hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Line1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Line1982,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. I will definitely share your comments with my team and investigate how we can improve.

Regarding our Internet access: we offer free wifi in the bar and lobby area, as well as on the club floor, and our Sheraton Link business centre is always open and for free. All rooms have 30 minutes of free Internet access. After that, you pay SEK 100/day (equivalent to EUR 11/day) for a first-class connection with 99% coverage throughout the building. Actually, after carrying out a survey among our guests, we know that the majority are OK with the fee as long as the quality stays high and the network is reliable.

Of course, it is important that all our valuable guests feel comfortable and at home while staying with us. Should you return to Stockholm, please feel free to contact me in advance and I will make sure your stay will be a memorable one.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,175 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#15 of 154 in Stockholm
1,458 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#20 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £117 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing