We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed five nights earlier this month and I couldn't fault it. My husband was here on business and I was lucky enough to come too.
Our room was overlooking the courtyard, so no view, but I would certainly not call it a second class room. It was very comfortable with a lovely comfortable Kingsize bed, two comfy chairs, good lighting, plenty of wardrobe space and a supply of coffee and tea etc which was well stocked and replenished. The shower room was compact, but very well lit with a walk in shower and plenty of shelf space and towel rails. Towels and bedlinen were good quality and all was scrupulously clean - what more would I need?
The advantage of a room facing the courtyard is that there is no noise at all, so you get a very good night's sleep. The curtains were also very good at blocking out the light.
I tend to judge a hotel on how friendly and helpful their staff are, and I was very impressed by everyone I met here. They seemed genuinely very obliging. Yes, there always seemed to be queues at the desk, but we were always very well treated when it got to our turn. A very helpful lady concierge helped us find a suitable restaurant on one evening.
Breakfast was expensive, but they seem to often offer a discount at reception which makes it much more affordable. I really enjoyed the breakfast and it did set us up for the day. Again it was often very busy, but staff were always very pleasant and helpful.
Location was absolutely fantastic, with Gamla Stan just over the bridge and the station and T Bana just round the corner. Another plus point was the free Internet access in the lobby and plenty of seats in the lounge area, with no pressure to order coffee or drinks.
I would love the opportunity to stay in the Sheraton Stockholm again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Foss,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel – it truly makes me happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and would like to return. Our quiet courtyard rooms allow you to sleep very well right in the middle of the city and our beds are well-known for their comfort.

It makes me proud to know that you were so well taken care of by our staff – I believe we have one of the best hotel teams in Stockholm. My apologies for the queues at front desk; we are always striving to minimize the waiting times, but at busy times there can be some queuing.

Welcome back!
Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    1,341
    377
    106
    54
See reviews for
606
1,192
191
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here three nights at the end of May 2011. I read everyone saying it was so close to the train station but I was concerned that it was walkable with a suitcase when I was very tired and not yet oriented to Stockholm so I did Google maps and Google earth to see what to expect. I did not need to worry - though it was helpful to know I was going the right way. It was a straight shot to the hotel and no problem at all to walk it with my luggage.
My room was comfortable and very functional. I had a nice view of the water and the Stadshuset which I never got tired of looking at. The windows opened.
The first morning I looked out my window and saw the Stockholm marathon going by. I continued to see them the rest of the day as I walked around Gamla Stan, etc.
I made great use of the club lounge. The concierge who was there at peak times went out of her way to help me when I was having trouble finding a boat trip to the archipelago. She accompanied me down to the lobby where she was better able to help me find what I needed. She did the same when an issue arose with my checkout. I also had breakfast there two mornings and in the restaurant on the third morning. I had a drink and snacks in the lounge in the evening. There were also a couple computers to use there. The lounge was relatively small and got pretty crowded at times.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The staff was very friendly, but quite busy. The first room was small and faced a busy street (the cars almost at the eye level). The second room better, facing the tranquil inner yard (which had a scuplture, and wich would need some kind of upgrade, now it somhow looked like a prison camp...).

The bathroom was adequate, the bed comfortable, the quite busy breakfast ok.

There was nothing wrong with the hotel, but it did not feel luxurious at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear Flying Finn,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel in May, 2011. It is indeed so that the street outside our hotel is busy during daytime, but you can hardly hear it through the windows. Just like you mention, the courtyard rooms are very quiet. Our building is listed as a landmark from the early 1970’s and we cannot make any major changes to the courtyard – although we would very much like to.

We are striving to give every guest a “wow” feeling when staying here. If you are planning to return, I hope we will succeed in making your stay even more memorable than the last one.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

There is no doubt the location of this hotel is outstanding. Very easy to get to by car and a carpark which you access from the hotel lobby. Proximity to the old part of town is outstanding as is the ease of access to most main tourist monuments. We had a room on the top floor with a balcony and a view which was also excellent.

However, it is important to note that at the very busy time of highseason (we were there for midsummer) the feeling was that lots of permanent staff were on holiday and temporary staff was there instead which is rather surprising as it severely affects the service standard. I could of course be wrong about the vacationing staff but for example queues of 10 people waiting to check in was a daily occurrence and a couple of times there were two of those lines. This inevitably lead to that if you wanted any kind of information for sightseeing or the like you had to wait, a long long time.
Also, if you wanted information on restaurants etc which weren't perhaps on their standard list or about going out to the islands but away from the standard route then I got the reply, more than once, oh I don't live here so I don't really know but here is an informationbooklet. Certainly not what I expect from this level of hotel!

Roomservice was also slow and not very good, again surprising for this type of hotel, and the service in the bar was autrocious! We had to wait first for 30 minutes to place an order, then 30 minutes more for the drinks (there were only 3 of us) and then 30 minutes to get the bill. This was not the fault of the personnel, it was the simple fact that in a packed bar there was only one person working behind the bar.

If this place wasn't so incredibly understaffed I would say that it was great, but because service was so severly lacking I can only give it and "average" vote.

Room Tip: balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Dear “glutenfreeswede”,

I am grateful that you took the time to comment on your stay at our hotel, and I can assure you that we take your comment seriously. Just like you are writing, you stayed here during a very busy period and some of our staff had just started for the summer. However – you should still have received better service, without having to wait so long! My sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

I hope you will consider returning and experience a fully staffed hotel. Welcome back!

Warm regards,
Paul Peters,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed our experience in the hotel. The Sheraton is conveniently located near the central train station as well as the visitor center (very helpful). We were able to walk to the majority of areas we visited (Gamla Stan, Kungsholmen). The room had 2 queen sized beds (different than other Scandinavian hotels we had stayed at where generally two twin beds were put together with separate comforters) and was quite comfortable. The clean room had hard-wood floors and the bathroom had lots of counter space (even a shelf below for extra storage of toiletries). The concierge service was helpful. Several lobby computers to access the internet. Only annoyance was that the free room wi-fi was only for 30 minutes a day (and one day did not allow access). Very nice fitness center too but unfortunately for our kids there was no pool (but we swam at a nearby beach).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaucho1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the amazing Sheraton Stockholm Hotel for 3 nights sept 6th til sept 9th.The hotel room felt so homley and we loved all the little extras. The double sleeper bed was like sleeping on a huge cloud each night and we just didn't want to get out of it. We stayed on the club 7th floor and loved the fantastic range of complimentary breakfast hot and cold every morning of scrambled egg bacon hash browns toast selection of cereals, ryvita, Plenty of juices apple orange the list goes on. Free coffees teas and soft fizzy drinks ,Along with the very tasty canapes and huge selection of alcahol in the evenings at the cocktail bar for 2hrs. Also access to free wifi and computer usage. Also the room was used to sit and chat and play cards or chill out and watch tv. We will certainly be recommending the club floor and your hotel to everyone we know. We had such a relaxing and very enjoyable stay and didnt want to leave. Thouroughly spoilt.
Concierge treated us like royalty from the moment we arrived and gave us our room cards through to coming up to see us each evening to check all was well, helping us find our feet with maps and sightseeing tours to the moment we checked out and handed our cards back. They really did make our stay worth while.
We see the whole of stockholm as everything is in walking distance of the hotel. It's amazing how many islands there in stockholm we were shocked. we took so many photo's of the hotel from the road and from the sightseeing boat on the river that goes straight down past The Sheraton Hotel.
The bedroom we had was all freshly decorated with such lovely glass lamps, wooden floors and plenty of cupboard space. Even an ipod dock my partner was thrilled about.
We will certainly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo4321Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed 3 wondweful days at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. excellent location next to the old city. delicius food breakfast and dinner. nice room and good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing