We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I've lived at several 5 stars hotels around the world, and Sheraton Stockholm Hotel does not deserve that amount of stars -

- The air conditioner was not working (well, it blew warm air in my face on any given settings).
- The beds were hard, and pillows too large.
- Constantly disturbed by noises from the hallway - in other words very little sound isolation.
- We had a three course dinner that tasted extremely bland - particularly the main course (chicken and risotto??)
- The breakfast was pretty alright, though our group had to call out to get the waitresses attention (e.g. coffee/juice) the second day of our stay.

As others have mentioned, Wifi priced 100 SEK for a 24 hours? This should be free of charge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Stanley S,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our hotel. It is very sad for me to take part of your review and to hear of your disappointment this time.

Rest assured we have picked your comments up internally, especially your description of the air conditioning, the beds and the food experiences.
I would be grateful if you could reach out to me directly, so I can dig deeper into the mishaps. I feel it is important to straighten things out immediately and look forward to hearing from your soon.

Warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is comfortable, provides good food and a great nights sleep, is reasonably handy for Gamla Stan (although does require a good walk to get there) and more importantly, is handy for the Central Metro Station just around the corner. The breakfast can be expensive but there are pre-booked packages you can negotiate when checking in to keep the price of this down. Going for a higher floor gives better views if you can secure a room overlooking the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the front of the hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Paul M,

Thank you - it is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay here with us at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel and your warming thoughts have been shared with my colleagues.
Stockholm is a fantastic city and I hope you will have a chance to come back one day.
There is plenty more to see and attractions to take part of. Why not do a Summer trip? Old Town looks just amazing during the Summer and Stockholm really shows why we call it Beauty by the Water!

Warm welcome back and warm regards,

General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend back in august '12 and to be honest we weren't around much, because of the gorgeous weather we happened into, There were a few drawbacks though - at check-in I was told my room was fully paid for, but I had to leave authorization of my card for "any extras" which is a bit excessive at 500SEK per night, and even having sufficient funds on my credit card didnt save me as this was my first transaction abroad in a while and some anti-fraud mechanism cancelled my card.... I was told there was no way for me to check-in in that case, even though the room had already been paid for... I have worked in some upmarket hotels myself and havent encountered such practice, for comparison - Hilton lets you check-in without the compulsory "extras" as long as your room has been paid for. Nevermind that, we have reached compromise with the receptionist that instead I leave a cash deposit, which was held at the hotel for the entire stay and returned to me on departure - although I dont quite understand the whole point of it as the mini-bar was locked anyway and nobody wanted to check the room when we were leaving - I am really baffled as to what purpose did it serve exactly? From there on the stay was pure pleasure - even though just a classic room, it was spacious, beds so comfortable that I thought I was in heaven and slept on a cloud - no exaggeration. My luggage had stayed behind at the airport and the staff phoned me promptly to inform me when it finally got delivered and someone was bringing it to my room as we speak, even argued with me when I offered to come down myself to collect it - luxury :) free computers and printing in the lobby came in handy when housekeeping mistook my friends train tickets home for rubbish (but its more of my friends fault - he's a scruff :P). Cant comment on any view, gym or spa - didnt use any as were trying to get the most of the city itself - it wasnt the kind of break where one sits in a hotel all day long and pesters staff :D Overall - VERY good hotel, just please get rid of those compulsory deposits - its embarrassing and is the only reason this review is marked down a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonlightam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear moonlightam,

Thank you for making the effort to post your feedback on your August stay 2012 here on Tripadvisor. Much appreciated.

It is nice to see your high scores but of course a bit sad to read that the check in was not flawless and took a while, due to the circumstances. I have forwarded your feedback to my colleagues in the front office team and we are in full preparation for the summer (only three months away).
Our check in standards are to always take a credit card or a cash deposit, but it seems to have been handled in a not too impressive way. After reading about your experiences I am a bit comforted to hear that the rest of your stay was much better. Especially nice to hear that you like or SweetSleeper beds. It is very easy to order one and have it delivered to your home - just let me know and I will send you all the details.
Keep your expectations high and feel free to let me know when our future paths will cross. I will personally make sure you are well taken care of.

Warm regards,

General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

From the first moment as the kind reception staff treated me, my stay at Sheraton Stockholm was impeccable. Breakfast offers great variety and local Swedish tastes. Gym is small but very modern, has all that a traveler needs. Surely will repeat and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Mathias C,

Thank you very much for your great words. It makes me very happy and proud to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Stockholm and us!
We are all grateful for your recommendation to stay at our hotel and hope to see you back many times.

Let me know if there is anything special I can do for you.

Warm regards,

General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The location was great right by the central station and all the tourist spots. The staff are amazing and always willing to help. The hotel is a very clean and the rooms are comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I come to Stockholm in the future.

Room Tip: You can get a better rate from online websites if you spend a little time searching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Wing Y,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay here at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Stockholm and us.

Should you come back to stay with us again, please let me know on forehand and I will make sure we arrange everything to your preferences.

Warm regards,

General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel has a great strategic location - within 2 minutes walking to Gamla Stan, practically in the central train station, 5 minutes from main downtown shopping area, 10 minutes to ferry. The rooms are OK, a little outdated, but clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadintotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear dadintotravel,

How nice to see your comments here on Tripadvisor - much appreciated by us all. Your description of our location is spot on.
We are constantly looking at keeping the hotel in good shape and will bring your comments about the rooms forward to our hotel team.

You are always warm welcome back to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our mini vacation at Sheraton Stockholm hotel, was indeed a fantastic experience, friendly and helpful staff welcomed us at the reception. The rooms were great, wonderful beds and linen and fantastic view over the City hall and Stockholm. Excellent breakfast including all different items. The location is great with Old Town and Stockholm City center just outside the door. I have used this hotel for large group bookings, always good and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneW987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear AnneW987,

A fantastic review from a fantastic guest! Thank you so much for commenting on your recent stay with us. This February month has been a bit on the chilly side. The temperature might be below zero outside, but on the inside the hotel is warm and cozy.

I would like to thank you for your continuous support and loyalty to the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel. We want you and your guests to feel special and welcomed, and it is just great to hear that you had a wonderful stay also this time. Rest assured we will keep the warmth going until we see you again.

Your comments have been shared with the team and we are all looking forward to our future cooperation.

See you soon!

Warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,148 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,425 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#20 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £126 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing