We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Sheraton, while on vacation in Stockholm.

Pluses:
Location - It's walking distance from everything, or a short taxi ride away
Service - courteous, professional and with a smile
Room - clean, spacious, although there are minuses (see below)
Breakfast - although it feels like a typical "American hotel" type of breakfast, the quality is good, and the selection ample.

Minuses:
Concierge recommendations on Dining - we were given two recommendations by Ida, and both were not good (East for substandard sushi and Marten Trotzig which was overpriced and not good quality).
Room - there is some wear and tear in the room. The drawers in the closet of room 6 are crooked and are difficult to open. Overall, the hotel has not renovated the rooms in a decade or more (I know because I have stayed there before)
Value - at about €250 / night, I did not feel that the room and breakfast were a good deal

Overall, average.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AlbertR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to commenting on your four nights getaway in May, to Stockholm and us.

The pluses and minuses you have brought to our attention have been forwarded within the team. I am surprised to hear about the restaurants that our concierge recommended and we will make sure to follow up. (These are to my knowledge good restaurants here in Stockholm.)

Regarding the room, I assure you that we like to keep our hotel in a good shape. The last refurbishment took place six years ago, in 2008, where we updated all areas within the hotel. Thank you for mentioning the drawers in the closet, which we will check and make sure these are fixed immediately.

I want you to know that you are always warm welcome back to stay with us, and when it is time for a new visit please let me know. I assure you that we will take very good care of you and make you feel at home away from home.

Warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,494
    1,341
    377
    106
    54
See reviews for
606
1,192
191
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently returned from a truly excellent weekend break at this great hotel.
We were greeted on arrival by a most friendly and helpful man at reception and this set the tone for our entire visit. We had a lovely spacious courtyard room with a wonderfully comfy bed, the location is very safe and central, staff friendly and the hotel bar and facilities excellent.
The bar is a great place to relax or start/finish your evening and the food (club sandwich) very pleasant.
I initially thought the Arlanda Express from the airport to be a little pricy but having now used this service I found it to be pretty impressive - clean, fast, efficient and had us in the city in 20 minutes - perfect.
Can not wait to return. Thank you all at Sheraton Stockholm.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Rosie H,

Thank you very much for your absolutely amazing review!
I love to read about your trip to us here at the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel and your fantastic words have been shared with my team members.

We all hope to see you back very soon, where we promise to not only meet but once again exceed your expectations.

Keep up us updated on your future visits!

Warm regards and warm welcome back,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Decrepit rooms that make you not want to stay a night longer, bathrooms too small to move about. Flimsy towels, pillows too soft. Rooms are depressing, the furniture is simply too outdated as is the air conditioning which doesn't tell you the temperature. Horrible wallpaper and curtains from twenty years ago, very far elevators, low ceilings. You feel like in a box. Club floor lounge crowded with families their children. The closet door of my room doesn't close. When you see other hotels of Swedish design in Stockholm, why bother staying here. It's something that hasn't changed since the 70s. Breakfast choices limited. Advantages : great location, spacious Club Floor room, nice gym, courteous staff. Otherwise avoid it unless you're a family with children (the experience might be different). Don't get a courtyard view, too dark and demoralising. Too many people in the lobby sometimes, the disadvantage of a big hotel. The building may be classified historical in the exterior but there are historic hotels in Stockholm, or anywhere, where the interiors are new. Time for a renovation, even if the hotel was renovated in 2011!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Makiesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Makiesser,

Thank you for your post and feedback on your recent visit to us in April and we are sorry for your unsatisfactory experience. We always aim to exceed customer expectations and obviously we fell short this time.

Going through your comments I can see that you feel disappointed mostly in regards to the room itself and the layout. The last refurbishment took place six years ago, in 2008, where we updated all areas within the hotel. We apologize if you feel this is outdated. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed ensemble has 4 king pillows, and along with the bathroom terry was ordered last year. These are all of brand quality.

The Sheraton Stockholm Hotel has 465 rooms and when the hotel is full you may find many guests moving around within our premises. We love taking care of all our guests and no matter the occasion everyone should receive a warm welcome to stay with us; whether it is for business, together with friends or family, celebrating something special or looking for a romantic getaway.

I wish you would have contacted us directly during your visit so we could have had a chance to act upon your requests. I always encourage all guests to contact me directly so please feel free to do so, and once again we regret your extreme disappointment with your recent stay.

Warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent a weekend with a one year old baby. A big baby grib was available but no potty.

We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Maybe overpriced, but great selection.

The hotel is located near the old town and shopping possibilities. That was the key thing for the stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElinaRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Location was the main reason to book this hotel and location was good, not great. The service attitude was faraway from 5 star. We came early and asked the possibility to get room earlier. The answer was very rude and unpolite. 15 minutes later we were anyway told our room would be ready in 10 minutes. At this time we alreaydy had changed our plans and did not need the room. If I would have worked there and had this situation, I would have politely answered I will check the possibility and in the meanwhile we might perhaps enjoy the breakfast. We would have paid for the breakfast, because we were hungry. They would have earned some money from our breakfast and we would have been happy, we got the service, we were hoping for.

The room itself was very small and basic. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great, but when we came out from breakfast there was a huge line outside. I don't think it is nice or very luxury to stand outside the restaurant waiting for to get in to enjoy your breakfast.

There was also a long waiting time to check out, but there was also possibility to make it by yourself without waiting, which we used because we had to rush to the next meeting.

I can not think one single reason why this hotel is having 5 stars, it's not worth of more than 3 stars (except the breakfast, but you are anyway paying extra for that) and I am sure you can find better hotel even in Stockholm with the same money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear wanikka,

Thank you for your time and comments here on Tripadvisor. I cannot enough stress how important it is for us to receive feedback on how our guests experience us.

Your comments truly shows how important it is to always offer the best possible services - something we are known to normally do. Therefore it is so sad to read that you experienced that our attitude were not in line with our promises.

The past month has at a certain extent been a busy month and we have from time to time experienced that there were many guests coming at the same time to enjoy the breakfast. This have at times lead to some queuing and I can assure you that we offer service as fast as we can.

I sincerely hope you will a new chance to visit Stockholm and us, and when it is time again; you know where to find me. I promise we will make everything effort to make your next visit much more comfortable. Also, If there is anything else you would like to share with us - please do not hesitate to do so.

Warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com

PS. For the record; I would like to add that the Sheraton Stockholm hotel is an international upscale hotel. We do not participate in any local or international star ratings and we are not advertised as such via our marketing collateral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for Easter holiday, the location is very convenient. you can walk anywhere in the city centre, or central station next door takes you to the airport or any part of the town. The Sheraton club lounge offers excellent food for the evening. It offers breakfast as well, but I prefer the breakfast buffet in restaurant on the ground floor. It offers huge selections of food, from Full English breakfast, omelette, to smoked salmon, or veg options. The brilliant weather added the joy of my stay in Stockholm, but I think I would be happy just stay in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank microyaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed in the Sheraton Stockholm hotel for 6 days, to visit this great city with the family. Wonderfull experience, very friendly staff, got nice rooms overlooking the front water of the hotel. Had each day a delicious breakfast and enjoyed also 2 very nice diners, with even a personal attention for the 18th birthday of our son. Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igor B, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Chris H,

Thank you so much for your wonderful post.
It is such a delight to read your warming words. Great to hear that you chose to celebrate your son’s birthday here with us. Maybe we will see you and your family again same time next year?

Warm welcome back and warm regards,
General Manager
igor.buercher@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing