We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality/price ratio, very well situated”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #139 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality/price ratio, very well situated”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had quite a difficult time finding not too expensive accomodation WITH WINDOWS in Stockholm for a 4 day week-end. Colonial Hotel turned out to be a good choice:
- not too expensive, especially compared to the Stockholm price level
- well located, 10min from Central station, 10min from nearest Citybike station
- clean room, with all amenities necessary: shower/toilet, towels, twin beds (next to each other), tv, etc
- free and quick wifi in the room (4Mb dl/ 0.5Mb ul)
- ok breakfast (no variation during our stay, but not a bad choice)
- kind staff: printed out our boarding cards the last day for free, 24/24 reception

Some (minor negatives):
- twin beds (but so close that you almost don't notice)
- strange elevator
- not brand new but still rather clean
- definitely more expensive than other cities, but still below Stockholm equivalent pricing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_d_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    74
    78
    40
    37
See reviews for
35
79
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

It's about 10 minutes from the metro station, in a peaceful district of Stockholm. The bathroom, although shared, was very clean with large shower and the room very comfortable. It's an excellent solution for those looking for comfort without too many claims. High speed internet wi-fi was available in the room. The breakfast buffet was very rich, varied and abundant, in a nice dining room with windows looking out onto the street.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichilista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APO AE
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

On arrival we were given rooms that can only be described as unlivable. There were bunk beds and the linens looked to have not been cleaned. We requested an upgrade to standard rooms in which we though we had booked. They moved us but not without us having to fork up another $250 for 2 nights. There booking information on booking.com was misleading in regards to what you were actually getting. the hotel had a elevator which did not even stop on the floor in which the bunked rooms were located. Which was the first sign of oh no. The stairs were not well lit and the elevator seemed to be out of a horror movie. I would not suggest anyone stay at this hotel as they are misleading.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina3043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I've just come back from a weekend trip in Stockholm that was organized by an acquaintance. The pictures we had seen from the hotel made it out to be a simple, light, airy and clean room - what we found on arrival was anything but! Instead of Scandinavian simplicity, what awaited us looked like a cross between a draconian boarding school and a prison cell: beds that weren't even made (linens in the closet so you had to make your own bed up from scratch); the most lumpy, beat-up, cheap pillows I wouldn't even offer my dogs to sleep on; and spongy, saggy mattresses with stained sheets.

After requesting a different room, I ended up in a room that was only marginally better. Unlike the first one, this at least had an en-suite bathroom. However, the mismatched towels had visible stains, and the room boasted the same soggy mattresses and lumpy pillows. Ironically, the hallway is lined with decorative (read: unnecessary) statues etc. in what I can only assume is a poor bid to distract visitors from the complete lack of basic cleanliness.

To me, the worst offense was when, after an uncomfortable and restless night, I came back the following afternoon - only to find that the toilet hadn't even been cleaned. (Unfortunately I was roomed with someone who has apparently yet to discover the function of a toilet brush - this, however, made it all the more painfully clear that whoever had emptied the trash can during my morning jaunt had NOT cleaned the toilet!!!).

Another big concern especially for people traveling with children: both rooms had windows that could be opened all the way (on the 4th and 5th floors), with nothing to keep anyone from climbing/falling out. I would NOT recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with children of ANY age.

The breakfast is included and suitable enough - ho-hum and no frills, but meets basic requirements. However, the overall standard of cleanliness was simply not acceptable in my opinion - I've stayed at youth hostels in major cities across Europe and the U.S. that were cleaner.

I personally did not find the staff either particularly friendly or accomodating. After one night, I decided to check into a different hotel so that I could sleep in unstained sheets, take a proper shower with suitable, clean towels, and get a decent night's rest.

My advice: if you are on a completely strict, unflexible budget and absolutely want to see the city, then perhaps this may be ok for you. As for students: you're better off coming to Stockholm in the summer, where a large ship turned hostel and moored permanently in the harbor offers a much more interesting place to stay (af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Youth Hostel).

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank centralperky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Very friendly staff - particularly the lady at the front desk who was very helpful. I had a room without an en-suite bathroom. The shared bathrooms were clean and very satisfactory with lots of hot water. The breakfast is not elaborate but simple good quality food and good coffee. For a budget overnight stay I really couldn't ask for more and I will be staying again. Although this is a budget hotel, a small desk or table in the room would have been appreciated. Otherwise the room was fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikuropka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Simplicity is the main characteristic of the hotel. It certainly needs serius renovation but I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend there a couple of days without paying much. It seems to be owned by a family. The only thing that really annoyed me was the attitude of the owner's family (?). During breakfast I could see people without uniforms (wearing cropped pants and flip-flops) coming and go in the kitchen, picking and eating with their bare hands from the buffet. Yuck!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank amlAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

For the money this hotel was spot on. We booked last minute and as it was classed as 2 star we did not have high expectations but we were proved wrong! We had an ensuite room on the 5th floor. The room was big and clean and even had a tv with english tv channels. The bathroom was also well sized. The breakfast was basic but very nice and there was plenty. There was also free wifi. Really good location right in centre and only 20 minw
walk from old town. The walls were a bit thin but we didnt have noisy neighbours. Would def reccomend

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
August Strindberg Hotell
August Strindberg Hotell
#137 of 154 in Stockholm
72 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Bema
Hotel Bema
#99 of 154 in Stockholm
89 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#60 of 154 in Stockholm
642 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
823 reviews
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#70 of 154 in Stockholm
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Property: Colonial Hotel
Address: 13 Vaestmannagatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Hotel is located in the city center of Stockholm with easy access to old town, central station, restaurants and sights of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing