We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cheap room in Stockholm” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #142 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    74
    78
    40
    37
See reviews for
35
79
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Read this if you consider putting a reservation at the Colonial Hotel.
I reserved a room in last minute as other locations were busy.
I stayed there in a Budget room. And guess what? There was no bathroom. Only shared toilets and shower. And you have to make your bed on your own!
WIFI WAS NOT WORKING and although I mentionned it, they were not able to repair.
For 750 SEK, I know it is quite cheap for Stockholm, but it is very expensive for a place which resembles more like to a youth hostel (though I never experienced a youth hostel).
The shower room is very basic too (not much water pressure) as well as the bathroom which are both located in the corridor.
The bed was ok but there was a strange smell in the room.
Earplugs are mandatory as you can hear everything from the other rooms.
This was probably the cheapest place I went to in my whole life, even considering the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller98000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The good: location is great, not far from the station and on a quiet ish street. Beds are reasonably comfortable.

The bad: breakfast isn't wonderful, and is served in a small, crowded room. Not ideal. The bathrooms are tiny, and the shower heads needs replacing. The water is more of a dribble than an actual shower. Also, the one staff member we accounted (young, dark hair) wasn't fantastic, either. The corridors have high ceilings, and therefore everything echoes - making the rooms noisy at all times. The wireless ddidnt work properly in our room (206).

My final complaint here, which is so ridiculous is just shows that the owners have clearly not bothered to actually take the time to spend a night in their own hotel - the television. Ours was mounted above the door, facing the window. It was very small, and was raised over 2 meters off the ground. As it faced the window, regardless of whether it was night or dark, this made it impossible to actually see! Just stupid. Pointless having a television if you can't see what is got on?

Save your money and spend a night somewhere nicer in Stockholm.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the corridor, so you are away from the worst of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessamy1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

It`s no joke when you read "2 star" on the sign outside. There is alot of room for improvement in many small ways, BUT the staff were always friendly, curtious, and helpful for our 4 nights. When I requested a blackout curtain so I could sleep better, they had one up and ready the next day. Traveling alone with 2 kids can be tough on anyone, but I could always get some late night snack or drink for them due to the friendly staff. The hotel is centrally located, but it is budget. If you get a room with a pullout couch for example, you`ll end up putting the madress on the floor for an even nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alenefar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Be prepared for a real budget hotel. The building is old, and so is the elevator (still working fine). The rooms are tiny (so tiny you will have some struggle to store the suitcases and still be able to walk on the room) , but clean and warm. The wi-fi was very stable in my room. There´s no telephone on the room (which means no wake-up call if you need it), but there´s a clock radio with alarm which was good for that purpose. I liked the bed, very confortable and no bedbugs at all.
I liked the breakfast, although limited it´s tasty and with a great coffee/chocolate machine! :)
Also dont expect smiling faces from the staff.

The private bathroom is very small, but would suffice if the shower worked well, but that didnt happen. Every night the water after some time would become freezing. We complained with the desk clerk but he couldnt do anything. So everyday the shower would have to be very quick, otherwise we had to take a ice-cold bath, which really, really doesnt feel fine in a 5 C Stockholm.

The location is superb, in a nice neighborhood and in walking distance from the central station.

In a nutshell, the hotel is still a good value in the super-expensive Stockholm, but bear in mind you are checkin in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cre3pyTie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed two nights there in April and both me and my wife got Bedbug bites all over our bodies. I live in New York where you here about bedbugs all the time and I've never been bitten by them until we stayed at Colonial Hotel. My wife got a bad allergic reaction from them and it was a nightmare and ruined much of our vacation. She's still suffering from the bites even though it's been two weeks.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What you can expect in Stockholm for 125€
Which means, not much more than a old building, hostel style, old, crappy.

Let's keep it simple and just point out thr pro and cons here:
Con:
- Ancient eleveator, whitout automatic doors. Thus expect to walk up/down the stairs as people forget to close the doors, and then it doesn't run.
- Rooms are very noisy.
- Breakfast is very basic. Just some toast/coldcuts/cereals, and with a bit a luck some tomato/cucumber.
- very instably WiFi.
- maid forgot to replace towels. (but took away the old ones)

Pro:
- close to mainstation, less than 5 minutes walking.
- comparably cheap, for Stockholm.
- at least the rooms have windows.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirTravelaLot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#123 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Bema
Hotel Bema
#96 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
August Strindberg Hotell
August Strindberg Hotell
#140 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Norrmalm
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Crystal Plaza Hotel
#70 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#43 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Property: Colonial Hotel
Address: 13 Vaestmannagatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Hotel is located in the city center of Stockholm with easy access to old town, central station, restaurants and sights of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing