We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT exactly Stockholm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Capital Hotel
Ranked #102 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NOT exactly Stockholm!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 2007 for a week. It was ok, but the travel agency said it was in Stockholm, yet it is miles away! You have to get a train which is very fast and very good, but none the less it is miles away in an industrial estate/park!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    77
    85
    32
    14
See reviews for
29
70
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is 3 star so no frills.. Unattractive from outside and in an industrial estate but with nearby access (a short walk) to train or tram journey to Stockholm city centre...the staff are VERY helpful, the rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was what you would expect in a three star hotel. Free wifi throughout the hotel was a bonus....we paid about £70 per night compared with a Best Western in city centre which is at least £200 per night. We left the hotel in morning, and came back at night to sleep. Absolutely no complaints.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed for two nights, came by car.

Parking space is directly in front of the hotel, and if you're lucky, you can catch a slot for your car. If not, this may happen: on the second night I came in, I had to take the car to the street above the hotel to a parking lot between Best Western and the Brunnby Hotel, as I was told to do so by the Best Western hotel staff. Upon getting there, the Brunnby Hotel owner came to tell I couldn't park there, so I took the car back down and went to talk with my hotel staff. Again they told me it was okay to park there, and that there had been quarrels between the Brunnby and Best Western management over each others' guests staying at both parking places. I didn't feel safe, leaving the car there but I had no choice. Luckily the car was intact and in place when I returned in the morning..

The hotel staff were friendly and professional, nothing bad to say about that. It seems the hotel had been renovated in 2010, but as its condition could be considered just "average", I can't imagine what condition it might have been previously. The room I got (from the northern end of the building) was clean and basic with TV, basic bathroom and two single beds, so the living and sleeping conditions were okay. But as it happens, the hotel is in the middle of an industrial district, there's quite a lot of noise emanating from the nearby highway, nearby factories (and their trucks) and a road construction site just next to the hotel. Had I not been so dead tired, I would have probably minded all the noise.. thankfully I was!

Breakfast was the ordinary continental fare with yogurt, cereal, toast, sausage and meatballs and scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs etc, a bit on the below-average side to be honest, but at least something to eat.

The location of the hotel was easy enough to get to and from, and was pretty centrally situated (in Årsta) in regard to the places I had to visit for business.

It's an okay hotel if all you need is bed and breakfast and getting some sleep, but not really a place that makes you want to go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

stayed here for a weekend in october, rooms were clean and staff very nice, we got a good deal as stockholm can be very expensive, good hotel if you don,t mind the trip into the city, it takes about 15 mins but no complaints about the hotel, we liked it

Room Tip: 4th floor was grand and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkavanagh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I booked two nights to stay in this hotel for a mini-break to see friends. The hotel is only accessible via walking from the station or a 350SEK taxi. The hotel needs maintenance, cleaning and generally demolishing. The rooms are cold and dirty and student accommodation is better than this! I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

I recommend that you would better choose the other one than Best Western Hotel. I think that the Best Western Capital Hotel is poor quality in basic service, compared to the other three star hotel. I had been in the Stockholm for 10 days, because of world congress meeting and sightseeing. Previously, I had visited Rome for world congress and been in Re di Roma hotel, three star hotel. The staff of the hotel is very kind and the room is very clean. Also, the equipments of the room such as soap, shampoo, etc are perfect. When compared to that, the Best Western Capital Hotel is not clean and the equipments are not enough to stay. Above all, house keeping service is very poor quality. Although the cleaner had cleaned the room, the room, especially, bed, floor and bath room were too dirty.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iam30yearsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel has very poor quality even in basic service. It was the worst hotel among those I had been in Europe.
You can stay if you want to clean the room by yourself.

The room was so dirty. I had 9 days in this hotel(because I already pre-paid in Internet, So I couldn't change my hotel). Everyday, Too many hairs was on the floor and on the bed! They didn't clean the bathroom! What the worse was the sludge was remain on the seet, when I came back to my room. First day, I had to clean the room for myself, second day I direct tell the waitress, third day, I had to change my room because It was not cleaned.

Second, the tragffic was so terrible. 20 minuite was needed by walk to the pendeltag station, the road was very uncomfortable. Bus stop was near the hotel, but waiting time was 20 miniutes. So time to central station or to any tour spot was need about one hour.

Third, the breakfast was not good. Same food was served in everyday and I had to clean the table by myself. But I had no expectation for food, so It was acceptable.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laura's-breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Scandic Prince Philip
#1 of 1 in Skarholmen
270 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#114 of 154 in Stockholm
155 reviews
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ApartHotel Attache
#101 of 154 in Stockholm
122 reviews
2Home Stockholm South
#136 of 154 in Stockholm
180 reviews
Ostermalm
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
#107 of 154 in Stockholm
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capital Hotel

Property: Best Western Capital Hotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 6, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Capital Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Capital hotel is a 3 star hotel and is well situated during your Stockholm visit. This friendly family owned hotel is conveniently located near Stockholm International Fairs, Stockholm Globe Arena and Stockholm City. Our 124 newly renovated standard rooms include wireless Internet. The Hotels own restaurant and bar provide guests with the opportunity to relax after a hard day's conferencing or sightseeing. We also have a rooftop sauna where you can relax and enjoy the wonderful views over parts of Stockholm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing