We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but some drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic No. 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic No. 53
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but some drawbacks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is located centrally in Stockholm within walking distance of most sights and museums.
It is newly opened which means it is generally clean and in good shape.

The good stuff:
Free wifi
Friendly staff
Clean rooms in good shape
Nice TV with a good selection of different tv channels free of charge

Drawbacks:

The breakfast is not a buffe, instead you get to pick four items from their "menu" which includes sandwiches, yoghurt, a smoothie, fruit salad, coffee, tea, juice. The different menu items taste good and there is nothing wrong with them per se, but having to choose from a limited menu isn't appealing when you compare it to traditional breakfast buffes at traditional hotels. There are also no cooked items like omelettes, eggs or bacon on the menu if you would like a little hearthier breakfast.

The volume of the music in the bar is way too loud at night, hard to have a conversation without screaming.

When you order a beer from the tap, you only get a small 33 cl glass, but it costs the same as a 50 cl beer would cost at another hotel.

Walls are thin in the rooms, you can easily hear when there is something going on in the corridor outside the room or sometimes what people are doing in adjacent rooms. You can also hear the music from the bar to your room (at least if it's facing the courtyard, don't know about other rooms). Our room was on the 4th floor and we found it very annoying. Bring ear buds if you have any trouble sleeping in a noisy environment.

Room Tip: Top floor is probably the best since it is the furthest from the bar at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack snälla för din feedback.

Jag ber om ursäkt för att vi inte lyckades förmedla vårt frukostkoncept till er när ni gjorde er bokning.

Jag hoppas att vi ses igen. Varmt välkomna tillbaka.


/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    557
    182
    64
    30
See reviews for
112
600
112
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a great stay here at HTL, Staff are super friendly and cool. Was good getting to know sebastian and simon on the bar. Breakfast was good. The downsides we did experience while we were there is that our tv in our room didnt work. I let someone know about it and nothing happened until i asked someone else and they instantly had a look, couldnt fix it and put us in another room and we didnt have a window in our room (the cheapest room), not a huge problem but a window would have been nice! Also Stockholm is a very expensive city!.. But i loved it and definitely want to go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Kevin G

Thank you for your kind review and your patience since you stayed with us just after the opening. The TVs should now be working and you can also find a inspiring city guide on the TV as well as food and drink menu.

We hope to see you with us soon again.

Take care,
The team@HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I should very clearly point out that this review is for a business trip. I basically liked the hotel a lot, the design is very nice and modern, the rooms are spacious and well enough equipped (you simply don't find wardrobes in many hotel rooms these days anymore) and has a great vibe about it.

The restaurant/lounge is a bit short of options when it comes to food, but is brilliant for a drink or two. The bed is comfortable too and everything is really new and inviting.

There are two major drawbacks, however. The wifi connection in the room was awful, which made it extremely hard for me to work while there.

The main reason for the 2-star rating, however, is that - when you have a room facing the outdoors lounge (which is really nice to sit and relax in, by the way), you won't get much sleep before 1-2am, because of the loud music and, on busy days, the noise caused by guests in the lounge. That is a drawback that heavily overshadows the quite positive impression I have of the hotel. I would go back there for leisure, but never again on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi L0nTrav,

I apologize for my late reply to you.
I'm glad to hear that you liked our hotel. But I'm so sorry for the Wifi connection and that you got a room with windows against our outdoor patio, when we had an event on the outdoor patio.
The Wifi is working very good now. If you would like to come back to us when you are on a business trip just contact us and we will do everything we can to give you a room with another view.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to se you a again.


Many thanks.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First things first; in fairness, I booked this through a booking site and not through the hotel's own site. I believe that the 'concept' is explained on the site, but it wasn't on the booking site. Had I known, I wouldn't have booked it. Either way, I won't be returning.

Check in is self service. Unfortunately, this is in no way obvious so my colleague and I spent a few minutes wandering around the ground floor looking for reception. We eventually figured out that the girl in jeans and a shirt was a staff member and she was able to direct us to the check in desks. We had a slight issue with how the booking info was displayed, but got around that.

There is almost no furniture in the room, which means that there isn't a desk, or somewhere to put your suitcase. Neither is there a wardrobe with hangers, or shelves. Or a phone. Not that you could call reception anyway, of course. There is a lot of space downstairs to for working, and all of the tables have power sockets. I don't concentrate well in such environments, so that was a bit of a write-off.

My booking hadn't included breakfast, so when we came downstairs for breakfast we were told that we had to pay first. We went to organise this at the floating reception area (the aforementioned girl in jeans) and found out that we couldn't charge it to either of our rooms. Breakfast itself was a choice of items, to a max of four (I think), with additional extras being an extra charge. I wasn't overly impressed with the selection on offer, nor with the cost of the extras.

Won't be returning, for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paultheotherbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Paultheotherbiker,

First of all I would like to apologize for my late reply to you. I'm so sorry that we didn't succeed to communicate our koncept to you when you made your reservation.
Thank you so much for your feedback.

Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I'd recommend a stay at this excellent & comfortable brand new hotel in central Stockholm, with a couple of minor caveats.

The hotel is well placed to walk around central Stockholm, and is right by the Hotorget fresh food market. The staff are all very helpful and run a great bar, cafe lobby area for relaxing. There's a small but good selection of dishes for a meal.

Rooms are super comfortable and exceptionally well thought out given the space. There are plenty of plugs, spots to hang clothes and room to leave things out in the bathroom.

So the minor warnings. The hotel is brand new, so while it's ready for guests, everything is not completely finished, there are just as many tradespeople as there are guests at present. The breakfast offers some variety, but is slightly more expensive if not booked in advance (20 Crowns extra), and the breakfast sandwiches weren't to my personal liking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi SAust

Thank you for your great review and valuable comments. Thank you also for your patience since you stayed with us during the first days after the opening.

We have a breakfast concept based on pick 4 items to make your favorite breakfast for the great price of 75 SEK/When booking a room or 95 SEK if purchased at the hotel.
We want to offer our guests the possibility to choose their favorites rather than pay a large amount of money elsewhere in the city or for a big buffé.

Welcome back the next time you're in Stockholm.

Take care,
The Team @ HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molndal, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

HTL had been open one and a half week when I stayed there. First impressions are very good. It is positioned as a “classy” no-frills hotel. It is in the upper end of the lower price range in Stockholm and provides value for money on the lower priced days. In the middle of town and walking distance to the railway station.
Check-in is self-service and there is no check-out. Plenty of helpful staff around in case of questions or problems.
I like the design approach to rooms, lobby, bar etc. Simple and somehow cool. Many design hotels are overloaded. The lounge/bar/restaurant is comfortable and quiet. I could sit there a long time and relax or work. Restaurants in hotels are usually overpriced and not particularly good but I was decided and decided to try. No regrets, the meal I had was exceptionally good. Swift and pleasant service.
Comfortable bed and room. I have tried other hotels in the lower price range and not slept well on hard mattresses.
Breakfast is an additional cost and is good value for the money. Tasty and well presented.
I will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Google Translation
Hej PaulHolm,

Så underbara kommentarer. Stort tack.

Vi är så glada att du uppskattar vårt hotellkoncept med fokus på kvalitet, bästa cityläge och riktigt bra pris.

Varmt välkommen tillbaka.

Allt gott,
Teamet på HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I was coming to Stockholm for business on a nonprofit budget (small) and HTL perfectly met all my needs. I needed a simple, clean, efficient yet friendly hotel with wifi and lots of outlets to plug all my gadgets in, and in a central, easily accessible location -- and that is exactly what I got. And breakfast included! I would stay here again in a heartbeat. And don't be off by the excruciatingly young staff - they know what they are doing (and offer good T directions as well as resto recommendations -
Kungshallen down the street is relatively affordable and very good). Nothing negative to say.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi MMMgo2011,

Wonderful review! Many thanks.

We are glad you enjoyed and appreciated our new hotel concept.

We hope to see you soon again.

Welcome back.

Take care,
The Team @ HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#26 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#56 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#37 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#27 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 53

Property: Scandic No. 53
Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic No. 53 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic No. 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing