We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic No. 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic No. 53
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

In Stockholm for Rolling Stones concert and stayed here for the night. Easy to find from the station and/or a short walk to the airport bus stop. Short walk to everything shops, sights and public transport. New and modern hotel, plenty of helpful staff on reception to help with check in. Nice room and spotlessly clean. Breakfast works well and you get enough from the 4 items. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    557
    182
    64
    30
See reviews for
112
600
112
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I spent 4nights there while attending a conference and the staff was very friendly and helpful, the room clean, a bit small but everything You need is there
Would definitely come again if in Stockholm

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

HTL hotel has a great positioning.
If you stay at HTL you don't really need to use public transportation to get to places. Everything is near and you can easily reach anything by foot. The rooms are tinny, the hotel is still adjusting, some works are undergoing but other then that, the place is pleasant to stay.
The rooms are smart. Checking in is a really easy, even if it's self check in. Took me about 2 minutes.
Breakfast is alright but boring after a few days: portioned sandwiches, croissant, yogurt, fruit and juice. You receive 4 items for free.
The food at the restaurant is tasty too and the personnel is really friendly. I especially liked Andrew and Simon who were awfully nice and attended to my every need.
I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smaranda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is near everything. You can walk to many of the sights at Stockholm and if you prefer Tunnelbana, there are two stations nearby. Didn't try out the food but the bar served our needs well. The window was towards the other room window so it was a bit like aquarium but that didn't bother. Definetly our next choice for hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arttu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was staying there with my sister for one night. We didn't have much time in Stockholm, we were only there for Pearl Jam gig in Friends Arena. So we knew that we are not going to spend a lot of time in hotel and wanted to choose the best possible for as cheap as possible and near the central station. We choose one of the budget rooms with no window but with own toilet and shower. The location was very good, it was from walking distance from Central Station and Hötårgets metro stop. Also there were a lots of shopping possibilities near.
They do not have reception, check-in is made with the machine, but there is a restaurant at the lobby, so you can always ask from the staff, if anything is unclear. For us the automatic check-in worked perfectly and quickly. The room was small, but polished and it was worth of the money paid. I wouldn't mind use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vivera073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Vivera073,

Thank you for your review.

I hope to see you again on your next visit to Stockholm.
Welcome back.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Very centrally located and very good impression of modern styling. I liked the concept of a self service check-in, help from friendly staff was always at hand. Breakfast leaves much to be desired especially when a member staff acts as a watch dog as to how many items are included in the b/b basis (strictly 4 items) as we are instructed on arrival in the breakfast room. I was particularly amused at the hotel guest facial expressions when breakfast 'instructions' were given. Perfect for those who are on a diet or may be considering to start one! The room was small but clean (no wardrobes).
I cannot recommend this hotel for persons who intend to seek rest and some comfort and definitely not for the elderly. This will be a unique 1 time experience for us.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Lawrence,

Thank you for your review. I would also like to thank you for your feedback.


Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room is very small but have everything you need for a day or two stay in an expensive city like Stockholm. Hotel is close to Central Station and shopping place, at least 15 minute walk to the Royal Palace. The hotel had a very nice atmosphere inside with a bar,restaurant and an area to chill out. Very modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Dolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#26 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#56 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#37 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#27 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 53

Property: Scandic No. 53
Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic No. 53 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic No. 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing