We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great value”
Review of Scandic No. 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic No. 53
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location, great value”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

HTL is the younger cheaper chain of hotels to the Scandic chain. I was really impressed with the cleanliness, streamline design, and amenities. Located near the bus and train station, it's very easy to take the arlanda express to go to arlanda airport, or jump from the express bus from the cruise terminals. It's also right on Kungsgatan, one of the main streets running through stockholm, and located near the T-bana, making it easy to travel to the other boroughs. Highly recommend this while the prices are low--great value for the city!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi chicagotn,

Many thanks for the great review of HTL Kungsgatan. We are happy that you found the central location satisfying and we hope to see you soon again at HTL!

Have a nice summer
the team @HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    610
    198
    71
    32
See reviews for
128
651
123
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

After reading some comentaries I was really worry about what kind of hotel I had chosen for several nights.

My husband and I spent 5 nights for holidays on july and I find htl is very good value for your money.

Chek in was easy a staff member helped us. I was worry because of a previous misunderstand about login code.

I find Positive:

Great location near central station, bus station and touristic highlights.

We did not need metro bus or tram just boat to go to Archipelago. Hotel is in comercial area plenty of shops cafés and restaurants.

Our room was small, we saw bigger rooms while cleanning, but if you organize yourself you find room enough: you can put your suitcase under the bed. There is also a drawer, rack and hangers As htl advertising says is a smart room with no furniture but very technological.
And you don't need unpackage your luggage

Quiet room, very confortable bed duvet and pillow. We had very good rest despite there was some noise from people working outside.

Powerfull shower, cleanness.
A tastefull healthy breakfast, very good coffee sandwiches orange juice yogurth that you can enjoy . into the lounge or outside in warm days.

A kind young staff friendly and helpful

Negative:
I think rooms would be smarter with a little bit storage room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleperp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at HTL. Nice to hear that you liked the breakfast concept! We hope to see you soon again at HTL!

All the best,
the team @HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very centrally located and entrance and lounge area are beautifully designed. The room was small, but that didn't bother us as we were there to see Stockholm. It was quiet and the shower and bed was clean and comfortable. The only downside, as so many people mention, are the breakfast rules. I say 'rules', because that's what makes you feel like you're in a high school cantina, not a trendy hotel. I wouldn't mind some restrictions, if they would at least not count a cup of coffee or tea as one of the four items you can pick. How much would it really cost to make that freely available until 11 pm? Not that they notice if you do refill your tea cup with coffee... Other than that, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three days. It is a very friendly hotel with fairly small rooms, something we are not used to but everything we needed was there. The staff is very caring and helpful. The food at the hotel is fantastic! Gratitude to simon who served us one of the nights, he was incredibly funny and made us feel welcome. The hotel has no real reception, you check in yourself on one of the ipads at the check-in station. This might sound hard but there are always staff available to help you. During our stay we felt like we had a private travel consultant in one of the staff members Melina. She gave great recommendations for restaurants, sightseeing, and boat trips to the archipelago. One day we went out to the island Birka, and we got to experience how the Vikings use to live. To experience Stockholm, you make a good choice by starting at HTL.
A particularly funny moment during our trip was when Melina tried to help some Italians who couldn't speak English, and eventually used google translate to help them. Ingenuity among the staff is amazing. Prepare yourself to laugh if you stay at HTL.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Peter,

Wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay at HTL, we are very pleased. Thank you very much for an outstanding review. We hope you enjoyed STockholm and that you will be back. Always feel welcome at HTL.

All the best,
the team @HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the HTL Kungsgatan and enjoyed our stay. This in not your traditional hotel with a front desk, concierge, mini bar etc. So if you are looking for that then this hotel will not be for you. The rooms are smaller but very smartly designed. The location is simply fantastic - VERY centrally located and within walking distance to the train station, various tourist attractions, shopping districts, restaurants and more. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast we found perfect. The lounge area was welcoming and great place to relax after a day of sightseeing and shopping.

The only one down side of the hotel we experienced (which is completely a personal opinion) is to request a room that does not face the courtyard if you aren't fond of smoke smell. We like to have the windows open for some fresh air but we kept the windows closed when there were smokers in the courtyard. It didn't bother us too much but if you prefer a quieter room, then to also request a room not facing the courtyard as they have music playing in the evenings.

We often rent an apartment while we are in Stockholm as we have typically stayed for a longer period of time but this was a short visit for us and stayed in a hotel. I am so glad we discovered this gem and would recommend this to those who are looking for a great hotel at a great value in a great location!

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the courtyard if you would like a quieter and smoke free environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr2010-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the great recommendation! So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at HTL Kungsgatan. Hope you had a relaxing vacation in Stockholm. We sure hope to see you again!

the team @HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is in a good location very near to the central station and also its has different bars and restaurants near. Behind the main entrance their is a big boulevard that takes you to the old part of the city where you can find all type of stores. The hotel is very modern and technological, rooms are small but very clean and also they give a good service. Simon and Felicia are workers of the hotel and they were very kind with us during the 4 days we stay in Sweden and they are awesome people, we are thankful for their attention. We think is a great choice for young people and also they have good prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinaps .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much! We're very happy that you had a pleasant time at HTL and that you liked all the smart features that we have put much thougt into. We hope to see you at HTL again another time!

All the best,
HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was brilliant! We spent 4 nights there, and I have no complaints. If we had any questions or problems the staff was very helpful and nice.
People complaining about the breakfast obviously just want the old fashioned buffet. HTL serves a perfect sized breakfast where you choose 4 items out of the possible 7. Everything is fresh and delicious.
The rooms are quite small, but very well designed. And I don't know about others, but we didn't go to Stockholm to just sit in a hotel room! ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyytti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTLKungsgatan, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Nyytti!

Many thanks for the great review! We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm and HTL Kungsgatan. We hope to see you again on yor next visit to Stockholm.

The team @HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
426 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,217 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#61 of 154 in Stockholm
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,980 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
361 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 53

Property: Scandic No. 53
Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic No. 53 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic No. 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing