We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for price”
Review of Scandic No. 53

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic No. 53
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality for price”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms and bathrooms are small, but clean, good use of space, aesthetically pleasing. Convenient wall plugs in the nightstands. Good location also-close to a few different train stations, walking distance to most places. Good lounge space and breakfast was decent. Only down side to the breakfast is that it is limited to 4 items. Staff was very helpful with recommendations and directions, accommodations-especially Simon. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glo152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    634
    205
    73
    32
See reviews for
138
678
129
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay here in August. As we had limited time to explore the city we wanted a hotel close to Arlanda express stop and the city centre. This hotel met our needs perfectly as each was a 5 minute walk away. Clean hotel, room was of a good size and free wifi. Breakfast was adequate. Self check-in and check-out was easy. Would highly recommend as value for money stay in Stockholm.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsPimmsy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Smallish room with everything you need. Very clean, breakfast was not my cup of tea choose four items from the table which included sandwhiches, pastries, yoghurt, fruit or drink. Was expecting buffet.

Location was fantastic well within walking distance of main attractions and restaurants. Hop on hop off bus picked up in the street. Approximately 500m walk from central station. Easy to access airport via arlanda express train at 280kr for 2 adults

Overall a good stay and would recommend/stay again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights while in Stockholm. It was the perfect hotel. The location is right off Drottninggaten- the main shopping street in Stockholm. Beyond Vintage and il cafe are on this street and just five minutes away. There is also a cinema that is close by.

The one factor that I am always looking for in a hotel is cleanliness. This place was spotless. The room was pretty small, fitting a queen size bed, but that was just about all we needed.

Even though things are compact, the shower is huge compared to some other hotels I've been in. Water pressure is good. There is shampoo, shower gel, and hand soap in the room. A pretty decent hair dryer is also provided.

There is a tv in the room with something very similar to chrome cast set up. We had the Netflix app on one of our phones and watched a movie from that one of the nights. The quality was excellent, it felt like we were watching off of HBO. There is also basic cable, with channels in Swedish and in English.

The bar was very nice, with friendly and helpful bartenders. The bar food was truly tasty- must try the chicken spring rolls!

The last thing worth mentioning about HTL is the front desk. When you check in, it is through a computer and you can do it yourself. So if you do not like human interaction or are perfectly capable of carrying out this small task alone, you can go ahead and do that. However, if the employee on duty sees that you are having some confusion, they are there instantly to help. Maybe we were really lucky, but all of the employees that were working that week were just amazing. They provided great advice about the area and where to go. And they recognize you every time you walk in and go out and greet you with a smile.

I highly recommend staying at HTL while in Stockholm. It is clean, cool, and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have stayed in lots of hotels in Stockholm and this was one of the best. Nicely designed, late check out and clean, cool and contemporary feel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and this was really appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great concept for city trips. Small rooms but modern and clean and Wifi. New idea for breakfast. The bar is always a place to meet. Direct located to the city centre, most attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stranger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked because hotel is brand new, stayed twice 2 nights within 5 weeks of each other. First time we had a nice reasonable size room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard, it was drizzly so not many people in the bar which made it nice and quiet. Second time we got a tiny room with a very low ceiling on the 3rd floor, this room was also quiet but would have been better as a sgl room. And what about that blue light, it is sooooooooooooooo bright.... Breakfast was limited but very good and fresh. Staff are great, all smiling and friendly. Over all the hotel was very very clean and of course the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards Kungsgatan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMK2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
454 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,041 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
374 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#62 of 154 in Stockholm
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 53

Property: Scandic No. 53
Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic No. 53 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic No. 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing