We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel L

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel L
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A hostel-like atmosphere, but the rooms were plenty sizeable, with very nice showers. The lobby is huge, with a nice bar area and free wireless. Locationwise, it's a 10-minute walk to the nearest metro, though the bus/tram stops right out front (we didn't partake). As with seemingly every European hotel we've stayed out, there was a lot of door slamming in the morning, and the lack of internet in the rooms was a drag. But, all in all, a good, affordable home base for exploring Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    606
    87
    26
    10
See reviews for
511
680
91
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Great place for a short trip. Clean, new, great shower, & pleasant staff. Had a comfortable sleep. No complaints. Skipped the breakfast went to eat downtown. New bar/restaurant is being finished. Supermarket/pharmacy next door. Bus/tram in front of hotel. Couple of restaurants walking distance and train station about 15min walk. Quickest check in under 2 min. Finally great price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Zibroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Don't let the word 'motel' but you off staying here. Motel L is a super hotel. It looks great from the moment you walk in. Well designed and easy on the eye. The rooms were superb and our two children loved the pull out bunk beds. The beds are to die for comfy and the bathroom is beautifully decorated. My only complaint was that I had a shower in the afternoon and the water was only lukewarm. The breakfast was adequate and well presented.

The hotel is located in a residential area in Hammerby. It's a beautiful area and well worth working down the waterfront and investigating. There's plenty of great restaurants within walking distance (Italian, Sushi, Thai, Steak house and Swedish). There's also a pharmacy and supermarket next door. You can reach the rest of Stockholm via the tram service which runs from outside the hotel, so don't let the location put you off.

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends (with or without kids) who were looking for a well priced and clean hotel from which to visit Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

New hotel, comfortable very clean. Did not have breakfast there. Good location, supermarket next door perfect for break. Easy to get to centre and old time. I went for business.
Downside: Need for staff on front desk always waiting ages to be seen to. Also because of lack of staff the bar sometimes was closed in the evening at 9pm....NOT good if you return and just want a glass of wine. Reception staff could be friendlier house keepers - wonderful and friendly. Bed=soooo comfortable guaranteed a good night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starzbubbles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
498 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thank you TripAdvisor. Motel L is a brand new, design hotel located in Hammarby, Stockholm. The decor and concept behind Motel L isn't something you see in your traditional hotel. It's fantastic. The rooms are not huge but bigger than most Scandinavian hotels and there is nothing like having a "rain" shower standing on a heated floor. Breakfast is a good, sleep excellent, wifi free and doesn't drop out and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The light rail is outside the door, a supermarket next door and we had a couple of great meals in the area.

What you need to know. Hammarby is one of those inner city areas that has been redeveloped from its early industrial, waterfront past. If Stockholm had been successful in its bid for the 2004 Olympic Games, this would have been the location of the athletes' village. The area is well planned, beautifully landscaped and populated by locals. This does not detract from the area. It is easy to get to the main sights via the light rail (one stop), then train (4 or 5 stops). Above all, it is quiet at night and you feel you are part of the local community, rather than sharing the space with other tourists.

Would I recommend Motel L? Highly. Would I stay here again? Yes indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went to Stockholm for a conference in May and I got a bit stressed because more than 65% of the downtown hotels were already booked. That made the price go up for most places with good location. Fortunately I found Motel L, which opened just a few days before. Although it's located 4-5km south of central station, its cleanliness and design greatly compensate. The room has an excellent private bathroom with a rain shower and mirrors positioned for creating an infinite illusion. The only drawback was that the room window could not be opened. There are a few places to eat nearby including a supermarket and a pharmacy just a few meters away from the hotel's entrance. There's also transportation to go basically anywhere.
Overall I think it was a very good deal. I would have gotten a much smaller room in an overcrowded hotel with common bathroom downtown for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank remusmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Motel L opened in may this year so it's a new hotel. That was my main concern when we decided to book it for a weekend, In fact when we arrived, they had had a crash in the system so they lost my booking. Fortunately, they solved it easily and quickly.
Everything else was very good. The room was functional and specially confortable. It's not really big but spacious enough. The beds are very confortable, and there is a big TV in the room. The really surprising thing is the price as it cost not much more than a youth hostel, but obviously the quality is much better.
They have tried to do something different, trying to emphasize the design, which gives Motel L even more personality. The hall is suprisingly big and quite nice.
The location is not very central, but it's very easy to access it by public transport. Also, there is a big ICA supermarket next to the hotel which is very convenient.
As it's a new hotel, I really hope they will keep the standards and prices as I travel quite frequently to Stockholm and Motel L has just became my number 1 option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMAV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#51 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#25 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 157 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#55 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel L

Property: Motel L
Address: Hammarby Alle 41, Stockholm 120 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel L 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel L reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing