We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this trendy place!”
Review of Motel L

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Motel L
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
306 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Love this trendy place!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Motel L was our choice of places to stay for our short, 24 hour visit to Stockholm. Traveling from Estonia back to the U.S., we purposely chose the long layover just to see a bit of Sweden. We were only disappointed by the fact we didn't have FIVE days. Amazing place.

Motel L was highly recommended by TA and we went with that recommendation. Once again, Trip Advisor family did not fail us! This is a great place for the young and old. It is definitely modern, as you can see upon entry. Bright colors, the longest check-in desk I have ever seen, a ton of seating in the friendly lobby. Breakfast area is right nearby, although it is to be purchased separately. Since we were leaving to catch our flight before 7 we did not partake of breakfast but from what I could see, it did look very nice.

Our rooms were tiny...I have stayed in very few in Europe that are not. But it was put together well. The bathroom is bright with a unique painting on the wall of the shower (see my pictures!) and a wonderful rainfall shower head. Body and shampoo wash are also on the wall in a dispenser if you like to use their products. I had my own.

The beds are the traditional two twins put together as in most European hotels but this one was at least comfortable! Yay for a comfy and CLEAN bed! Our view was not that great as there was construction going on outside but we could see a bit of Gamla Stan from our window.

It is very convenient with a tram stop literally right out the front door which will take you to the train station or wherever you need to connect. The staff is VERY accommodating! They spent probably 15 minutes helping us figure out our morning route back to the airport, trying to save us some time. I saw them doing this when we came in with another guest.

Wifi was great, no problems. There is a nice little grocery store right on the same corner, convenient if you have forgotten or need anything.

We did have trouble figuring out our a/c. It does have it!! But we propped our window since it was late. It was stuffy in the a.m., we just couldn't get it to work and there wasn't time to call someone.

I would highly recommend it for cleanliness, NEW, service and a great place to lay your head after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor since we arrived early in the day. Not sure about everywhere else but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candacejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and fully appreciated our Budget Design Hotel concept!

I'll run up and help you with the A/C next time!

Annika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    631
    89
    26
    10
See reviews for
528
705
94
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
362 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for five days. Our stay was overall good. The hotel seems brand new, the bed was comfortable, the place was clean, the bathroom space good and the location was away from the center but the bus and metro line combination made it quite easy to go everywhere in Stockholm. The area is safe and there is a great supermarket, and an excellent bakery one block away from the hotel. Nevertheless, there is some room for improvement. First, the rooms do not have a small fridge, so you could not take full advantage of the near supermarket. There is a problem with the internet, you have to log in everyday, but the starting page does not show up easily, you have to re-start your computer several times to get access again. I explained this to the personnel but they could not help me. (we had two laptops with the same issue). There is no phone in the room so you have to leave your room to talk to the frontdesk. Finally, the personnel does not seem to know Stockholm well, we had several "typical" inquires about the city but they did not know or gave us wrong information. Despite the shortcomings, we would stay again in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank You for Your Kind Words!

Part of our "Design Living at a Compact price", is that we have cut some costly details that we feel that guests more or less not use, but still traditionally have to pay for. Therefore no telephones in rooms as people are so attached to their Smart Phones anyway, no Tourist Information or Consierge at front desk, but Front Dsek helps with smaller recommendations, Self Service Taxi. Thats the way we try to give you a great stayover to best possible rate.

Our free WIFI had some issues the this week, but are back at High Speed again!

Kind regards

Annika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at motel L with the missus at the start of of August for a few nights. The hotel is nice and modern with huge lobby area. The rooms aren't huge but functional. Did have reservations about the beds being 2 twins bolted together but they were extremely comfortable. Wifi connection was very good. The motel is located next to the ICA supermarket apoteket (similar to a pharmacy) The nearest metro station is Gullmarsplan (10 min walk max) which is a main interchange with an SL travel office where you can purchase travelcards for the whole Stockholm transport system.

In terms of value for money you won't find better in Stockholm. You are located a little bit out of the centre but the metro only takes 10 mins to get you to the old town or Slussen.
When I'm back in Stockholm I will stay at motel L again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingomagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank You taking your time to write about us, we are looking forward to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good price/value ratio. Note that the breakfast is far from perfect but quite good for the money you pay (75 kronas at the time).
Trasnport to city is pretty good with tram/buses. Room for two was small but ok. Shower very nice. Construction going on all around the hotel but windows are noise cancelling. Nice lobby with free coffe/tea and WiFi. Free WiFi in the rooms is a bit slow and connectivity not great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us!
Hope to see you soon again!

Annika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Small but very comfortable, stylish and clean room with compelling price. Location is a little bit remote but hotel is still easy to access by public transport. Wi-Fi worked without problems in room and lobby. Nice and helpful staff. There is also bar and terrace in hotel. ICA Supermarket and pharmacy are located right next door which is brilliant. Try ICA salad buffet if you don't have breakfast.

Fixed taxi price was 590 SEK from Motel L to Arlanda airport. Taxi takes about 30 min when there is no traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tero A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Lovely to read that our Finnish neighbours enjoyed staying with us!

Next time I'll recommend you to take the boat to the city center. Just follow the water 10 minutes to the little dock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was a lot cheaper than even some youth hostels in the center! The hotel itself is about 10 mins from the gamla stan via bus and then t-bana which was all very easy to figure out.

The room was small and compact but was decorated and furnished to a high standard with some very funky wallpaper! The bathroom again was small but very modern, the rain shower was fantastic!

Few niggles about the room is that the pillows are very thin and when I asked for a second pillow I was told it's only one pillow per person, which was a bait strange as even budget hotels in uk will provide a second pillow is requested, obviously this didn't ruin our stay!

The lobby area is lovely and can get very busy with everyone meeting friends and using the wifi it reminded me a bit of a youth hostel atmosphere which we liked. As well as free wifi in the lobby u can get it in your room which is a great perk for the overall price.

Next door to the hotel is a supermarket where we bought out breakfast and drinks as it was a lot cheaper so we can't comment on hotel breakfast. The surrounding area is under development but still a lovey place, we took a walk along the river one night and ate at a Texas grill bar beside the water which we also recommend.

Would we stay here again 100%

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words!

OFCOURSE we should have provided you with a second pillow! I will bring this up with our staff. It is a thin line when sometimes our guests have requests like us carring luggage to the rooms or providing roomservice as these are the things we have taken away to be able to provide you with a very good price. But a second pillow should have been in you bed the seond night.

e-mail me before your next trip to us and I will personally bring it to you and provide you with complimentary breakfast.

Kind Regards

Annika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Getting there:
Take Arlanda express to central station. Transfer to metro line to gammalstan. Take the 22bus to Hammerbly. Super easy and cheaper than a taxi.

Pros:
Beautiful and modern hotel.
Beds were very comfortable and window shades blocked out the early morning sun.
Traveling in August was hot and the air conditioning helped a lot. Was not as cool as western hotels, but better than nothing!
Breakfast was good with soft boiled eggs, breads, yoghurt, meats, etc.
Staff very knowledgable.
Grocery store on same block.
Quiet rooms.

Cons:
Internet went in and out.
Area lacks much to do. Looks like it's being built currently.
Plan to take the metro or a taxi to any of the attractions. We didn't factor that in when we were booking and looking at prices.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika Ö, Hotelldirektör at Motel L, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for your positive and informative revue!
I just a little bit sad that we did not inform you of the beautiful "Dockland Area" that will greet you if you had walked 5 minutes ahead. Water, restaurants, boats to the city center and a very exceptional design. We a a bit in the newly built end, so it is so easily missed. Make sure that we point it out next time!

Annika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#58 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel L? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel L

Property: Motel L
Address: Hammarby Alle 41, Stockholm 120 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel L 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Motel L reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing