We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very minimalistic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Norrtull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very minimalistic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A decent hotel with friendly service and everything you'd expect from a 3 star hotel, including Wifi and a decent breakfast buffet. The location is not exactly central but easy to get to from the airport, the airport shuttle (Flygbuss) stops right outside. My only criticism would be that the hotel seems to be minimalistic even by Scandinavian standards. My room was small with high a high ceiling, featuring a small desk, a small TV and a small bed - after a few days I was beginning to feel slightly claustrophobic. The hallways were basically concrete corridors with the odd bit of decoration - some may like the postmodern minimalistic design, for me it had something of a post apocalyptic nuclear shelter. I did actually have a pleasant stay but nonetheless, I have decided to try another place for my next trip to Stockholm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    124
    134
    84
    37
See reviews for
91
108
14
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Very nice hotel, big room, very clean, good breakfast. Big and confortable beds. Probably I'll choose again Norrtull Hotel.
Bus station from Arlanda airport just in front of the hotel, very confortable ( ~ 35 minutes from airport to the hotel).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here a short night, but although small the room was nice and modern with big tv, and good and wide bed. Bathroom was clean and nice as well. Nothing extraordinary but good value at the 970 sek I paid

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambo_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel at the same week end as "Tjemilen" and it was very crowded in the breakfast room. But the breakfast was very good and a lot of different breakfast dishes to choose from.
The bed was a little too hard and too narrow for two people only 1,40 in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_norlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Situated in an old brick building on the Northern part of Stockholm City (30 min walk to city center), which offers good service and nice rooms for an affordable price. Elevator and corridors reminds you that this was not built for hosting people originally, but has a certain charm. Conveniently, the Airport bus to Arlanda stops right outside the enterence door. Just for information, the hotel has an indoor boule ground...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maffe_johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Avoid 5th floor rooms during summer - only one skyline window - unbearably hot in the room. No telephone in room - you can only contact Reception with own phone (if you have one). Turned out a hassle when the firealarm went off shortly one afternoon, by mistake as it turned out. Reception totally useless when we finally got through to ask about it. Bar and Restaurant closed (staff holiday???) - a real bad idea considering their outdoor setup with chairs and tables. You couldn't buy a beer or a glas of wine. Only softdrinks in cans from Reception. Housecleaning turned up at 4 pm - unacceptable. Internet only in Reception area, but this we knew.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mejnertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family spent six nights at the Norrtull and found it uncomfortable, impersonal, and inconvenient. The bed in our first room was so soft we put the mattress on the floor. The lamps didn't have bulbs requiring a trek from the 5th floor to reception because the rooms don't have telephones. We switched rooms only to find the 4th floor possessed of a rotten egg smell throughout the halls that continued to emanate from the drain in the shower for the duration of our visit. Rooms are also stuffy. The Nortull's distance from the city centre make this hotel inconvenient for the tourist. Bus and tube stops are a 10 minute walk away. The breakfast was very good but it's the only thing recommendable at this converted warehouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liapell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#41 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hansson
Hotel Hansson
#119 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#123 of 158 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Vasastan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Time Hotel
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#85 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Property: First Hotel Norrtull
Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing