We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #122 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fine for what I needed”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a group meeting nearby. Location is fine, the airport bus stop is very close, it's very close to the Karolinksa and there is a metro station within a few minutes walk. The building doesn't look like a hotel from the outside, reflecting it's previous use in the alcohol industry. Quite a few old pictures in the hotel, presumably of its' former use as well. Checking in was fine, very polite and fairly quick. Wifi worked fine and I didn't notice too much noise, maybe because I was up on the 5th floor. Bedroom was quite large with 2 (comfortable) double beds. Bathroom was fairly basic, but I don't need more than that anyway. Is tricky to find the rooms at first as some of the corridors are long and windy, but I feel it's a good use of an old building. Breakfast was buffet style and a wide range of things to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    125
    139
    86
    37
See reviews for
92
110
16
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

the hotel was nice but the only two bad things were the following: during the breakfast there were few croissants and the hotel wasn't near the central station .Anyway it was good and people were very polite


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is far away from city center but the airport bus stop is just beside the hotel. I needed to stay there because I had meeting near the hotel. The rooms are very simple. They are small. There was just a big TV screen, big bed and a small table in my room. No hair dryer, no telephone. And the noise! It seems like there were no walls at all! I couldn't get much sleep because of the noise from the street.
Breakfast was OK.
It looks like 4 starts hotel but it really is 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yxkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I chose this hotel because it's located in a part of Stockholm where I needed to spend most of the time. I hoped that the old building means that the hotel is quiet (thick walls) and stylish (there are old hotels in Stockholm which are very well renovated). But my hopes were completely misplaced. The old building, which looks cool from outside, is cheap and worn inside, renovation was probably done 30 years ago. The dark lobby area is badly planned and decorated (strange curtains, ugly pipes under the ceiling etc.) The room was relatively big for being a single room but with a tiny bathroom with a microscopic sink and a cheap half broken shower. Constant smell of sewerage came as a bonus. No fridge, no telephone in the room.
The sound isolation is a joke, I could hear my neighbor talking telephone (though he did it quietly) and going to the bathroom, so the rooms were probably made by splitting a bigger rooms in parts with thin walls.
The bad was strangely short for my moderate 6 feet. Lunch buffet they serve in the lobby and which I tried once was basically almost uneatable (excluding potatoes and supermarket quality ham).
The only positive thing about the hotel is it's personnel, which is friendly and tries to keep this hole clean at least, but personnel is generally good in Stockholm. The problem is obviously the owner, whose purpose is to make money on the property not investing a dime.
I'm not really a greedy person, but 3600 SEK ( 360 Euros) for three days felt like a cheat.
So, hereby I proudly announce that this was my first and last stay in a Fist hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stay-at-home-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed here with my girlfriend. We didn't really had much choice at the time of booking, but we still selected what we thought was best price performance. The hotel is ok, but not really nice place to stay. Rooms are clean, but not well organised. There are no closets for storing only some shelves. There's no phone in a room. Overall experience was ok, but not what one might expect for 177 EUR per night.

Room Tip: Unstable internet connection. Same breakfast each and every day. You can get hair drier at the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed in Norrtull Hotel with my family for a small holiday in Stockholm in August. The hotel is close to the tube which is very convenient and to nice places where to eat. However, the room was hardly furnished. Not even a wardrobe, only two hangers for shirts.
The bathroom had no surface where to put stuff on. The breakfast and the service are OK but found the cutlery often dirty. Anyway for the reasons mentioned I will probably not come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
764 reviews
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#86 of 154 in Stockholm
491 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#114 of 154 in Stockholm
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Property: First Hotel Norrtull
Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing