We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It disappoints, even with low expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #110 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had the misfortune (?) of being on a week end. Two nights on a row we were waken up at 1 am and 3 am by a bunch of guests shouting, singing and screaming in the corridor. Obviously they had not started to behave like hooligans in the room corridors and must have been spotted by the night staff. They did nothing despite our complaints. The complaint was not even been passed onto the manager on Monday – there was no one over the week end.
We got a discount after our complaint but I was not seeking one as a ‘solution’ The staff is friendly and helpful but you feel a bit automatic. Nobody seems to know much about tourist logistics other than pointing towards a rack with leaflets and occasionally ‘reading with you’ some instructions. The hotel is not in the centre and you need transport. Some reviews point to the fact that there is a bus stop for the airport and this is handy. It is indeed, but if you want more than a hotel with a bus stop , you may want to do a search for alternatives. The building is a converted warehouse and the conversion has been done in a clever way although it feels ‘unfinished’ and that at some point creativity has stopped. All is very minimal, including service. Management on the whole seems poor in dealing with these issues. It is a potentially interesting place, which has not reached maturity and disappoints. Prices are OK if you consider how horrendously expensive Stockholm is. Breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPlaces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Considering hotel prices in Stockholm excellent value for money. Clean and spacious rooms, bathroom and shower works well, great buffet breakfast with vast selection is included. If your are a light sleeper you might want to ask for a room towards the courtyard or the quieter street on the backside of the hotel. Nice lobby, bar and restaurant (they offer good and cheap lunch menues). Convenient location, airport bus stops right outside, short walk to metro and buses to town center and direct buses to other nice parts of town. The hotel is located in a very nice residential area with many good restaurants nearby. We were very satisfied with our stay and I would definitely comeback (hotel is also suited for single travellers).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Verena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a group meeting nearby. Location is fine, the airport bus stop is very close, it's very close to the Karolinksa and there is a metro station within a few minutes walk. The building doesn't look like a hotel from the outside, reflecting it's previous use in the alcohol industry. Quite a few old pictures in the hotel, presumably of its' former use as well. Checking in was fine, very polite and fairly quick. Wifi worked fine and I didn't notice too much noise, maybe because I was up on the 5th floor. Bedroom was quite large with 2 (comfortable) double beds. Bathroom was fairly basic, but I don't need more than that anyway. Is tricky to find the rooms at first as some of the corridors are long and windy, but I feel it's a good use of an old building. Breakfast was buffet style and a wide range of things to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

the hotel was nice but the only two bad things were the following: during the breakfast there were few croissants and the hotel wasn't near the central station .Anyway it was good and people were very polite


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is far away from city center but the airport bus stop is just beside the hotel. I needed to stay there because I had meeting near the hotel. The rooms are very simple. They are small. There was just a big TV screen, big bed and a small table in my room. No hair dryer, no telephone. And the noise! It seems like there were no walls at all! I couldn't get much sleep because of the noise from the street.
Breakfast was OK.
It looks like 4 starts hotel but it really is 2.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yxkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I chose this hotel because it's located in a part of Stockholm where I needed to spend most of the time. I hoped that the old building means that the hotel is quiet (thick walls) and stylish (there are old hotels in Stockholm which are very well renovated). But my hopes were completely misplaced. The old building, which looks cool from outside, is cheap and worn inside, renovation was probably done 30 years ago. The dark lobby area is badly planned and decorated (strange curtains, ugly pipes under the ceiling etc.) The room was relatively big for being a single room but with a tiny bathroom with a microscopic sink and a cheap half broken shower. Constant smell of sewerage came as a bonus. No fridge, no telephone in the room.
The sound isolation is a joke, I could hear my neighbor talking telephone (though he did it quietly) and going to the bathroom, so the rooms were probably made by splitting a bigger rooms in parts with thin walls.
The bad was strangely short for my moderate 6 feet. Lunch buffet they serve in the lobby and which I tried once was basically almost uneatable (excluding potatoes and supermarket quality ham).
The only positive thing about the hotel is it's personnel, which is friendly and tries to keep this hole clean at least, but personnel is generally good in Stockholm. The problem is obviously the owner, whose purpose is to make money on the property not investing a dime.
I'm not really a greedy person, but 3600 SEK ( 360 Euros) for three days felt like a cheat.
So, hereby I proudly announce that this was my first and last stay in a Fist hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stay-at-home-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed here with my girlfriend. We didn't really had much choice at the time of booking, but we still selected what we thought was best price performance. The hotel is ok, but not really nice place to stay. Rooms are clean, but not well organised. There are no closets for storing only some shelves. There's no phone in a room. Overall experience was ok, but not what one might expect for 177 EUR per night.

Room Tip: Unstable internet connection. Same breakfast each and every day. You can get hair drier at the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
882 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
592 reviews
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#101 of 154 in Stockholm
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#63 of 154 in Stockholm
678 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hansson
Hotel Hansson
#118 of 154 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £71 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing