We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor services, good breakfast and "cheap" room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 15 December 2010

A big hotel with cheap price and very excellent breakfast. But too many people, too many noise, poor cleanliness and very far from center and metro.
The hotel is near the very beautiful brunssviken lake but I think I'll not return there

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlavalenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2010

This hotel is at a good location if you need to visit Karolinska, but is quite far out of the centre. The building itself is quite interestingly shaped. The room I had was very big (but I heard that my colleagues had much smaller ones) with a rather basic but fine enough interior. The toilet and shower were in separate small 'closets' which was a bit impractical. Also, there wasn't really any place to put toiletries on other than on the table in the main room. My room happened to have a very high temperature (whereas my colleagues complained about the cold in their room). Staff was very nice and the breakfast was of good quality with a nice selection of the basic things you expect in a hotel. All in all, nothing to really complain about, although the price that my company paid for it (150 Euro/night) is really too high in my opinion (I wouldn't have paid it myself)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zesgeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel in June. I liked the spacious room with several lockers, and in the highest floor traffic noises didn't bother. Voices from the neighbour rooms can disturb. Breakfast was good and the lobby areas comfortable. Staff was very helpful. One morning I had to leave at 5:30 and they prepared breakfast to take into the room. Location was perfect for my needs, as I had to visit Karolinska university hospital, which is right on the other side of a highway, but to the centrum of Stockholm it is 30 min's walk. Nearby are lots of ethnical restaurants and some small markets to buy food, but there is no minibar in the room to store any food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frida30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The hotel is some distance from the tourist centre, and at least 10 minutes' walk to the nearest metro. Reception was ok, but not particularly welcoming.

The building originally was a wine warehouse: the aim in the public space is "industrial chic" but it just looks messy - exposed pipes, concrete floor, and wallpaper from old newspapers (which is also used as the website background - can't read anything as a result!).

My room was small, but comfortable enough. The biggest problem was the lack of a wardrobe - apparently not uncommon in Swedish hotels - plus limited drawer space: an issue for a anyone staying more than a night or 2. As mentioned before, there are no tea or coffee facilities in the room; also no phone. The bed was comfortable. There is an ironing room opposite Rm 217. Wifi is available in the lobby, but was accessible fairly well in some rooms too.

Other members of the group reported being happy with breakfast (which I never went to). We ate one night at the hotel, and the food was good, with excellent service. Bar staff were also amenable and friendly.

I would be reluctant to pay any more than 100 Euro/night for this - I understand that the company I travelled with paid more than three times that because of an international conference leading to a room shortage, which is another negative. Altogether, ok if you really have to stay here, but not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Good position to reach the center (using subway) also if the subway stop is not very close to the hotel.
Good position to arrive and to go to the Arlanda Airport (the bus stop is near the hotel).
Breakfast ok also if without brioches.

Room without a wardrobe and bathroom very small.
Our room was on the 4 floor and we heard the noise from the street (cars).
The bed was a problem : very small for two and with only one eiderdown (blanket) too tight ; the hotel should put a bigger bed and two eiderdowns or one bigger blanket.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Being more accustomed to Business calls hotels, I did find the Nottrull Hotels room comfortable and roomy and above all else warm, both in feeling and temprature.

But the negative aspects are - no telephone in the rooms. This could be a safety risk. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the bar charged 22 sek for a cup of tea which even in cheap motels this is provided in room, and is complimentary. On a more minor side a lack of TV channels for non Swedish speakers. BBC World News does get repetitive after a few hours but this is being picky now.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes, but with warnings on the lack of basic amenities. It is a nice place but needs the basics above.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

we, two adults and 2 infants (1 year 8 month and 3 month old), stay in hotel for 2 nihts in october of 2009. great location: few stops till central station with bus nr. 65. and it takes about 20 min. to get till vaasa musiem buss mast be changed to 47, to old town - 53. with baby cars buses is for free.
we stay in family room with 2 quiin size beds (nr. 517). room is clean and beds are seperated with wall. quite big bathroom, but very little sink and shower in one level of floor becouse of what paper changin is mission imposiible.
another one minus is noisy air conditionier.
brekfast with two hot meals, but quite big diversity of flakes, meats, bread... natural juice and good cofee.
big lift- two baby cars and few guests fits perfect.
poor menu in restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
685 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
873 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#74 of 155 in Stockholm
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#66 of 155 in Stockholm
670 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 155 in Stockholm
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £72 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing