We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, modern, cool hotel next to central station”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is very modern, but still has its own unique ambience. Each floor is decorated with designs from each nordic country. Each lift also had its own theme; disco, jazz and rock. There is a large bar/restaurant downstairs. We didn´t try it, but it seemed very popular and full of people on a Saturday evening. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, but we never got the chance to try it. The location is ok, it takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to the main shopping street. We had breakfast delivered to our room at a charge and it was amazing. Massive and with lots to choose from. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloKrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Sign
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

Booked this hotel last minute for a few days stay before my husband flew out for business. Was so handy as didn't even have to drop him off at the airport in the end as the Arlanda Express for 5 minutes down the road. Perfect location with young kids who don't tend to walk too far! We could walk everywhere! The rooms are big, which is a bonus with two young kids.
No coffee / tea facilities in the room which is unusual. I like to have a coffee before bed so was a bit disappointed. Also cot was not available when we got there so had to request, even though we requested during the booking process.
Breakfast very varied, amazing. Our kids loved the themed elevators!! What a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthTraveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel was just a 5-8 minutes walk from Arlanda Express Train Station. There was no need to take a taxi due to the close proximity.
The hotel should consider having a luggage ramp - it was difficult to carry all the luggage on the steps at the entrance to the hotel.
Check is was fast - the receptionist was informative.
We wanted to have dinner before retiring to bed as we had to wake up early the following morning. The restaurant was full & we were asked to wait for 30 - 40 minutes to get a table. This is not acceptable. Since we didn't want to waste time waiting we decided to have a snack at the bar.
Bar stools were not cleaned & my husband had to pick a few tissues from the bar to clean the stool. No one offered to clean it for us. It was quite evident that the hotel was busy.
The room had no tea / coffee facilities nor a mini bar
there was an ironing board which was stained & unsteady on the table making it difficult to use it. I ended up ironing on the bed.
Breakfast card information was quite confusing. I called the reception to have it clarified. The guy answering the telephone did not know what the breakfast card offered. Front line staff should be aware of services available at the hotel.
We were in Sweden for 1 night as my husband was conducting a training program. We had early breakfast as he had to leave the hotel by 8. I returned to the room deciding to take a few more hours of sleep before checking out of the room at 12. Around 9,15 am as I was falling asleep someone walked in to the room & immediately left with no apology. My sleep was disturbed & I was out of bed by 10 am. As soon as I finished shower again some one entered the room & heard my footsteps & slammed the door. I think it was the room attendant.
Upon check out I informed the Front Desk Agent that I was disturbed by someone twice by entering the room without knocking. He was extremely apologetic.
In general the FO staff were efficient & friendly.
Hotel is conveniently located to many shops & malls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitanjali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is located a few hundred meters from Stockholm Central Station. the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with various Scandinavian designers on different floors. The bar is very popular in the evening so it can be difficult to find a table. Good selection of beer and wine at the bar and it is served a really good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasKarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Impressive building, nice bar & lobby, full of designer furnitures! The room itself is very small with a bathroom inspired from the past. The wardrobe area is as big as the fridge.
Good, Well varied and quality breakfast.
Our main disappointment come from the misleading advertising on the swimming pool, gym and sauna. They are asking for a fee of £20 to enter the facilities.
Even if the pool is clearly advertised on the first page of the website, if you dig deep in their website, you will find the info.
For the both of us, we'll have to add £160 to our 4-night trip to enjoy the sauna. Knowing that we mainly choose to stay at the Clarion because of these, it is frustrating. We found the management cold and passive..
Otherwise, here, you get free internet :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FishAndPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of a 14 day tour of Scandinavia. The first stay went very well. The room was a good size (we had a third person on a cot in the room). The cot wasn't set up in advance, but was left outside the door with a note that it belonged to our room. Odd, but not insurmountable. The bathroom is poorly equipped with a wall dispenser for an all-in-one soap. No other toiletries are provided. The hotel doesn't offer facecloths, so bring your own. Be prepared for a glass door and window in the bathroom. Be sure to ask for a solid door if you need privacy. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast spread is excellent with lots of choices and good food overall. The omelette bar is a nice touch, although the omellettes are pre-made and therefore cold. Our second stay wasn't quite as smooth. The room was too small to accommodate the cot and would have required everyone to climb over the cot to get into the bathroom. The staff really didn't care, but eventually agreed to move us to a bigger room. The cot didn't arrive until 7 hours after our arrival. Disappointing end to our trip given we had such a good experience on our first stay. All that aside, the elevators are fun with the different music themes. One of our favourites was the ABBA elevator with the life-size images of the group and microphones hanging from the roof so you can join in. The lobby is a key meeting place and is always busy; lends to a vibrant atmosphere overall. The hotel is very conviently located within walking distance to all key sites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed once for a business trip. Situated very close to Arlanda Express Terminal and about 10 mins walk from Stockholm Central Station or Bus station.

Good room, average mattress, great staff, and amazing breakfast spread

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
2,870 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,297 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £138 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing