We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of mistakes”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lot of mistakes”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It started with us arriving around seven a Friday evening. Awaiting from India we were used to a hustle in the street and quit hotels. Here was the total opposite. A very quit part of town and a hustle in the hotel. It's quite a big hotel in central Stockholm, but only a very small reception with the consequence you have to wait a long time for checking in or talking to the staff. The reception is situate very close to the bar so there is a lot of people hanging around the area. We got our room, put in tour luggage and went out to meet friends. When we came back to go to bed in the middle of the night, one of the beds had a dirty sheet and lipstick on the pillow. We called reception they said they where sending up someone to take care of it at once. 15 minutes later there was a knock on the door, a boy gave us a sheet, without asking if it was the right one and if there was som more problem, and left in a hurry. We hade to change the sheet ourselves and had one pillow less the whole night... But the poor service wasn't over. At nine in the morning, when we where still in bed the door opened without a knock!! When we said HALLO?? We got the answer I am going to fill up the minibar. YOU ARE NOT was our answer. We are staying in hotels a lot, but neither of us have ever experienced anything like this! We complained in the morning (after waiting in line). No apology- nothing. The breakfast was another busy history, very crowded, the food running out and terrible coffee. The spa was closed, we didn't get any information about that neither when we booked or when we arrived. There was a note in the elevator up informing us about that. This hotel needs proper management with knowledge about running a hotel. Four stars??

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MallorcaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi,
and thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very sorry that your experience doesn't meet your expectations. I will let the management know your situatuation and we will do our best to make a change - this is not a good hotel experience!

I hope you will give us an another try and don't hesitate to contact me with further hotel bookings.

Best Regards,
Charlotte Andersson
charlotte.andersson@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,289
    524
    197
    84
See reviews for
572
1,072
122
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Clarion Hotel Sign is a big hotel and if you might have to walk for quite a bit to get to your room if you are unlucky enough to get a room far from the elevators. The rooms are good but nothing special. Bathrobe, shoe horn and umbrella are not provided in the room, and the beds are not as comfortable as in some other good hotels. Otherwise the room was very quiet and good. The breakfast is very good with a huge selection as well as an omelet station. Location is also good, close to the central station and Arlanda Express trains. I will absolutely consider staying at Clarion Sign again in the future, and can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your response. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Nice to read that you appreciated the breakfast in the hotel and that you thought the location to be central.

We look forward to see you as a guest in the hotel soon again.

Have a great day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Everything you need for a comfortable stay in Stockholm. Friendly personnel, nice, clean and silent rooms, large breakfast buffet. Downstairs there is a good restaurant with simple food (I recommend the AT burger) and a nice bar. And this hotel has the coolest elevators. Surely if you end up surrounded by Agnetha and Anni-Frid...

Room Tip: I got upgraded to a superior room, which was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your feedback from your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign.

Nice to read that you did enjoy the themed elevators and also the friendly staff.

We hope to see you as a guest in the hotel for any upcoming visits to Stockholm.

Wishing you a nice day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a very popular hotel - especially during weekends when the lobby can be crowded with guests coming and going. I stayed here for one night in October 2013 in a standard room. The room was OK - typical Swedish interior. The location is very good with short walk to pedestrian shopping streets in the center of Stockholm. Breakfast is lavish with everything you would like to eat (scrambled eggs suprisingly tasty), but the breakfast restaurant feels a bit "unorganized".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagent12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your feeback from your stay at Clarion Hotel Sign.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to give your feedback and it has been forwarded to the head of departments.

We hope to see you as a guest in the hotel soon again.

Wishing you a great day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had booked 7 double bed rooms. We went out and had a good night in the city, and when we came back to the hotel in the night we where 10 people. We had beds for 14 people but only the 7 who booked could get in. The 3 "guest" had to leave and find a another place to stayed.

I felt a "no we cannot find a solution" attitude from the hotel staff. I asked to talk with management, but even that was not possible. Crazy to have this attitude in a hotel like this. Even a Hostel would have been better!

I felt robed, like, I pay for a dobbeltbed room but are not allowed to bring another person to the room?

I recommend nobody to book hotel room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anders a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay.
Your feedback has been taken under consideration and we appreciate that you took the time to send us feedback.

Wishing you a nice day!
Best Regards
Charlotte Anderssson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

You feel like you are in LA when to arrive at reception. It's all very first-name in style, with a live DJ in the bar and lots of people wanting to be seen. Everything is themed, with each lift having it's own music and style. (The ABBA lift even has a karaoke mic!).
Rooms are basic but functional. I found my stay to be good, although not very Swedish!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JulianHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi,

Very nice to read that you had a good stay at the hotel and found the rooms to be funtional, hope you also enjoyed the themed elevators

We hope that you liked your stay so much that you will come back for future visits!.

Have a great day.

Best Regadrs
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms,clean and excellent service. I was there for two weeks without experiencing any problems. Very good quality of the breakfast buffet and restaurant food. Close to center with nice view to a small park.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank naskyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi,

Very nice to hear that you had a good stay at Clarion Hotel Sign!

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon again and that we can be at your service again!

Have a great day!

Best Regards
Charlotte Andersson, Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
2,755 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,222 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Property: Clarion Hotel Sign
Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing