We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shape up”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Shape up”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I am sorry to say, but Sign is a four star hotel that left us disappointed. We usually stay in Clarion Hotels and love it but this one let us down. The room is poor and cold, no ambiance what so ever.
No shower mat ("We took them away years ago") Why? The in room shower gel, shampoo and such were not refilled (we stayed for three nights) and the towels were also not refilled - all of a sudden we only had ONE set for two persons.
The wardrobe in our room was high as half a man. Why? There is space for proper wardrobes.
It is the wonderful staff that saves this hotel. They are lovely, nice all over. The restaurant is good, maybe a little unattendant staff there sometimes but mostly nice there too.
Breakfast is ok, but the tables were dirty and not very inviting. So there are things to work on!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi,
and thank you for your review. We are very sorry that we did not lived up to your expectations. We hope that you will give us an another chance.

Wish you a nice day!

Best regards,
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,288
    520
    197
    84
See reviews for
571
1,070
122
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Hotel Clarion Sign is located within a few minutes walk from the Arlanda Express and main rail station and also the central shoppoing area - in other words perfect.

The hotle itself is modern and feels very clean, airy, sophisticated in a "Swedish" Ikea style way, starting from the miniute you walk in through the front door. The large open and glassy reception area, the open bar off to the right and then the open, yet cozy natural atomosphere of the adjacent "American restuarant" all add to give a welcoming feeling.

Up the glass elevators to your room, where you are greeted with a reaosnable sized and equipped room, free wireless (voucher code, a little fiddly), flat screen TV and shower/bath depending on room. Beds are average sized European and nice hard mattress with soft pillows, individual duvet even with a doube bed,

Breakfast is a mix of continental and full, with more than enough choice to cater to most tastes.

All in all, even though at the end of the day any other hotel is very similar (A Radisson Blu is aorund the corner) this one wins through with its furnishings, fantastic restuarant & bar setting and a nice atmosphere. You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi,

and thank you for your nice review of Clarion Hotel Sign. We are very glad that you are satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you as our guest soon again.

Have a nice day!

Best regards,
Charlotte Rehn
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A very stylish hotel in Stockholm's center only a few steps from the central station. We spent a weekend of family celebrations in Stockholm so decided to stay at Clarion hotel Sign. The location is fantastic, specially if you are flying into Stockholm Arlanda as you can take the Arlanda express into the central station in Stockholm and then its only a few steps away. The hotel is very stylish and gets very busy during weekend evening as it seems the place to go to for a few drinks. Great bar + drinks and a fantastic restaurant to go and enjoy a nice dinner! The lifts are also very funky (each one has a different theme and music ie. rock, pop, disco, etc). The beds in the hotel are very comfortable due to the large pillows.

I would recommend this hotel if you are travelling on business or only stopping in Stockholm for a night or two as its location is excellent and very convenient!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi!

Thank you for your nice review of Clarion Hotel Sign. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with your stay at the hotel and that you liked the bar, restaurant, our music elevators and the large (clarion) pillows.

Have a nice day!

Best regards,
Charlotte Rehn
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed a couple of days here on a business trip. This is a nice and chic hotel that showcases typical contemporary Nordic interior design style. The room was spacious and clean and I got a nice view towards the park. It is located centrally (near the central station). Ideal for bussiness trips, couples and friends travelling. They have a really great breakfast buffet! Don't have anything negative to say, but personally I prefer smaller hotels when travelling privately that has more character and intimate feel to it (that is the only reason why I am not giving it top score). I am not a fan of metropolitan trips. I prefer nature, but if you want to travel to Stockholm then you won't regret choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi,

and thank you for your nice review of Clarion Hotel Sign. We are very glad that you are satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you as a guest of the hotel soon again.

Have a nice day!
Charlotte Rehn
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here the 17th to 18th of February in room 908, and could not have asked for a better room!
Great view over the city, super big and comfy bed and a bath tub!
It's right next to the train station and city centre with restaurants and shopping. Couldn't ask for a better location.
The staff was very professional and helpful, and a special thanks to Klaus and Anna.
This is the place to stay at when going to Stockholm.

Best regards,
Sara & Keith

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi,

and thanks for a fantastic review of Clarion Hotel Sign. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm and at our hotel and we are very proud that you like our staff. Klaus and Anna will be informed about these nice words!

Have a nice day!

Best Regards,
Charlotte Rehn
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The rooms are a generous size( deluxe and suites) the breakfast is plentiful,fresh and of a good variety.
The team here are fantastic! ( robin,tom, the girls at front of desk ) They always remember me and my name and greet me with a welcoming smile. Considering I come from Australia and don't always see them, this is impressive.
Clarion sign hotel has never let me down and has a lot going for it. I highly recommend them to anybody.

Room Tip: Suites or deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi,

and thank you for your nice review of Clarion Hotel Sign. We are very glad that you like the staff and I will let Robin, Tom and the girls in the front know about your nice words.

Have a nice day and hope to see you at the hotel soon again!

Best Regards,
Charlotte Rehn
Clarion Hotel Sign
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is close to railway and busstation with god connetion to the airport. It´s close to city center, only few 100 meters to singstreet with stores all the way to the Parlament and Gammel Stan, do not miss that. Also spent some time visiting the old battleship "Vasa" . The dobb. room are new, clean, wifi and with scandinavian design . Good beds and quiet surondings. The lobby is one of the most busy I ever seen. A lot of people sitting with a cop of coffe, bear or a drink from the coctailbar. Don´t buy the coffe. The breakfast was okay but it could be better. All in all a nice hotel witch I would visit again next time i Stockholm

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Marketing Coordinator at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi,
and thank you for your review of Clarion Hotel Sign. Hope to see you as a guest at the hotel soon again!

Have a great day!

Best Regards,
Charlotte Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
2,749 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,221 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Property: Clarion Hotel Sign
Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing