We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service minded urban business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #33 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Service minded urban business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The atmosphere was fantastic and also the beds. Breakfast was to busy and the personell coul be better in filing up when empty trays. Very nice roof top bar to use in warm summer nights but could be open a bit longer (closes at 11pm).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Erik

Thank you very much for your lovely review. And thank you for the feedback about the breakfast. We will have a good look into how to work more efficient when the breakfast is busy.

I hope we will have the honor to have you as our guest again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future to you.

I wish you a wonderful day.

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin

nadia.fagerdin@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    1,212
    477
    178
    71
See reviews for
529
1,014
118
1,076
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Sign as part of a pre-cruise program and were very pleased with the service, our room and the buffet breakfast. As the restaurant was closed for the mid-summer holiday the evening we were there, I can't comment on some of the negative restaurant comments on some of the other postings. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, the tables cleared by the staff quickly, and registration was smooth and fast. Didn't seem to be the same hotel others had knocked. The only negative was a problem we and others had connecting with the hotel's wifi. Otherwise would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. It makes us all very happy to learn you had a good experience at Clarion Sign.

Thank you for your heart warming words about the service and our breakfast. I'm very glad you would like to stay with us again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you if you return to Stockholm.

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin

nadia.fagerdin@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend, celebrating our 13th anniversary so we decided to get a suite. The room was very nice and the service was excellent. The breakfast in bed was absolutely worth paying for, even though the breakfastbuffé is also nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Christine

Congratulations to your 13th anniversary!
I am very glad you had such a good experience at the Clarion Sign on your special day.

I do agree, it is a real treat to order breakfast in bed. I do hope you will stay with us soon again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like to celebrate your 14th anniversary at Sign, I would love to help you to make it extra special for you.

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin

nadia.fagerdin@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Cleaning generally poor
Organization unfortunate breakfast. Tables without collecting uncleaned. Filthy floor. There were no free tables at breakfast time or you were very dirty.
Roaster pan ridiculous for so many people.



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jose

Words can not express how truly sorry I am for us not living up to expectation. This is of course not our standard. I would very much like to be in contact with you and give you a proper apology.

I would be most thankful if you have the time to email me to nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Again I am very sorry for your experience. I do hope to hear from you soon.

I wish you a wonderful day

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a hip hotel with a real buzz about in the bar area from the early evening. Food was good, and the internet dining table was a great idea, but service let the hotel down badly. Slow in the restaurnat/bar, slow at check in and reception, took ages to get through to the recption over the phone (and had an annoying habit of dropping the call after 30 seconds) and as I have already conveyed to the manager, the rooms are minimalist hip, but so minimal that they really must do something about the irons and ironing boards.

Room Tip: Take your own iron and ironing board!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonske35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry that you had to wait for service. I'm also so sorry for the problem with the phone during your stay with us.
We are very grateful for you pointing out what we could have done better. We value your feedback highly.
I understand you have already spoken to a manager. But if you would like you are much welcome to contact me and I would love to email a personal thank you and give you a more detailed answer about our improvements we have made since you stayed with us. nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Thank you for your kind words about the food and the bar area, it is dearly appreciated.

I do hope to hear from you soon. I wish you a wonderful day

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hotel is very nice located 250 m from Arlanda express in central station and close to tourist attractions. But honestly it was first time that I saw such huge difference in crew at reception. The ladies at reception are very helpful, kind and do all their best to help you. But OMG of the boys. At checkin the guy skipped welcome and directly jumped to payment, and shortly just gave the key and few sentence of breakfast time. Fine. But the day of checkout, the other guy asked me if I booked and paid with the same card and I didn't remember , when I was thinking" Mmm I hope so", he rudely repeated back : "you hope so?" !! Honestly, I never saw such a rude behavior in any hotel and I am afraid I never select clarion if they can not chose professional staff with respect. Oh forgot to tell that at breakfast the waiter took my plate in front of me without asking me if I finished( food still in plate) so I have to tell him I haven't finished yet. So don't sit and relax while you're having breakfast cause they are in hurry!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly_ka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lilly

Words can not express how sorry I am for the experience you had upon your stay. I have contacted both our front office manager and breakfast manager about this, so they can take

I would be most thankful to be in contact with you about this, I would very much like to giva a personal apology to you and your family. If you have the time I would be much grateful if you please would consider to email me: nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

Thank you for your kind words about our clean rooms and good location.

I truly hope to hear from you soon

Warm regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived early but got into a room. It was the pokiest on our two week trip around Scandinavia, no reading lamps, no safe. View of a roof top and backs of apartments. Rooms poorly services - no towels on arrival, we had to keep asking for toiletries.

Walking from the station the ramp is at the far end of the hotel - clearly coach parties are priority over travellers from the station !

Reception staff were helpful, weather forecasts for the Mid summer festival proved accurate, as was good advice about where to celebrate.

Breakfast buffet good, the American theme bar made a pleasant area to eat in. Black toilet paper in the bar loo made a change but we don't think it will catch on !

Room Tip: Front and higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Amy

Thank you for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry for us not living up to expectation during your stay.
Thank you very much for pointing out for us what we could have done better. We appreciate it dearly, it helps us to take action and improve ourselves.

I'm very glad that you liked our breakfast and the food in the bar. Thank you for your kind words about the reception staff, I will make sure to pass them on to the staff.

I you would like you are much welcome to contact me about your stay. nadia.fagerdin@choice.se

I wish you a wonderful day

Warm Regards
Nadia Fagerdin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#29 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Property: Clarion Hotel Sign
Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing