We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Wedholms Fisk

Wedholms Fisk
Reserve with
Wedholms Fisk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 3,062 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$148
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Norrmalm
Description: Wedholms Fisk has been in its current location by Nybrokajen since 1985. Many of the staff, both amongst the pots and pans as well as amongst the tables, have been there since the doors were first thrown open to the first expectant guests. However, this does mean that time has stood still - the kitchen gleams with newly installed top of the range equipment and an inspiration to keep abreast of developments in food and cuisine.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have read excellent reviews about this restaurant. And because of these recommendations I made a booking to this restaurant. I took 5 customers here and we were all very disappointed. The restaurant is very traditional and there is nothing wrong with that. In fact traditional restaurants can be really good. But Wedholms Fisk was not. All of our portions were swimming on sauce. Sauces were full of flavor, actually too much of flavor. It was hiding the taste of the fish. Shrimps were overcooked and they were close to gum. I am really wondering why this restaurant gets all these excellent reviews. If you are a food lover and you know something about cooking - you should avoid going to this restaurant. There are so many good restaurants in Stockholm. I would say this restaurant is very old-fashioned and so is the food. And unfortunately the cooks don´t know how to cook the fish - they were all overcooked. Also the waitresses were from different century. Wedholms Fisk is in desperate need of changing the generation. In my opinion they do not respect the fish in this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    143
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ulricehamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Epic from the sea!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you ever visit Stockholm, book a table here. Your wallet will not be happy but who cares... This is very tasty stuff in a very nice and soft atmosphere. I don't know if they miss their star they once had... never mind, its just the best darn fish around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanStahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
164 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Powerful Flavors”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our cab driver told us about this place, and said the portions were huge. He was right. We did the tasting menu, so we had five courses. The portion of the third course was enough for a main entree at most restaurants. The food was great, but the flavors were particularly powerful/bold, which means they are not for everyone. The lobster bisque had an incredibly powerful taste, which we could not place, but my companion could not eat hers. The dover sole had a basil sauce that was so buttery it made me think I coudn't eat the next three courses. Amazingly tasty, but very strong and too much food for five courses. Still, when wine is added it was pushing $600 after the tip, which is insane, even though it was great food. Unlike others here, I found the service to be very good, but then again tasting menus usually come with a bit more attention from the server.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palooka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I don't hope this is the best Stockholm has to offer”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was the most disappointing visit to a fish restaurant ever.
Itstarted out so promising 3 kind of bred ( so good) aperitif belinnie good
Then the starter
Matjes herring what can i say it is what it is l
obster soup mediocer (no love)
Main course
Tiger prawns in curry again no love, the prawn was cooked to much they was hard, sauce was to sweed there was no vegetables in the disch only cooked plain rice not the top of gastronomic cooking.
Munck fish with truffle risotto again fish was grilled Untill it was hard, risotto had a metallic tast no salt ore pepper i didn't finish the dish.
Servish was mediocer no attention to the customers 3 time i ran out of wine and they put the wine fare away from the table so we couldn't pour the wine our self.
Sorry to say that all and all it was a poor experience
I newer go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravn123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's still very good........”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I like this restaurant. We were received very well before, during and after dinner. Food is excellent, with focus on fish off-cource. Lobster soup......the best I ever had.....! Restaurant is perfectly situated in the city centre. Can be recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wedholms Fisk also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Wedholms Fisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing