We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dark, but darling, dungeon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Art Cafe

Art Cafe
Ranked #870 of 3,028 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
281 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A dark, but darling, dungeon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This subterranean restaurant in the touristy Gamlastan was quite the surprise. We just chose it because it was convenient and we were starving. I thought, since it was sort of bar style, that it would be mediocre, but actually, the food was fresh and delicious. It would be a place to linger, especially over coffee and dessert.
The cave-like interior would be a good choice to either escape the summer heat and humidity, or to shelter from rain or snow.
I liked the place and would recommend and return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

While looking for somewhere to eat, we repeated the mantra "a few streets down, it will be cheaper", and sure enough, a sign saying "lunch, 85kr" caught our eye. We headed down the ally and noticed another set of tourists looking at it in bewilderment. To our surprise, through the heavy iron door were downwards stairs! We decided to go in, and descended into a cool basement, with low ceilings and light. Chanting hymns played through the speakers, and we ordered at the bar, pleased with the selection of vegetarian choices. The food came quickly as we looked at the surroundings in awe. My sister reported her veggie pizza "good", my mum a broccoli quiche "tasty". We each had a tall pint glass of 7-up. I had a chicken baked potato which was very tasty and filling - I didn't finish it. A bowl of very good bread and butter was also on our table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee in excellent surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

A superb place! A real hidden gem. Although the service is slow it is really friendly with a good selection for "Fika." The surroundings are excellent to explore and well worth a visit for a coffee after being in the tourist crammed hubbub of the beautiful Gamla Stan. Escape the noise and beauty and just relax in the cavernous Cafe Art with a different kind of beauty. I dare you to dislike it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnbhoy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute cavern!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is actually a very good place because it is a little different from all the other cafes in Gamla Stan.

It is under ground, and has very low ceilings and arches. It's a little chilly, and the fireplace is actually and old, tiny staircase with a log-lamp. The food is just fine, pies and pastas heated in a microwave or sandwiches or cakes, but that is not the point. The point is that you are in the real Medieval Stockholm!

When we visited, during lunch time on New Year's Eve, the poor lady who worked there, was left all alone to serve everyone (maybe 40 people), and very stressed. We cleaned our own table, and hoped the other guests would follow suit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank monological
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had I not had my friend with me I would have missed this place! Very steep stairs, a bit dark and if you're tall keep your head down! Once you get inside if feels like you're in a cave. Groovy! I had the blueberry pie with ice coffee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stina_Uppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Cafe also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing