We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Hostel Old Town
Toulouse
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 24 July 2010

A youth hostel which doesn't try to take your money, which trusts in the customers. Free internet, free breakfast, free pasta. We are in a total autonomy, the personal is absent (only in the 2nd floor) but for me, it's just perfect.
Well-located.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    35
    24
    23
See reviews for
11
36
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My friend and I stayed here for one night. It was probably the best sleep I had on our whole trip. The location is great and our room was very nice. We had two beds and our own en suite which was nice. The only complaint was that it was a little like a maze to find your way around and there are a lot of stairs, so lugging my suitcase around wasn't always that fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiki197911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Me and my partner stayed for one night in a double ensuite room. The room was very small but we didn't mind that too much. What we did mind was the disgusting smell of the bathroom. We weren't sure where the smell was coming from but suspect the smell was coming from the drain of the shower. We kept the bathroom door closed at all times as the smell was unbearable but when my partner opened the door to go to the bathroom, the smell would escape into the bedroom and with the bedroom being so small it was not long till the room was filled with the smell. To make matters worse we, the windows were locked so it was quite suffocating at times. It was soooo gross. We were really glad it was only one night we were staying.

The price for one night was quite dear - but all accommodation in Stockholm is.

The rest of the hostel seemed fine so I would recommend it to others. Just don't book the double ensuite room!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveholidays4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The location is just perfect if you are travelling there just for a weekend, as we did. Nice rooms, great kitchen area, with free coffee, tee and pasta. Bathrooms didn't seem to be enough when we arrived, but we haven't have any problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItxiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Very nice atmosphere, friendly stuff.
Two (good equipped - fridge, plates, mugs, free tee) kitchen, few bathrooms, few computers with the internet connection (those places where often busy :)), wifi in the room.
Only 3/5 for room - quite claustrophobic: in 2-bedded room there was only place for a backbacks, chair and boots.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This is a review of the 2nd branch of this hostel at Skeppshorn 22 that was opened last year... I believe there is another on Transgund.

Location-wise this place is GREAT. Very close to the Royal Palace and its a quick walk back home after you roam around old town or after you go on a boat tour. It's also very close to Slussen train station, so it's pretty much ideal for a short stay in the city, if you really want to see the place. They have a code to get in at night, which is nice and there's someone at the front desk from 10 p.m. on, just in case. Between the Slussen station and the hostel there's a bar that we walked to twice in the time that i was there... it was an outdoor place underneath the bridge... it started with a D although I can't remember for the life of me what it was called. Just an idea if you're looking for something cheap and closeby.

The hostel staff was very nice, although some seemed more knowledgeable than others, so it kinda depends on who you get. They do not have wireless, but they have about 5 computers in the main area and you'll get a chance to use them with minimal wait time. There's also a clean, well-maintained kitchen which gets a lot of people in and out. The general atmosphere of the hostel is very friendly, so that was nice as well.

We asked for a double room ensuite, which was around 700 SEK... and the room that we got for the first night was ridonkulously small... just barely enough room for the bed and the bathroom barely had room for travel-size essentials. Additionally, the bathroom floor curved strange, so you were left with shower water that wouldn't flow toward the drain - sick. When I mentioned it to the staff, she said she knew about the bathroom, which was kind of annoying because nothing was said about it when we checked in (that was room 212, for your reference)

Anyway, they switched us to another room, 201, (that was the original booking arrangement), which totally made up for our first night there... a huge room with a great view... this room was around 1000 SEK and had a private bathroom (with no drainage problem) as well.

Overall, for what we got I think this hostel is on the pricey side... I can't speak for the dorms and stockholm is generally expensive. Also, I was surprised at the difference between two rooms that were classified as the same, but SO different in size. But it was safe and was in a great location, so I really can't complain. oh AND they had the coziest comforters and beds... all from ikea of course.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnicethemenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Stayed for 2 nights recently and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff was very helpful, the price is very good and its a comfortable place to stay. There is a kitchen, free internet and a tv so you can relax during the day.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#70 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Golden Goat Hotel
Golden Goat Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#10 of 63 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
#23 of 63 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Dockside Hostel
Dockside Hostel
#46 of 63 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hostel Old Town

Property: Best Hostel Old Town
Address: 12 Traangsund | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing