We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent vegitarian which is perfect for every one!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Wai

Lao Wai
Ranked #217 of 2,999 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Vasastan
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent vegitarian which is perfect for every one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Lao Wai is definitely not a restaurant for only vegetarians. The food is tasty and the atmosphere is relaxed. The place is small so it often gets full and sometimes the service is a bit slow but our waiter was very friendly.

The menu has many options and if you have problems with choosing, you can easily ask for advise. The courses are divided in soya protein (GMO-free), tofu (organic) or others.

I often think that Chinese food can get a bit fatty/greasy but this is great. The ingredients are very fresh and well cooked by the chef that you can see in the kitchen.

Tips: The courses are very big and can be easily shared. If you can't finish it you can always ask for a doggy bag.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Favorite Vegetarian Restaurant in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just love this place, even if it is really small but the dishes are just excellent, their choice of tea fantastic and the service is at its best.
Go for it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kagb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skane-Tranas, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian Place - Stockholm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you want to eat excellent vegetarian food, then you want to visit Lao Wai, they have found a style that is just wonderful, they cook food and serve love, and they do it with style!
we are usually 2 people, and we take in 3 different dishes, and we just can't stop eating, don't forget to have their thé in a pot, they will guide you in how to get it the best way possible for maximum taste. and do make reservations, hard to get table with out booking in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Svirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Veggies and 'Meaters'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten track you'll fond this gem. They make the food when you order it, a la minute.
No prefab, no microwave just directly from the wook to your plate.
Be on time, it easily get crowded here, its a small place.
Great, tasty food! I recommend the Mapotofu. Or the Gong Bao. Mmmm.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLiStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very tasty but should be cheaper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This place is very small and from memory I think there is space for about 25 people. The menu is all vegan and there's a good range of different dishes. There's a tofu section, vegetable section and soya protein section so that's a good start.

The food tasted really good, rich and the portion was plentiful. I would say it should be cheaper though - dishes were around 160 to 200 sek which is roughly around £16 to £20. In England if you were to spend that at a restaurant you would expect amazing service and world class food.. The restaurant is small, like I've said, and tables are very close together. The atmosphere is quiet and the layout is very communal.

Our waitress seemed a bit unfriendly, she was pleasant but didn't engage with us. She also didn't come to take our plates away for aaages. When it came to asking for the bill and paying she was very nice though and asked how are meals were etc.

As a vegan it's a nice place to go to know you can have everything on the menu and since I was on holiday, also aware Stockholm is pricey, I didn't mind paying the money but if you are on a budget it's not somewhere you MUST go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lao Wai also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Lao Wai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing