We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bistro worth discovering”
Review of Milford Bistro

Milford Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: showing visitors to the County the wineries, breweries, cheese and vegetable producers and the cidery
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little bistro worth discovering”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 days touring Prince Edward County on our bicycles and we were caught by the rain as we passed the village of Milford. When we saw a sign for the bistro, we went in to have lunch, in hope that the rain would eventually stop (and it did). What a happy coincidence! We had a wonderful lunch, tasting the best lamb burger ever, excellent home made french fries and the freshest salad you can dream of. Service was excellent and friendly, prices were not too high and we thoroughly enjoyed our rainy meal in this lovely bistro.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneducanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    8
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Dining - Casual Atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On Friday evening we dined at the Milford Bistro with friends. The owner, Michael, was extremely friendly and very welcoming. We chose our appetizer and dinner based on Michael's recommendation and it was amazing. The appetizer cheese, sausage, and fish platter was delicious and beautifully presented. Our entres of yoghurt chicken and curried lamb were also quite tasty. Michael also made a wine suggestion...a local red wine which we thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, the service and the fine dining experience will bring us back to the Milford Bistro on our next visit back to the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
“A fabulous meal with close friends”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the Milford Bistro on a recommendation. It was a Friday night and upon our arrival, we were greeted by the very friendly owner, Michael. The service was excellent and the food fresh, hot and delicious. The highlight was the seasoned raw pickerel that accompanied a robust cheese platter that was shared amongst the four of us - what a treat! The curried lamb was a big hit as well. I strongly recommend giving this place a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noemi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and incredible food!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were very impressed with what the Bistro does with fresh local ingredients. The pickerel was so fresh and cooked to perfection. We also shared a charcuterie and cheese plate and the flavours were amazing. We enjoyed the local wine and finished off our meal sharing a piece of killer chocolate cheesecake. Overall it was a great experience and we look forward to coming back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to county standards.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on a Saturday evening. The Milford Bistro had been in our bucket list of County food stops for a few years but ownership changes and renovations had complicated things in past efforts. While the charm of the bistro can't be denied, the execution: service, food quality, and value for money leave much to be desired. While ingredients may be sourced locally, preparation, delivery and taste still matter I'm afraid. Definitely not worth the trip to Milford. Pity.

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milford Bistro also viewed

Milford, Picton
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Milford Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing