We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CARAVELA IRISH PUB and BISTRO - CLOSED

CARAVELA IRISH PUB and BISTRO
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: At CARAVELA, food is synonymous with freshness, quality & a hot grill. We are your quintessential Irish pub preserving one of Portugal's great FOOD.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After a long day of travelling to our villa we were recommended to go and try the Irish Pub in the village. It was a real treat, the service was fantastic, the food was incredible, the portion sizes defeated all 6 of us and was a perfect way to kick off our holiday, would definitely recommend!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave15884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Conveniently located in the heart of the village of Foz do Arehlo, the Caravela Irish Pub and Bistro
is a good place to for a meal or just for a drink.Ginny and her team provide good quality home cooking. All is freshly cooked , the menu changes regularly and is well varied to satisfy all tastes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KolibriAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caravela Irish pub”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

EXCELLENT. The food is brilliant and to a very high standard. If you want tasty, "chef quality" food, with a good selection then I highly recommend going there. It's first class and better than all the restaurants I have been to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pippy447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Arelho, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed !”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went here last Thursday at 12-20 pm to book a meal for my visiting family and it was closed. I haven`t been back !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ardeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1946Siobhan, website manager at CARAVELA IRISH PUB and BISTRO, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
The restaurant opens at 2.30 Wednesday to Sunday what a pity you did't think to call the number clearly displayed on this page. The opening hours are clearly displayed at the front of the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Thank you Ginnie, the food was great, it was a wonderful Easter lunch, and the thai curry we had on our earlier visit was delicious. The pub has a lovely friendly atmosphere, and all the staff work hard to make you feel at home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CARAVELA IRISH PUB and BISTRO also viewed

Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
 
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
Foz do Arelho, Leiria District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing