We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful home in a perfect setting...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Heated pool and house, with open countryside views Pool, terrace and house, with countryside views beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Pool and house. Sunbeds are provided for all occupants, plus two large parasols
Heated pool and house, with open countryside views
Pool, terrace and house, with countryside views beyond
Heated, private swimming pool - 10m x 5m x 1.4m deep, plus steps
Pathway to house from shaded car parking area
Heated swimming pool at night
Terrace to rear of house, accessed by french doors from both kitchen and sitting room
Terrace to rear of house
Steps to pool from rear terrace
Garden area between pool and orchard
Garden area with table tennis, boules pitch, picnic bench and swing set in the orchard
Tree house in garden.
Front of house from courtyard, with private driveway (200m long,) seen to the right
Front garden with additional seating and canopy
Kitchen and stairs to first floor
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen
Sitting room, with three comfortable three-seater sofas
Sitting room
Sitting room
Ground floor bedroom with king size bed.
Ground floor bedroom
En-suite bathroom to ground floor bedroom
First floor bedroom with king size bed and walk in wardrobe
First floor bedroom with walk in wardrobe
First floor bedroom with two single beds, or can be made into a super king size bed (6' x 6'6')
Two single beds made into super-king.
First floor bedroom with two single beds or super king size bed
First floor shower room
Stairs to loft room, ground floor w.c. to left, en-suite bathroom to ground floor bedroom to right
Loft room with one single and one double bed
Loft room
Woods
View from house
Market at Thiviers
Sammy and Lipsy in the orchard
Bantams and chicks
Our horses and the view from Haut Combiers
One of our Dexter calves.
Cooling down the pigs
Feeding the pigs
Chateau at Jumilhac le Grand. 7 km from the house.  Shops, bars and restaurants around the square.
Brantome Abbey on the river Dronne. Very pretty town with a variety of shops (35 minutes drive)
St Jean de Cole, one of Frances 'beaux villages' with cafes and restaurants (20 minutes drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Jumilhac-le-Grand, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine W
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful home in a perfect setting...”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have recently stayed at Haut Combiers for two weeks this summer and we have to say that it has been truly fantastic. Thanks to the owners, Dawn and Andrew, we were introduced to all their pets and farm animals, including a new calf and baby chicks. They made our stay welcoming, down to every small detail, by keeping everything well-maintained and clean in the house and by the pool. No matter what the problem was or if anything was needed, they had it or went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Mostly we stayed by the pool, but we went to a few towns and managed the big hill to the bakers for fresh croissants or coffee in the mornings. We are so glad we chose to stay at Haut Combiers this year and we hope to return soon. Thank you Dawn and Andrew so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the house, the pool, the farm, the local area...
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoCrozier
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a dream weekend in rural bliss with wonderful towns to visit all around.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a real escape to this lovely cottage surrounded by wonderful views, with a lovely outdoor pool and some gorgeous French towns nearby.

Transfer from the airport was so easy, the cottage was superb and we had amazing views of rural France all around. We'll never forget the sound of the stags calling on the hills around us as the sun set and the delicious lunch in the nearby town. Magical memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage itself
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda F
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking forward to staying at Haut Combiers again this year”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is the third time we have stayed at Haut Combiers, this time for a long weekend. The hosts Andy and Dawn are very welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. The starter pack of essential groceries was very welcome.
The gite is in a beautiful rural location, ideal for people looking for a peaceful holiday. it is on the top of a hill so there are panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. Last autumn we saw wild deer on the opposite hillside.
The gite has spacious accomodation full of character with original features including the large fireplace, now with a wood burning stove. Immediately outside there is a patio with steps leading to a heated swimming pool.
The owners have friendly dogs and cats as well as horses and farm animals such as chickens, pigs and cattle. The animals are well fenced in leaving plenty of room to walk round the farm.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing