We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday!”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked Samui Beach Village to celebrate my father's 60th Birthday. There were 6 adults and 6 children and we stayed in Villa Astasia. Our stay at SBV was amazing. The villa was perfect for the size of our group and each family had their own large room with ensuite, the private pool was brilliant and the daily maid service enabled all of our guests to fully unwind. We thought that we would be self-catering however, with the complimentary breakfast set up in the villa at 8am each day and the reasonably priced/great food on offer via room service/restaurant at SBV meant that we did not cook for ourselves once! The staff are very helpful and if there were any problems they were dealt with efficiently. On the night of my Dad's Birthday SBV had arranged a private chef, Birthday cake and a brilliant fireworks display which bought a tear to my Father's eye - SBV couldn't have been a more perfect place to celebrate. Thank you to Luke, Fiona and all of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear West17,

So great to hear that Fiona, Luke and all the staff made your stay and your Father's 60th birthday special! Thank you for letting us organise such a special celebration.

Baan Astasia is definitely a great villa for families and friends or large groups - we're pleased to hear it suited your holiday and group needs perfectly.

We hope you come back and visit us soon and enjoy more of our delicious food, stunning beach and exceptional service!

Kind Regards
Phil Dunlop
Head of Operations
Samui Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    119
    42
    15
    26
See reviews for
330
134
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul Afghanistan
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed in the Baan Jasmine Villa. It was amazing! We had our own private pool which was nice for having a glass of wine and for joking around and just having fun together. Every morning we had breakfast (Toast, muffins, Fresh fruit platter, Fresh Fruit Juices, assorted cereals, milk, and jams) delivered to our Villa. The hotel staff was very pleasant and welcoming. They made sure everything we needed was available at a moments notice whether it was a taxi, scooters for us to rent, food delivered to our villa, or coordinating an excursion for us. We wanted for nothing. It was an amazing, romantic, and relaxing experience for us. We didn't have to lift a finger to make arrangements which made it so much easier just to enjoy each others company. We're already planning our next trip, and trying to get our family and friends to come along. This is the ideal place for a family vacation or a romantic getaway. This place has EVERYTHING!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi Lauren C,

Thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon! Baan Jasmine is a good choice for couples, as although there are more rooms than you both needed, the space, layout, private pool, freedom yet absolute privacy is ideal.

We're glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and other meals and the exceptional 5* personal service that Fiona, Luke and the team provide. It's your holiday and you shouldn't have to lift a finger!

Hope to see you on your 1 year anniversary!


Kind Regards
Phil Dunlop
Head of Operations
Samui Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The villas were really nice, we were 2 families with kids , the kids absolutely loved it
the privacy is great , however the resort beach is very quiet....so once has to got to Lamai beach or Chaweng beach which is a 25 min drive..

The resort by itself does not offer much in terms of activities / entertainment etc..
so once has to drive to nearby beaches for some sports etc..

However the villas were excellent , we had rented a Pajero so it dint matter.
Overall great place to relax as the villas are really big, well maintained especially for the price !!

Room Tip: all villas are great, the resort beach is very dull & no activities on this beach ,if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil1532344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We decided to have our wedding at Samui Beach Village and had our family stay at Baan Flora while my wife and I stayed in an ocean room. Everything during our stay went perfectly as planned and the staff are genuine and friendly. Our wedding was amazing and the photographer took really amazing photos! I would recommend this place for anything from a vacation to a wedding. Truly Amazing!

Room Tip: Baan Flora is located along the beach and has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi Jeff139,

Thank you for your wonderful words and thank you for letting us host your special wedding day! We are thrilled that we could make it everything you hoped for and that you enjoyed both the day and your stay.

The photographer we use always makes sure you get to take away brilliant memories of your day with you, hopefully you will come back soon and take some more snaps and create more memories at Samui Beach Village!

Kind Regards
Phil Dunlop
Head of Operations
Samui Beach Village
mui Beach Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of the most amazing places I've ever taken my family to. We stayed for 5 days and my small children had a ball. They practically lived in the pool. The accommodation was beautiful and kept spotless by the friendly staff. This place is located quite a way from the main tourist/backpacker beaches which is a benefit if you want to be away from it all, but still close enough to any of the attractions. The food was excellent, the service first-rate. Definitely on my list of places to return to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank necrognomicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi necrognomicon,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Samui Beach Village is a favourite amongst friends, groups and families - and especially children ....and we are glad that yours were no exception and they thoroughly enjoyed hours of swimming!

We hope that you return in the near future and enjoy everything that makes Samui Beach Village the No1. Beach Villa Destination in Koh Samui.

Kind Regards
Phil Dunlop
Head of Operations
Samui Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroda, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had rented out two 3 Bedroom Villas in early June for 4 nights. The villas were excellent and very well maintained with private swimming pools. The kids practically occupied their own villa and really enjoyed themselves. We were just a bit disappointed with the service..a few times, either the staff chose to ignore us or they were short handed!
The walk to the beach was just 100 meters.. but the beach was like the back waters.. with no waves at all.. a bit unsatisfactory. The other facilities like daily (morning/evening) shuttle service to Lamai, tennis court, Table Tennis, Pool Table, etc.. were very useful for us. On the whole, we had a Super time at SBV !!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

this place is absolutely amazing - the staff are amazing villas brilliant and the food is great!!!!!

cant wait to go again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi Montee99,

Great to hear you enjoyed Samui Beach Village so much! Means our team are right on track ensuring that everyone has an unforgettable holiday with us.

We can't wait to have you back either!


Kind Regards
Phil Dunlop
Head of Operations
Samui Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,591 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.1 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
749 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,360 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing