We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an Ocean front room, which meant you could see the sunrise without leaving your bed!
The Staff couldn't be more helpful and arranging transport around the island was very easy through them. A little quiet in the evenings for us but plenty to see and do within a 20 minute taxi ride. The public pool area is good and the spa was also very good, if a little pricey. All in all a great place to stay and little part of me was sorry to leave.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    117
    41
    15
    26
See reviews for
327
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What can I say.....
The photos on line of the resort are amazing BUT trust me....they do not do the resort justice!! It's rare you go anywhere to find this in my experience. The staff are without question 5*plus as is the food! (oh and that's an understatement!!)

The ethos within the resort - led by Jane and Phil - is one that makes you feel like one big family, Our children, 14 and 16, never grumbled once that they were bored but I'm sure the in villa wifi had a little to do with that, plus the daily beach volleyball (don't forget to reggae as you change position during the game especially if you're on Phil's team!), canoes, and bike rides!

I could happily go on and on but all I would say that if you are looking to go to Samui Beach Village, or are remotely unsure DO IT!!!!

We fully intend to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived to the Rim Haad villa and the scene before us was even better than the pictures can show. A perfect beach for kids and adults of any age to explore.

Jane and Phil the owners, do an excellent job to see that all your needs are met and nothing seems too much for them or their brilliant staff. Such a friendly, family orientated place to stay, with my favourite time being early evening when the families and some staff met up for the daily volleyball matches that also involved all the kids again. Lovely little beach bar at the side of the volleyball court also helped :-)

Plenty of trip options that are not expensive and plenty of sports type things to do for those of you like me who don't like lying in the sun too long. The food caters for many tastes and my kids were happy that they could get their usual pizzas, pastas and burgers if they wanted a change from the Thai dishes that were great.

Jane, Phil and other staff members also excelled themselves when my wife took not well ( nothing to do with Samui Beach Village) and we had to overstay for a few days while she was in the hospital. The kids were looked after and other accommodation within the resort was made available with the staff helping with the packing - can't thank you all at Samui Beach Village enough.

If you are thinking of an idyllic location for a relaxing holiday or even a sports fuelled holiday then look no further - I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful time, words do not describe it! The staff, especially Phil, Jane, Nicky, Debbie, Pui, Kik, Ali, James (and the list goes on) you guys rocked our world. Thanks, thanks, thanks!
If you like playing volleyball at the beach, getting cold drinks and lots of smiles this is defiantly the place to visit at Koh Samui. You end up feeling like a part of the family but with the possibility to have as much privacy as you like..

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mattias k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were a family group staying in two villas and a hotel room for a 10 day visit.

The villas were spacious and well designed and we loved having our own pool with frangipanni tree overhanging it. There were two other largish pools we enjoyed as well which were well maintained and refreshing.

We enjoyed several massages and a yoga session and of particular note was Chek Aek who took us to the local market and taught us how to prepare Thai foods - he was very accomodating to our dietary requirements and was a delightful and professional teacher.

The staff were friendly and tried to be accomodating.

The main drawback is the location - it is quite far from the two main tourist areas of Chaeweng and Lamai - where the shopping and nightlife is - the resort has 3 complimentary taxis a day - but only from the resort - there are no return trips - and as all taxis refuse to use their meters a week's worth of fixed price taxis can easily add up.

During our stay we were without water for one day and without electricity for 2 - and being on holiday and not being able to shower or use the toilet was not much fun. For those two days - despite numerous calls to the reception - we were basically left to our own devices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, General Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Ellymike

Thank you for your review and feedback. I have provided the same response to this and the adjacent review as you are the same guests and for some reason felt you needed to put across your points of view twice.

We are delighted by all of the positive feedback you have given and it has been a pleasure to inform the staff of your appreciation of their hard work in looking after your family. Chef Eak was very pleased to accommodate you and purchase new cooking utensils and equipment to ensure we could provide for your kosher dietary requirements.

Like you, our guests always find it delightful to enjoy the benefits of a well-maintained, spacious villa with private swimming pool and to enjoy the peace and tranquility of Samui Beach Village.

With regards to your other feedback:
We have a shop planned for the resort next year, in the mean time there is a shop a couple of minutes walk away and we do provide a shopping service for all of our guest.

Our apologies for the mix up in transfers, your party came in on several different flights with some of the details reaching us late, we have tightened our procedures in this area to ensure this does not happen in the future.

We have already improved the lighting leading to the villas with additional overhead and floor level lights.

We have a couple of very friendly dogs around the resort all of whom wear a collar to identify we have vaccinated then and that they are looked after. It is often the case that they will be “adopted” by guest for the duration of their stay as they miss their pets at home.

We provide a complimentary shuttle to Lamai and Chaweng 4 times per day with Lamai only 8 minutes away and less than 15 minutes on a bicycle.

We have put in place a program to review and improve the information about the local area, we also have a full reception and concierge team who are happy to discuss your preferences and recommend tours, markets, excursions and places to visit.

Due to an upgrade in the water supply the water was off for a couple of hours whilst you were with us – all guests were pre-advised of this and all villas have a backup water tank meaning there was minimal disruption. We did also experience a power outage whilst you were with us, this was due to an unseasonably strong storm resulting in many failures on the island – in our case we had the power company on site and all electricity back on within a matter hours and before night fall. We also provided you with complimentary massages and a returning guest voucher by way of goodwill.

I am disappointed by the overall rating you have given based on both your experience and that on the 1 hand you are so complementary of the staff and service yet have chosen to give the staff 3 stars for the service they provided.

Kindest regards

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australiain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed 30 June.We had 2 family villas and one hotel room.
The good.
Very relaxed enviroment.
The staff are delightful. Decorated the table beautifully for an 11 year olds birthday.
The Villas were clean,spacious and well maintained.
The Villa pools were were wonderful.
The chef fabulous,the meals tasty and varied.
Good massages.
To be improved upon.
Poorly maintained vegetation once passed the main area.
No shop.
Had to check details e.g. They had the wrong departure time for us. Incorrect arrival
time for another. Incorrect time for a tour.
Very poor night lighting leading to our villa.
Dogs roaming around.
Transport only one way and the location is at least 15 minutes from Lamai.
Not enough detailed information on tours,markets and other events.
There was no water on one occassion and twice no electricity for hours. We were advised but no goodwill offered.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Ban Suay and Beach Village House. At times there were problems with the toilets at Beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, General Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear rubyalexandra

Thank you for your review and feedback. I have provided the same response to this and the adjacent review as you are the same guests and for some reason felt you needed to put across your points of view twice.

We are delighted by all of the positive feedback you have given and it has been a pleasure to inform the staff of your appreciation of their hard work in looking after your family. Chef Eak was very pleased to accommodate you and purchase new cooking utensils and equipment to ensure we could provide for your kosher dietary requirements.

Like you, our guests always find it delightful to enjoy the benefits of a well-maintained, spacious villa with private swimming pool and to enjoy the peace and tranquility of Samui Beach Village.

With regards to your other feedback:
We have a shop planned for the resort next year, in the mean time there is a shop a couple of minutes walk away and we do provide a shopping service for all of our guest.

Our apologies for the mix up in transfers, your party came in on several different flights with some of the details reaching us late, we have tightened our procedures in this area to ensure this does not happen in the future.

We have already improved the lighting leading to the villas with additional overhead and floor level lights.

We have a couple of very friendly dogs around the resort all of whom wear a collar to identify we have vaccinated then and that they are looked after. It is often the case that they will be “adopted” by guest for the duration of their stay as they miss their pets at home.

We provide a complimentary shuttle to Lamai and Chaweng 4 times per day with Lamai only 8 minutes away and less than 15 minutes on a bicycle.

We have put in place a program to review and improve the information about the local area, we also have a full reception and concierge team who are happy to discuss your preferences and recommend tours, markets, excursions and places to visit.

Due to an upgrade in the water supply the water was off for a couple of hours whilst you were with us – all guests were pre-advised of this and all villas have a backup water tank meaning there was minimal disruption. We did also experience a power outage whilst you were with us, this was due to an unseasonably strong storm resulting in many failures on the island – in our case we had the power company on site and all electricity back on within a matter hours and before night fall. We also provided you with complimentary massages and a returning guest voucher by way of goodwill.

I am disappointed by the overall rating you have given based on both your experience and that on the 1 hand you are so complementary of the staff and service yet have chosen to give the staff 3 stars for the service they provided.

Kindest regards

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We would just like to thank Phil & Jane, and all their Amazing staff for their brilliant hospitality over our 10 day stay. Our only negative was that we did not stay longer.

Our accomodation was just what we needed for our family of 4 ( our 2 boys 9 & 12 years old) & exactly as indicated on the website. We stayed in Baan Chanchai & Baan Sui. The villas are very well designed( from an Architects point of view) with more than enough space , privacy & comfort one would expect. The location relative to the beach & clubhouse was all so lovely & close. The food was absolutely brilliant, every meal was just so tasty & well presented. We never got tired of the options on our all inclusive package, infact we never even managed to get through the entire menu, or had any space for desert after dinner. The buffet nights were the best we have had on our travels around the world. Italian evening in Thailand , was amazing too. A huge compliment to the great chef.

One of our favourite items of our holiday was the beach activities at 5pm, the entire family enjoyed beach cricket, soccer & most of all the volleyball. Something we are missing already being back at home. Phil thank you for organising & joining in the volley ball games that ran on into the sunset till we ran out of sunlight. The beach bar was a lovely refreshment option between games too!

The bike rides in the morning with Phil was such a fantastic way to get see very unseen views of the island, my husband loved having a personalised tour with Phil.

Thank you to all the staff who put such a large amount in time & effort pleasing you. The service was always top class, & we struggle to understand the negative comments coming through. We did not experience anything of the sort, so please ignore the grumpy negative comments.

We just cannot thank you all enough for our great holiday experience & so look forward to the new beach & pool clubhouse being built later this year.

Phil & Jane your resort is just lovely & beautiful, you & your staff's personalised services make the resort a fabulous place to spend a family holiday or a quite retreat. We look forward to returning.

Thank you,
Kind regards
Ryan, ilse, Liam & Sean Kerr.

South African Family living in Aus.

Room Tip: Private villas with own pool. & all inclusive good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,588 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,353 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,966 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing