We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$707
View deal
Trip.com
US$337
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/12/21
Agoda.com
US$479
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveller rating
550
148
52
19
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
148
52
19
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool beach club baan tawan jane villa samui resort koh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 804 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2019

We booked one ocean view bedroom with a private pool in March after reading great reviews. We traveled with two kids (one only 5 months) and that's why chose this location, which was quiet and far from the regular crowd. Booked this place through Agoda but when we arrived, we were informed at the reception that there is no booking.

The lady at the reception was so unwelcoming that we felt like leaving immediately. However, as we booked through Agoda and the payment was non-refundable, we decided to wait. She made some calls to her boss and then told us, "Yes, you have a booking." I was surprised that she was not sorry at all with the miscommunication they had among themselves. Then she kept us waiting as the room was not ready. After waiting for 40 minutes, they asked us to take a ride to the hotel. However, the vehicle got stopped in the middle as there was no charge in the battery. Then they arranged another ride to the hotel.

When we arrived at the room, I was shocked. The room was not at all closer to the standard of 4 star stay. There was a strange smell all over the place and you will feel that the entire place needs renovation. The flush in the toilet did not work properly and that is why we had to ask them to fix that. When we asked them to change the bed-sheet, they said they generally do it in every 3 days.

In breakfast, we had so limited options- all you can get is bread-butter, juice, few fruits and egg. There was no soup or variety of jam or jelly. We ordered some stuffed mushrooms but they provided some plain boiled mushrooms. And most shockingly, when we were having breakfast on our last day, they closed the breakfast station. You will feel that they want you to finish your meal as soon as possible.

Every time we talked to the lady at the reception, she seemed pretty reluctant to reply to our queries. That is why we did not stay at the hotel most of the time.

But the best thing of our stay was the view of the beach. Both the water and beach was extremely clean and you could watch the sunrise every morning- not to mention how heavenly that experience was. If you are planning to have your vacation in a quiet place with friends and family, you may choose this place. But do not expect great breakfast or highly clean rooms or professional services from the staff as you are used to get from other 4 star rated stays.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

Having spent 2 weeks at this wonderful resort where nothing was to much trouble,the staff were amazing we have holidayed at various places and can honestly say the staff here are brilliant,also proprietors Jane and Phil go out of there way to make sure your stay is one to remember,if your looking to recharge your batteries look no further,the venue is so beautiful,the food is first class freshly cooked Nothing left to chance would highly recommend this resort thanks to all for a really great holiday

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank G4419QMdavew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

Decided to bring my family here on my day off Sunday and it was a very good idea! This place is just amazing. The whole pool area with plenty of sun beds, bar, pool table, ping-pong table is just great. They got all kinds of spots where you could chill out...if the sun beds is not your thing a cozy group of outdoor furniture with comfortable pillows might be a better option. The whole place has great music on an acceptable level that gives an relaxing feel. The staff is amazing...really great! They have a guy running around taking care of the guests and I hope they pay him good, because he sure make an amazing job! Hats off to our waitress as well, she really was super friendly and came over and had a chat with us. Now to the lunch and I am sorry, but there is by my opinion work to be done in this department! I had the Village Burger and it was a big disappointed...the bun ok and salad fresh, but the beef patty was overworked and lacked flavour. I also had several chunks of cartilage. The thai food we had tasted much better, it was flavour full. Since Shiva is a beach club we got to mention that the beach here is amazing as well. Calm water and beautiful white sand beach. Overall this place is just amazing and it is highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank JBuchwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

I came here with friends with the view to chill at the beach club for the day as we were told it was a great place. We arrived shortly before lunch and found an area to settle ourselves. We tried to get the waitress's attention for a menu so that we could order drinks. They were clearly short staffed and eventually we gave up and walked up to get menus ourselves. Having chosen our drinks, we decided we would order food too as we weren't sure when the waitress would come back to our table. I was about to go up and order everything when the waitress appeared. We ordered our drinks and food (3 mains and a salad to share) and asked for the food to be served in the restaurant.

We continued to chill on the sofas and the waitress called us when the food was ready. When we got to the table, there were only 2 main dishes and the salad. Fine, we thought, the last dish must be on its way. Unfortunately we did have to send our food back on several occasion as they were wrong and the last meal did eventually turn up. The waiting staff were very apologetic and very sweet and said they were 2 staff down in the kitchen which is probably why they got the food orders wrong. As a peace offering, they offered us a round of drinks on the house which we accepted.

This is a great place to come and relax because you can use the pool and they given yu towels without any charge. On this occasion, it was a shame about the mix up with the food which was delicious.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DozzaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2019

My sister got married on Shiva. First of, the wedding-planner was fantastic! For all of you thinking of getting married here, this is the place. They set up a fantastic ceremoni on the beach and a nice dinner by the villa. For the resort, great staff and facilities. The kids loved the staff! They have nice BBQ on Saturdays.
Sitting by our private beachvilla pool, watching the sun go up in the morning is something for everyone to experience.
I really recommend Shiva!!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sch0lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews