We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”

Review of Ban Mekkala

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Laem Set, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jerrold L
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The facilities are amazing with the attention to detail second to none. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The quality of the cuisine rivalled any top class restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H
Chino, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Truly amazing vacation home that gives you a total relaxed vacation”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were greeted by super friendly and professional staff at the door, walked over a little beautiful coil fish pond into the main house on the upper level, and our eyes and cameras just could not stop appreciating all the details, the art pieces, the design of the space, the furniture...everything. All the rooms are so thoughtfully designed that every room has a view of the ocean and the pool. In-room amenities, decorations, atmosphere are so comfy and stylish that I can stay in the room all day. But why would I when I can open our glass sliding door and take a few steps to plunge into the warm infinite pool and watch the ocean and hear the waves! Or we could take the kayaks out for a beautiful sunset watch on the ocean. Or we could just hang out at any corner of this house, not going anywhere and enjoy a true vacation experience. When we did go out, we felt that the food prepared in the house by our staff was much better than the restaurants.
This vacation home truly offers a fun, relax, comfortable, and worry-free vacation. We highly recommend this house for any group who is visiting Koh Samui. It was a magical experience for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and the room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShanghaiR...
shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

It doesn't get much better in life than to experience staying at this beautiful paradise, Ban Mekkala. My family (wife and 2 children under 10) joined a group of dear friends to stay in this villa of 6 exquisite rooms for a week, and we celebrated our dear friends' 20th wedding anniversary. The staff were fabulous, the food was world-class, the swimming pool was fantastic, and the beach was isolated and great for morning/afternoon strolls. The open design and the common areas allowed both a fabulous opportunity to connect with others while still maintaining privacy when we were in our room.

It was the best vacation our family has ever experienced in the world (and I've been traveling for over 30 years), and it should be on everyone's "bucket list" as a place to experience!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemyVegas
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Anniversary trip with Friends and Family”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a truly amazing trip for our group. It is so unexpectedly perfectly done. We arrived this Villa on 7/22 and greeting by the wonderful staffs with a cup and cold drink. We felt like home right at that moment. The staffs were truly amazing. They prepared all meals according to our request everyday. All the staffs were so professional and not overly bother our stay. We were able to hangout at the villa and somehow when we need them they appeared like Ninja.
The most amazing impact is the layout of the Villa. it is so welcoming and homey. The large and open living room connect to dining area. The living room area is facing the ocean on the second floor, so we were able to hangout and enjoy the amazing view of the villa and the ocean. The living room walk downstairs that is the all the individual suites located. We can't help to take pictures to show off to our friends of this villa. Each suite has indoor and outdoor shower. As it's my anniversary, so we picked the master room, we were breath taking by the view of the master room. The master room has walls of glass door and windows so we are able to see the view in every angle.
The U shape layout shallow pool allow me to sit in the water bench and work on my emails while everyone is hanging out in the pool. I will say this is one the the most family friendly pool design. Our most stay were hanging around this pool eating and chatting.
I don't want to get too personal, but the garden and pool layout has host a perfect anniversary ceremony for us. We are truly feel the magical moment in the place.
If I can continue go on and on.. I would just say, pls pay a visit to this Villa and you will experienced this Villa. I would come back over and over again if could.
Hope you enjoy if you get a chance to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love the Villa layout and the professioanal service.
Liked least: mosquitoes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortney S
Shanghai, China
1 review
“A Magical House and Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I first attended my friend's wedding at Ban Mekkala and was so impressed. These two years I have been dying to return. Now upon my 20th wedding anniversary, I knew where I wanted to stay! The best part was knowing my family and friends would be touched by the beauty and layout of the villa. Every room was top class, clean, and well looked after. The staff knew exactly how to service yet let us feel independent. The serenity of the location was truly the best way to enjoy Samui. Top marks in every aspect. I shall return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landscaping
Liked least: Mess around back side of garage
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most relaxing and luxurious holiday I have ever had”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in October 2011

I came to Ban Mekkala with a large group of extended family, it was our second holiday at the property and as before we had a fantastic time. The property was in good order and everything we needed was supplied. The staff were very attentive and helpful without being at all intrusive and they were particularly kind towards our children. The pool was a delight with a quiet beach to entertain the younger members of our party. The food was delicious with all our individual needs being catered for by the very talented chef. I can highly recommend Ban Mekkala and I feel that it is particularly suited to larger groups/family holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet position and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: The half a stone I put on due to the fantastic food!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect, been back 7 times”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Our large family, 12 adults and four children under 6years, have had a wonderful holiday and go back every year. The staff are excellent, especially the chef who caters to us and the kids. The accommodation is luxurious and comfortable. Spotless linen, bath and beach towels provided everyday, the pool is big and surrounds the outdoor 'sala' ( eating area) Upstairs is the dining room and lounge with huge telly and music. We are going again in Aug 2013. The staff look after our every need from transportation, laundry, beach barbecue, boat for fishing or watersports. We get picked up at the airport by the villa manager and all the staff are waiting to welcome us on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpful staff and lovely place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing