We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Elms(Abberley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbot Hotel(Knightwick)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor(Stourport-on-Severn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Crown(Worcester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
51
19
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
19
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcrushed potatoeslovely local pubwarm welcomepiesjust the right amountlovely friendly atmospherethree coursesfor sunday lunchlight lunchcooked to perfectionfull englishwell worth a visitgreat place and great foodwholesome foodcliftonteme
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a walking weekend with 5 others and had a very pleasant time being looked after by Tom, Celia & Megan. We stayed in the very comfortable, spacious attic room with piping hot water to soothe our aching limbs.

All staff were friendly & obliging and our 2 night stay was very enjoyable and great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Visited the Lion Inn again after our last stay in the area 2 years ago. New manager, very friendly & accommodating, the head chef, mentioned in previous reviews was not there, a lady was doing the cooking. Although the food we had was tasty, I had the lamb shank in minted gravy, which I am almost certain was not home made, the lady chef/cook admitted she did not make it...
My partner had the Cajun chicken with chips, which the manager alluded to being "proper chips" but they tasted more like the bought in pre-prepared chilled variety. Slightly disappointed/unsure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ChristyB418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauntyTheLionInn, Manager at The Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

At the Lion we pride ourselves on having a seasonal, locally sourced (where possible) and home-made menu. Although the lady chef whom you refer to could not take the credit for the dish, I can assure you that it was made on site by our head chef. Also, we would define "proper chips" as 100% natural, thick cut potato chips (as opposed to wedges, french fries etc..) simply seasoned with sea salt, which is what we serve on the menu. We would love to welcome you when you are next in the area. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The beer is not well kept, though cheep(ish).Should have been put on notice by farmers drinking red wine! A wealth of real ale pubs and micro breweries around this part of Worcestershire. So no excuse.Mainly populated by farmboys playing with gadgets but commendably open all day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Went for lunch for the first time today and was very impressed with the choice of meals on the Menu - All the meals are freshly cooked by Stuart the Chef who is more than happy to offer suggestions if you are struggling to choose ...the answer is to go again to sample all these delicious meals - would recommend highly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craney1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub in lovely village worth a slow drive out for nice pint and excellent home cooked food, great value, my faggot, mash and pea lovely. The decor is cost country and the service was very good. I would come back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distantbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews