We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mags Glasgow Quirky Hotel”
Review of Strand Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Hotell
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There were 5 of us on a business trip all women and we all had different rooms. I believe it was apartments before being turned into a hotel in the 50's. It is on the second floor of an old building, there is a lift but it was nice to go up by the stairs as it felt really opulent as did some of the other areas in this small hotel. There is a mix of old and new and it works quite well. There is a small sitting area with teas, coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits are left out to take as you. The hotel has a friendly feel about it and as it is small you get to meet and chat with other guests if you like to do that. You are about 5 minutes from the station and 5 minutes to the shopping area. It is central for everything. I usually go for a more modern hotel but have to say I enjoyed this one and the staff were lovely and helpful. If in the area again I would stay here.

Room Tip: I had a family room but we were only 2 people in it which was good for 2 friends as we still had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Definitely not your run-of-the-mill chain hotel--the Strand decor has a charming Old World character, the staff are very helpful, there is a sitting room always stocked with coffee and tea, a library/den with some volumes dating back a hundred or more years, and each morning they serve a wide variety of breakfast foods (including freshly baked breads) in an elegant dining area. Although my room was on the small size, and faced an inner courtyard (i.e., no view, but quiet), it was perfect for one person. I loved the hand-held shower, which delivered easily adjustable water pressure and a wide range of water temperatures. The bed was a bit on the soft side, which is why I gave the room only a "very good" rating. I would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: test the bed before you take the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is probably one of my best hotel experiences. Very beautifully decorated, comfortable and homely, centrally located with kind and helpful staff - perfect for when you are staying somewhere for work over several days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kuzjuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Spacious and centrally located in Norrköping. Boutique atmosphere with good and personal service, especially with breakfast. Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. Close to the trams which cause little noise. Could have darker in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brijkijzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cosy, comfortable, excellent situation, great breakfast, we will be back! The personnel is very nice and helpful. Beds are very comfortable. Each room has its own atmosphere. The kids loved the waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EvaEsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A bit like an "English" Hotel, in second floor in old quarter of town, tight by the stream.
Nicke welcome by staff, family owned Hotel?
First i thougt it was a bit simpel breakfast bur then i saw sign on table that egg & bacon aning other tvinga could be ordered from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A small and personally decorated hotel in a great location. The room was small, but had what you need. Staff is nice and friendly, and breakfast is good with lots of options. Public parking and plenty of restaurants nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BLA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norrkoping hotels
0 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
#2 of 11 in Norrkoping
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#5 of 11 in Norrkoping
123 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Princess Hotel
Best Western Princess Hotel
#8 of 11 in Norrkoping
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel President
ProfilHotels Hotel President
#3 of 11 in Norrkoping
277 reviews
2 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
#4 of 11 in Norrkoping
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotell

Address: 2 Drottninggatan, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Price Range: £83 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel is centrally located in Norrkoping, overlooking the river. The building is a beautiful 1890s house with the elegant tiled stoves from that era preserved in several rooms. In the cozy salons one can sit back with a cup of coffee after a busy day out and about. During weekends the popular Afternoon Tea is served in the Salons. Strand Hotel is located about 300 meters from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strand Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing