We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern comfort in oldfashion building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Modern comfort in oldfashion building”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

A gem in Norrköping. Walking distance to main attractions and train station. Stayed a winter weekend in January but the room was warm and very comfy. The check in was a breeze with friendly and serviceminded staff.
The room is quite trendy with bold colors, comfortable bed with two different pillow qualites to choose from. Flatscreen and pretty view over the river .
It was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast is one of the better I have had in Swedish hotels. Hot and cool dishes, smoothies and a sweet-tooth table loaded with delious muffins, pann cakes, chocolate cake etc. There is also a good selection of fruits and fruitsallads.

The two nites we stayed at Grand Elite we ate in the pub with access from within the hotel. The food was really good and not over expensive. Seems like a lot of locals frequent the pub too. ( 24 beers on tap is pretty good to be in Sweden :-) . I did not try the hotel SPA but they also seemed to have nicely priced packages to choose from. You could also combine treatments or jacuzzi bath with a meal in the pub. But that you have to order in advance.

Over all a very pleasant stay and a nice break in nice city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karin stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    158
    111
    37
    12
See reviews for
97
97
22
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This Hotel wins my award for possibly the worst accomodation in 200 nights on the road in 2011. I will admit that I prepaid for a fairly reasonably priced single. I braced myself but was literally shocked in a bad way when I opened the door. I truly believe the room was a converted broom closet. It was precisely as deep as my single bed and just over twice as wide. I felt like I might plunge out the interior courtyard window when I opened the door. Front desk service was prompt but not friendly. The lobby seemed in disarray, due possibly to an in house conference using it as meeting space! It seemed to have a nice cafe on one side and the exterior is imposing...best to admire from outside. I was woken by a maid banging on the door at 8am -- possibly tolerable if it had not been 2-1/2 feet from my head. Breakfast in the pub was OK, particularly if you relish a stale beer smell in the morning. Three weeks travel through Sweden and this was my only such experience with usually high quality accomodation. Put me off otherwise rather intriguing Norrkoping.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norrkoping hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

A top hotel should have more than one person on duty in the evening, especially during the busy hours. It should have available places to relax over a cup of coffee. In fact, rooms should come with coffee -- especially in coffee-crazy Sweden -- although the Grand will have that busy night person give you a tray with coffee and hot pot if you ask for one. The room was small, the furnishings a bit worn, and the location okay (very close to the railroad station) but nothing special by way of surroundings, which in some parts of Norrköping are very lovely. The staff was invariably helpful and friendly, but what should have been an outstanding visit was only so-so because of management's lack of care creating a cheery ambience.

Room Tip: The higher the better, but be prepared for a slow lift big enough for three, no more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Jacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Grand hotel is nicely located in old town Norrköping. Service was very friendly and room also stylish and clean. Breakfast was quite good, only butter lacked from the table.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYL072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for three nights at The Grand. I found this hotel to be very well run. it has a warm and relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and speak and write good English. Upon request the receptionist recommended two really nice restaurants. The hotel has it's own pub/restaurant which was good. The hotel provided a good quality hot and cold buffet breakfast, with lots and lots of goodies.
I had a single room which was clean and comfortable and serviced daily.
A nice touch too was the complimentary beverages and biscuits in the Lobby, where there were 'take away cups' with small carrier bags which allowed me to have a coffee and biscuit whilst waiting at the bus stop to the airport .The hotel' check out' was at 6pm. Brilliant ! If ever I was to return to Norrkoping, ( pronounced ' Noshoreping ' ) The Grand would be my first choice. It is central and only !0mins. from the station and airport bus stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This time around a business trip to Sweden. Hotel is 1 block away from the train station and the train ride from Arlanda Stockholm is about 90 min, but a very nice ride, only way to go.

Hotel is very nice and the people, staff were very helpful and friendly to help with any question I had. River on one side and town center on the other. My room looked over the square and the clock tower played "Somewhere over the rainbow" every other night around 6ish, that was neat to hear.

Breakfast was excellent and for after hours, the restaraunt had a very nice setup next to the riverside and a nice indoor decor with a wide variety of great brews.

Parking is tight. The garage is a block away but is secure and indoors. 120 sek per night is double what the street meters get but it is indoors. The only thing I wish they did was to have bike rentals or use of bicycles by the hotel. The bike routes are better than the roads in Norrkoping and I respect that.

Internet was a problem. They run wireless, it is free but not quick at all. You will need to plan different connections for VPN back to the office.

Overall great stay for business, extremely clean, comfortable and relaxing. I will be back on business again.

Room Tip: Online direct booking to the hotel is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottso03044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

For decades The Grand has been considered the best hotel in town by the locals and we have no reason to disagree with them.It is well located being situated between the rail/ bus stations and the main shopping area and is only a short walk to all three.Some rooms have attractive river views. What better way to start the day than with a glass or two of deliciously fresh tasting orange juice followed by a generous good quality Swedish breakfast.Unusually for Sweden the coffee is a bit dodgy.The young ladies overlooking this feast are hard working but at times get a little overwhelmed and could do with some reinforcements.The reception staff are both helpful and charming.Should you feel a smidgin homesick The Bishop's Arms is attached to the hotel and whilst downing a delicious pint of ESB you can view framed coloured photos of Prince Charles,Princess Anne et al!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norrkoping hotels
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotell
Strand Hotell
#2 of 11 in Norrkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#3 of 11 in Norrkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Princess Hotel
Best Western Princess Hotel
#8 of 11 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#9 of 11 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel President
ProfilHotels Hotel President
#6 of 11 in Norrkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping

Property: Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Address: 2 Tyska Torget | PO Box 1152, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norrkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located by the Motala River at Tyska Torget in Norrkoping. The building has a long history and was first inaugurated in 1906. The hotel boasts a beautiful banquet hall, a prime waterfront location and a gastropub with a spacious outdoor area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Grand Norrköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing