We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and rundown, definetly not 4 stars worth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Norrkoping
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“old and rundown, definetly not 4 stars worth”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked a familyroom for two adults and two children. The "family" room was a standard room with two extra beds. The room was so small that when the extra beds where in use the entire room was ome big bed... the children liked it but still....

The room and the hotel in general was very run down. We had some interesting electric viring in our room. Wold have not passed any safety inspection... and this was supposed to be a family room.

The room had a non excisting ventilation and no AC. There was a heat spell, and the room temperature was close to 30 centigrate.... I wold have expected better from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40-Anders-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    182
    118
    40
    12
See reviews for
120
105
22
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel. However the building is quite old and sometimes it is hard to place modern equipment in old buildings. Ok breakfast. Nice reception staff. Bar closes at midnight.... Room service is not available after 22. The quality of the WiFi was so-so.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frode S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Had a great stay here. Overlooking the river, fantastic service, bar staff amazingly friendly. Outdoors bar was a pleasure to sit in the sun. Will stay again for sure.

I had a wonderful meal, breakfast was delicious and though I spoke little Swedish the staff were always helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I recently spent two fantastic nights at this hotel and everything was perfect from beginning to end! Check in was a breeze, they offered us late check out (6pm!!) and breakfast was served on saturday until 11 and on sunday until 12. I wish all hotels were that thoughtful! The breakfast buffet was lovely and the diningroom has a wonderful view of the water.
The rooms are lovely. If you can splurge on a junior suite, do! It was such a comfortable room that we stayed in all day saturday reading and relaxing. The bathroom had a lovely tub and a rain shower in the ceiling. Luxury.
We had a super dinner at the Bishops Arm connected to the hotel lobby. Great food and surroundings.
If you come by car, indoor parking is available just a short walk from the hotel. Reception will fix you right up.
If you find yourself in Norrkoping for any reason, try this hotel. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

convenient location, about 400 metres from the rail way station, close to a number of restaurants.
Hotel clean agree with other reviews rooms not huge but have they not stayed at an Ibis!, helpful reception staff at check in and out, good breakfast buffet, lots of choice. Bar called Bishops Arms massive selection of beers, all in all pleasant hotel, definitely stay there again

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, MI
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

If you are looking for a business type hotel for a short visit, The Grand will be just fine. Beds and rooms are typically Swedish small but comfortable. The Bishops Arms bar and restaurant were very good and the service was good. The breakfast was typical Swedish, and while not a large selection, enough to satisfy my needs. The check in/check out process was efficient. I do not travel to Norrkoping very often, but would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good location in Norrkping. The rooms are very small but clean. I was on business and the room was OK but my wife would have been very disappointed at the size of the room and bathroom....shower, sink, and toilet crammed into a small room. Other negatives were the very slow elavator and parking a block and a half away. Pluses were the very good breakfast with plenty of selections on the buffet and the Bishops Arms Pub off the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3CTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norrkoping hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#3 of 11 in Norrkoping
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotell
Strand Hotell
#5 of 11 in Norrkoping
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Princess Hotel
Best Western Princess Hotel
#8 of 11 in Norrkoping
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#9 of 11 in Norrkoping
308 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 11 in Norrkoping
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel President
ProfilHotels Hotel President
#6 of 11 in Norrkoping
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping

Property: Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Address: 2 Tyska Torget | PO Box 1152, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norrkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located by the Motala River at Tyska Torget in Norrkoping. The building has a long history and was first inaugurated in 1906. The hotel boasts a beautiful banquet hall, a prime waterfront location and a gastropub with a spacious outdoor area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Grand Norrköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing